We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect base for city break”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Continental Hotel Budapest
Ranked #39 of 342 Hotels in Budapest
Certificate of Excellence
Grantham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Perfect base for city break”
Reviewed 22 November 2013

Four nights arriving on Sunday evening using the airport shuttle service

From start to finish the staff (receptionists, doormen, cleaners, waiters) were all friendly and welcoming.

We had a standard room on the sixth floor on the inside of the building overlooking other rooms around a well. Given that the building a so near a major road (leading to the Elizabeth Bridge) we heard no traffic noise at all. The room was clean and warm, the bathroom was clean, warm and everything worked perfectly.

The TV in the room had a limited number of English-language channels but that wasn't a problem given that the free wi-fi worked perfectly. The TV screen is also the way to check your bill or check for messages

In standard rooms you must request the tea/coffee tray which came with only one milk portion per cup but had a good selected of teas.

Breakfast is self-service but there was almost no queuing. The quality was excellent.

Room Tip: Shop around booking agencies for the best tariff - prices vary greatly
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GrahamSchofieldUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zoltan_Geher, General Manager at Continental Hotel Budapest, responded to this review, 26 November 2013
Dear GrahamSchofieldUK,

Firstly thank you for your high scores, and for your long and general review. Good to read that the level of the service and the cleanliness has a standard high level. From tomorrow we will put two milk portions to each guest room.

Kindest regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,156 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,350
    1,457
    274
    48
    27
See reviews for
449
2,172
145
331
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (476)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 November 2013

I recently booked a trip for a long weekend for a surprise for my boyfriend's birthday through travel republic. Didn't look into the hotel much before arrival but was very happy with the results. I'd emailed ahead about the occasion and was greeted with a complimentary room upgrade. We had a lovely weekend exploring the city and found the hotel extremely welcoming and helpful during our trip, organising restaurant reservations and sorting out a transfer when ours fell through due to missing the plane. The hotel was very modern and comfortable and the breakfasts were great with a vast selection on offer at the buffet.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tannie05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zoltan_Geher, General Manager at Continental Hotel Budapest, responded to this review, 26 November 2013
Dear Tannie05,

I’am very happy to read that you found our hotel staff extremely welcoming and helpful, and you were satisfied with the room upgrade. Congratulations again for the birthday of your boyfriend. I hope once you will celebate yours with us too.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nagykanizsa, Zala, Hungary
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 November 2013

I organized regional meeting for a small group in this hotel. The stuff were very friendly, our contact person Vivien took care of us in every minutes. All of our client was 100% satisfied with the hotel facilities, rooms and catering. If you enter to the lobby the first picture is breath-taking and you can't forget it. Thanks again!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Norbaja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zoltan_Geher, General Manager at Continental Hotel Budapest, responded to this review, 26 November 2013
Dear Norbaja,

Thank you for your kind review! I was happy to read that your were satisfied with the service provided by Vivien. I will personally congratulate to her. I hope you will count with us if you plan another meeting in Budapest. Also thank you for your high scores.

Kindest regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cluj-Napoca, Cluj, Romania
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 November 2013

We stayed in Zara for 2 nights and the hotel looks impressive.
As positive points:
- good location, close to the center
- clean
- very nice lobby, live piano music

Minus points:
- loud neighborhood that might disturb you if you have a light sleep
- no carpet in the room. I prefer it to wood floor.
- there is no relaxing zone in the spa.

I would recommend it and would stay another time. Good value.

Room Tip: rooms on the inside are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Radu N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zoltan_Geher, General Manager at Continental Hotel Budapest, responded to this review, 26 November 2013
Dear Radu N,

Thank you all af your comments, both the positive and negative ones. Also thank you for recommending the hotel for others. I hope at your possible third visit you will find us perfect!

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
99 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 November 2013

Situated near the centre of the city this hotel represents great value for money. The staff are extremely pleasant and the cleanliness and breakfast buffet were very good. We did eat in the Restaurant on one evening and again this was very good value. There was certainly a good Chef behind the scenes and apart from far too many stale croutons on the Caesar(Roman) salad, everything was very good.
The air conditioning is a little noisy so we turned it off as it was November and opened the window. The only problem with this is that there is a constant banging of some metal throughout the night, could not be sure what this was and whether it was actually connected to the hotel.
All the staff were very good and its always good when the cleaning staff make a point of greeting you. Only one let-down was that there was a film crew in the bar area and whilst there were some Hungarian signs explaining this, I feel that they were more important to the hotel than the rest of the guests.
All the negatives were very small and I would thoroughly recommend this hotel, its service and the City of Budapest for a great weekend break.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TonyC008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zoltan_Geher, General Manager at Continental Hotel Budapest, responded to this review, 26 November 2013
Dear TonyC008,

I can read – although you have some criticism about the air-condition and the film crew - you have mostly enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you for your kind comments about the staff and the cleanliness. I’am happy that you were satisfied with the restaurant, both for breakfast and for dinner. You are right, we have a really good Chef de cuisine. If I can share one private thing with you, the Ceasar salad is also one of my favorite.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 November 2013

I have stayed here 3-4 times and the corner suite is my domicile at this wonderful Art nouveau hotel. Friendly staff, great facilities (roof pool!), yummy breakfast (huge offer) and stylish rooms. The location is also great for exploring the city!

Room Tip: Corner suite!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Berlinagent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zoltan_Geher, General Manager at Continental Hotel Budapest, responded to this review, 21 November 2013
Dear Berlinagent,

Thank you for your short but all-in review! We have about the same taste, our corner suites are my favorites too. Also thank you for your comment about the breakfast.


Kindest regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 November 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for 3 nights and very much enjoyed our stay. We were lucky enough to get a good deal on trivago but would be happy to pay the full amount for our stylish room! The decor was modern and very nice, plus everything was super clean, just dont forget the do not disturb signs as housekeeping can come very early (although they are friendly and efficient) Our bed was really comfortable as were the pillows. The bathroom wa small but nice and the shower was perfect for me, however my boyfriend is 6ft 3 and found it to be a bit too low. 2 of the nights we heard lots of noise from the corridor but we may have just been unfortunate to have noisy neighbours! The reception staff were very polite & helpful, greeting us with smiles. The hotel is situated only a few minutes walk to lots of restaurants/bars/shops ect and is easily accessible by public transport. Its also very easy to go too from the airport. We used the spa just once and although it was nicely finished, it is rather small and would be cramped if more than 10 guests were in there. Plus 8euros was a bit pricey considering the size. Overall we were really impressed by this hotel & will certainly stay again.

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Charlotte0900
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zoltan_Geher, General Manager at Continental Hotel Budapest, responded to this review, 21 November 2013
Dear Charlotte0900,

I’am very happy that – although you have some criticism about Housekeeping – you have mostly enjoyed your stay with us, and you will return to us at your possible future visit to Budapest. I do apologize for the noise, next time we will give you a more quite room!

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Budapest hotels
Hotel Palazzo Zichy
#4 of 342 in Budapest
4,586 reviews
District V / Inner City
Prestige Hotel Budapest
Prestige Hotel Budapest
#7 of 342 in Budapest
1,144 reviews
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Corinthia Hotel Budapest
Corinthia Hotel Budapest
#18 of 342 in Budapest
6,880 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
District V / Inner City
Danubius Hotel Astoria City Center
District V / Inner City
Hotel Parlament
Hotel Parlament
#6 of 342 in Budapest
2,103 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Continental Hotel Budapest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Continental Hotel Budapest

Property: Continental Hotel Budapest
Address: Dohany u. 42 - 44, Budapest 1074, Hungary
Region: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest > District VII / Jewish Quarter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #39 of 342 Hotels in Budapest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Continental Hotel Budapest 4.5*
Number of rooms: 272
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Continental Hotel Budapest 4* Superior symbolizes the past and future, the traditional Hungarian hospitality and refinement of detail and personal service of our age. The building reflects the elements of the art nouveau style and the modern unique design characterizing ZeinaHotels, in the heart of Budapest. The 4 star superior, 272 room hotel - offering standard, deluxe and executive rooms plus suites - will revive the spirit of the legendary accommodation keeping its name and historical facade. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Continental Hotel Budapest reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing