We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best Staffs and good location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Continental Hotel Budapest
Ranked #39 of 342 Hotels in Budapest
Certificate of Excellence
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
68 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 294 helpful votes
“Best Staffs and good location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2013

As mentioned by other viewers, the location is very good in the pest side.
Visited the city for an international conference and pick up this hotel mainly for its good location. We got two basic rooms and stayed between 8-11 August 13. Its’ renovated Heritage building and its very modern. We didn't found the basic rooms too small for us, in fact the bath rooms are relatively large comparing with those in Singapore or Japan (at least they got room for bath tub & shower therein). Room are clean and very well decorated with considerable details such as a 220V socket, in fact, my favorite part is they got “live” window, which are able to open ajar for some fresh air if required. One should notice that quite a lot of efforts had been done to make the guest feel being serve. I deeply believed that the good team work services provided should add a lot of marks. Say, Ms. Eleonora Vinceuzi (hope I spell her name right??) from the from the front desk , she is extremely professional, organized and knowledgeable in all the required areas, she is able to listen and give constructive suggestions which is always fit to guests’ need, flawless check-in, good ideas for restaurants and even manage to confirm our table in short very short notice, very capable in the arrangement of the transport and will always assists to give clear directions to the drivers…etc. Another gentleman was very helpful as well, even though he was catching the ringing phone, he managed to greet the waiting guests while the door man rush upon to help the guest and I really found that they work as a whole (not just a team). As a frequently flyer I found they are at the top of the services with very good spirit.
My comment: it’s a gorgeous hotel built up by an excellent team.

Room Tip: our rooms 542 & 543 are both very good with good A/C
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank mcmagmcmag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zoltan_Geher, General Manager at Continental Hotel Budapest, responded to this review, 16 August 2013
Dear Guest,

I really appreciate your kind words and your excellent feedback! Ms. Eleonora Vincenzi is a great asset of the hotel and as I can read out from your words you were amazed by her service and friendly helpfullness. It is so complimenting to read that you were satisfied with other members of the team too. Everything is relative, some guests compalin on the size of the room, but to Far East standards even the standards rooms are big in our hotel, I agree.
I was also happy to read that you were satisfied with the A/C system - this is normal even if some guests are not satisfied, as those cases are always exceptions.

Thank you for your high scores and describing our hotel gorgeous.

Kindest regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,165 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,354
    1,461
    275
    48
    27
See reviews for
449
2,177
146
332
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (478)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
peterborough
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2013

This hotel is very well placed for exploring Budapest. The hotel is very well furnished and is beautiful inside and out.
I travelled with my teenaged daughter and we had a room each on B&B basis. The rooms were fabulous: plenty large enough, well furnished, lovely bathrooms with loads of towels and toiletries, a good working shower, all clean and fresh-smelling. The beds were very comfy and the nights were undisturbed by any noise (my room fronted the main street, where there was minimal traffic noise, and my daughter's room overlooked the interior courtyard with its lovely mural). Breakfast was superb, the food plentiful, varied and tasty. The staff were welcoming, smiley, helpful beyond the call of duty and very welcoming. All in all, a great hotel, highly recommended.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mumwithteenagers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zoltan_Geher, General Manager at Continental Hotel Budapest, responded to this review, 14 August 2013
Dear Guest,

Thanks a lot for your great feedback. I was happy to read that you were satisfied with your room in all aspects just like with the breakfast and the staff.

I appreciate very much your kind recommendation.

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
35 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2013

The Room
Our room was a Standard Twin and it was quite small but stylish with really comfy beds and duvets to die for. The bathroom had a tub which was great, a really powerful shower and the room overall was really clean and equipped with a minibar - no tea or coffee making facilities though, but I think you do get that in higher room categories if you do decide to upgrade.

The restaurant - Araz
Fantastic food, great service and really good value lunch menu - for about 1600Forints which is like less than £5 you get 3 courses and a cold fresh lemonade - brilliant deal and very very tasty indeed. We also had dinner from the a la carte menu which offers Hungarian, French and vegetarian menu - just perfect. I highly recommend the Tokaji dessert wine, the head waiter was exceptionally knowledgeable about it and other wine as well! Breakfast was included in our rate and it was good, a wide selection of things to choose from, I was happy with that.

Public areas
All areas were reallly stylish and clean - it is a beautiful hotel. I liked the bar, they do deals on mojitos. Oh and there's free wifi everywhere (well, except by the pool area unfortunately).

Location
The hotel is in the middle of the old Jewish quarters in the 7th district where all the cool bars such as Szimpla kert are, there's this whole street called Kacinzcy street where you can find a lot of cool eateries and ruin pubs. Gozsdu udvar is also nearby with lots of restaurants, pubs, terraces - the best location. Tip: there's a place you can rent bikes from on Kacinzy utca, it is on the right side if you coming from the hotel.

And the best - The Pool!!!
Fantastic wellness area with sauna, infra sauna, outdoor pool, indoor pool - it is just amazing. It also has a massive rooftop garden with loungers so you can basically spend your whole day by the pool. Oh, and you can see the rooftops of Budapest, the castle and the hills of Buda from the pool - how cool is that? I don't even think there's another pool like this in Budapest - the sunsets are breathtaking!

Our stay did not start out too well with this hotel, there were a few hickups with the front office staff - well, there was a manager looking person being a bit rude really. We had a problem with our booking, than were given the wrong room and this was not handled as nicely as it could have been. I did feel the need to mention this as this just shows that bad service could really jeopardise all the great things a hotel has to offer. But these minor problems aside, our stay in this hotel was amazing.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Anna A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zoltan_Geher, General Manager at Continental Hotel Budapest, responded to this review, 13 August 2013
Dear Guest,

when I read your long, detailed and very positive desciption on your experiences I could not imagine why this review had not the highest scores. Unfortunately at the end I had to read your very bad welcome and the problem with your booking and room allocation. I am really sorry for the inconveniences caused and for the inproper handling of your reservation. I was however glad to read that you had a brilliant dinner and the service by our head waiter was at your full satisfaction.

I sincerely hope you will remember the good things only.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2013

This hotel is just outside the centre but very close to places to visit such as the Opera House and within 15 minutes walk of the river, so a great base from which to explore the city. It is very modern in its decor and is very elegant. The room was a little on the small side but plenty of storage. The staff were lovely. The breakfast was good, self service buffet style. The roof top pool and spa was also quite small but I would recommend one of the more traditional baths if that is was you are looking for. The bar area was very comfortable and the service was great.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kerry F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zoltan_Geher, General Manager at Continental Hotel Budapest, responded to this review, 13 August 2013
Dear Kerry F,

Many thanks for sharing your kind experiences with the readers. Your positive remarks are valuable descriptions to select our hotel, therefore I am very greatful for your feedback.

I hope you had a great time in Budapest and there will be a chnace for you to return.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wielsbeke, Belgium
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2013

perfect hotel
great and friendly service
nice and very clean hotel
central location
breakfast room ; perfect service
reception at breakfast superb by najat Attila
clean rooms
airconditioning was realy needed and worked well
friendly and professional service

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank luc c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zoltan_Geher, General Manager at Continental Hotel Budapest, responded to this review, 13 August 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your bullet points which are all great praises! I will proudly pass your kind words to our Najat and Attila in our breakfast room.

Kindest regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bournemouth
Level Contributor
26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2013

On arrival from the outside it does not do the hotel justice. Immediately we entered, via the revolving doors, the reception area had the wow factor Lovely hotel lovely location and superb service. Food was amazing breakfasts wonderful. The bedroom was spacious and very clean. The choice at the barbeque was out of this world and the staff were very attentive at all times. I would recommend this hotel to anyone who wants value for money and a good location.

Room Tip: I am sure all rooms are amazing
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LizzieBournemouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zoltan_Geher, General Manager at Continental Hotel Budapest, responded to this review, 13 August 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your wholehearted review. It is a great plesure for us if guests take the time to share their experinences with the readers. I can read out from your feedback that you had a great time with us and you enjoyed all the facilities and services.

I am very greatful for oyur recommendation.

Thanks again and best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2013

This hotel represents superb value for money,even the bar, while slightly more expensive than other bars outside,is very reasonable.Overall could not fault this lovely hotel and cannot wait to return to Budapest would not look elsewhere,on the whole a brilliant week spent in a lovely city would strongly recommend to others

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dawsnjo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zoltan_Geher, General Manager at Continental Hotel Budapest, responded to this review, 13 August 2013
Dear Guest,

it is very complimenting to hear that our hotel was the best you have ever stayed. The level of our Bar reflects the quality of the entire hotel, so we cannot and not want to compete with the neighbouring ruin pubs since all of us are different and this is good so, I think.

Thanks a million to recommend Budapest and our hotel to the readers.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Budapest hotels
Hotel Palazzo Zichy
#4 of 342 in Budapest
5.0 of 5 bubbles 4,592 reviews
District V / Inner City
Prestige Hotel Budapest
Prestige Hotel Budapest
#7 of 342 in Budapest
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,148 reviews
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Corinthia Hotel Budapest
Corinthia Hotel Budapest
#18 of 342 in Budapest
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,895 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
District V / Inner City
Danubius Hotel Astoria City Center
District V / Inner City
Hotel Parlament
Hotel Parlament
#6 of 342 in Budapest
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Continental Hotel Budapest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Continental Hotel Budapest

Property: Continental Hotel Budapest
Address: Dohany u. 42 - 44, Budapest 1074, Hungary
Region: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest > District VII / Jewish Quarter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #39 of 342 Hotels in Budapest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Continental Hotel Budapest 4.5*
Number of rooms: 272
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Continental Hotel Budapest 4* Superior symbolizes the past and future, the traditional Hungarian hospitality and refinement of detail and personal service of our age. The building reflects the elements of the art nouveau style and the modern unique design characterizing ZeinaHotels, in the heart of Budapest. The 4 star superior, 272 room hotel - offering standard, deluxe and executive rooms plus suites - will revive the spirit of the legendary accommodation keeping its name and historical facade. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Continental Hotel Budapest reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing