We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Continental Hotel Budapest
Ranked #42 of 336 Hotels in Budapest
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 May 2014

A beautiful hotel well located on the Pest side. The room was perfect with classic décor and every comfort. The buffet breakfasts are excellent with a huge variety to suit any guest. We tried the a la carte menu one evening and had a superb meal, it is easy to see why the restaurant has won awards. Polite and helpful staff were the icing on the cake, all in all a lovely holiday experience.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Thelma A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zoltan_Geher, General Manager at Continental Hotel Budapest, responded to this reviewResponded 23 May 2014

Dear Thelma A,
I’m very happy that you have so much enjoyed your stay with us. If you say your visit was a „lovely holiday experience”, I think, we made our mission.

Kindest regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (4,470)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,812 - 1,818 of 4,470 reviews

Reviewed 20 May 2014

The stay at the Zara Continental was a birthday gift from the family and I was not sure what to expect, especially as I was travelling with my one and a half year old daughter!!! I e-mailed ahead to ensure that they were aware we were travelling with a young child and the hotel was brilliant in ensuring that the room was adequately set up for a toddler.

The staff throughout our stay were brilliant, the hotel was stylish and chic and we thoroughly enjoyed our stay. We particulalry appreciated the owner coming to say hello!

A 5 star experience!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AliRaja2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zoltan_Geher, General Manager at Continental Hotel Budapest, responded to this reviewResponded 23 May 2014

Dear AliRaja2014,

Thank you for your feedback. As a father and also as a grandfather I definitely know how important is the hotel's empathy for guest traveling with little babies. Beside your commendatory comments about the staff and the style of the hotel, I like your last sentence: „A 5 star experience!”

Kindest regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2014

Remarkably great value for a 4 star hotel! Great service. Great food and all at very reasonable prices. Very good central location. First floor lounge area a delight. Would thoroughly recommend this Hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GautomMel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zoltan_Geher, General Manager at Continental Hotel Budapest, responded to this reviewResponded 23 May 2014

Dear GautomMel,
Thank you very much for your short, but all-in review. Also thank you for your high scores and your recommendation. I hope you will return to us soon.
KIndest regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2014

The Continental Hotel Zara Budapest is situated in a building of the former spa. Lobby area looks very nice for the lovers of architecture. Breakfast very diverse. Location is in the Jewish district of Budapest, lots of bars, pubs, international restaurants. Expect lots of noise during weekends from drunkards. Ruin-pubs, speciality of Budapest meaning pubs created in abandoned courtyards, are just a few streets away, so is the greatest synagogue of Central Europe (0,8km same street). Rooms were standard, room service is great, management very friendly. During our stay they were upgrading the system so reception was very confused, but otherwise no problems detected. Management was very helpful. As one of the little luxury hotels in this area, it was quite crowded during breakfasts. spa at top of the hotel has nice views.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RobyGlobal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zoltan_Geher, General Manager at Continental Hotel Budapest, responded to this reviewResponded 19 May 2014

Dear RobyGlobal,

Thank you for your feddback. Also thank you for your nice comments about the building, location, breakfast and management. I hope at your possible future visit we will be good enough to get the maximum points from you.

Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2014

Myself and 6 friends stayed here for 3 nights in April. It is a brilliant place and we will all be back. The breakfast was really good there is everything you can think of and all good quality. We also ate in the hotel 1 evening, it was an Hungarian buffet with musicians and dancers. We all really enjoyed it, the food was delicious and very reasonable ( drinks, wine ect. were included).Our rooms had everything we needed and were spotlessly clean. All the staff are very helpful and friendly, they couldn't do enough for us. Budapest is a beautiful city and we can't wait to come again. Thanks to Zoltan, Peter and all the staff, keep up the good work you are all doing a brilliant job.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sandra T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zoltan_Geher, General Manager at Continental Hotel Budapest, responded to this reviewResponded 19 May 2014

Dear Sandy T,

I’m very happy that you found our hotel brilliant, and also that you have enjoyed your Friday Hungarian evening at the ARAZ Retsaurant. Thank you for your nice comment about the staff, and I hope you will give us another chance to serve you again int he close future.

KIndest regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2014

Good standard of hotel. Room comfortable and decent size with choice of pillows. We had room at the back which looked out on the mural which makes a nice change from looking at brick walls. Nice touch! Breakfast more than adequate. Reception desk staff helpful and friendly, arranging restaurant booking and taxis. We ate in hotel restaurant which was a nice way to start our break as we arrived in horrible weather in the evening and didn't want to be wandering around at night looking for somewhere to eat. Would be nice to have tea/coffee making facilities in room as standard but that is a minor thing.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SonnyDundee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zoltan_Geher, General Manager at Continental Hotel Budapest, responded to this reviewResponded 19 May 2014

Dear SonnyDundee,

Thank you very much for your review, althogh I’m a little lovelorn that you gave us „only” four points. Also thank you for your nice comment about the mural, it really gives a good mood to our courtyard. I’m very sorry that you have started your break in horrible weather, but at least you gave us a good chance to expose our ARAZ Restaurant. Regaring tea/coffee making facilitie I would like to inform you, I have just signed a contract to upgrade also our standard rooms with it.


Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2014

Stayed for 6 nights, booking included spa and breakfast.

Staff - All were really friendly and helpful, checking in, at breakfast, helping me when i got confused in the lift and booking us a taxi

Room - 1 very large double/king was perfect for myself and my friend to spread out on. The room itself could have been a little bigger, but you don't want to spend all your time in there so it really doesn't matter. I would have liked to be able to open the window fully instead of only tilt, but i'm sure there's a reason for that. The air conditioning only went down to 19 and didn't seem that effective so i don't know what it's like when it's really hot. Lovely powerful shower and practical bathroom. Great welcome pack with lots of information, really well thought out.

Spa - The outdoor rooftop pool is great, it was just about warm enough for a swim at 5pm. The indoor pool, jacuzzi and saunas are a nice little treat, nothing too fancy but they offer a nice relief when you've been walking around all day. It all felt clean and well maintained.

Food - I had breakfast every day, and it was consistently great. A wide selection on the buffet which was constantly topped up and tidied. Attentive staff cleared tables very efficiently.

Location - I think we struck it really lucky, the hotel is in the Jewish quarter and i think this was where there was the most interesting stuff going on. A lot of cool bars (ruin pubs) and restaurants. The hotel is also really close to a metro station which is on the line that runs centrally through the city and across to Buda which was really handy. At street level from the metro is a tram stop which runs across the city to the central station.

The hotel is so beautiful, it has been lovingly restored after being derelict for years. Great value for money, i would definitely want to stay here again if i returned to Budapest.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sellythebaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zoltan_Geher, General Manager at Continental Hotel Budapest, responded to this reviewResponded 19 May 2014

Dear sellythebaker,

Thank you very much for your commendatory all-in feedback. I’m very happy that you have so much enjoyed your stay with us. I hope you will keep your promise and you will be back to us if your travel will bing you back to Budapest

Kindest regards, .

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Budapest hotels
Hotel Palazzo Zichy
#4 of 336 in Budapest
4,945 reviews
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Boscolo Budapest, Autograph Collection
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Corinthia Hotel Budapest
Corinthia Hotel Budapest
#16 of 336 in Budapest
7,457 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
District V / Inner City
Buddha-Bar Hotel Budapest Klotild Palace
K+K Hotel Opera
#43 of 336 in Budapest
3,332 reviews
District V / Inner City
InterContinental Budapest
InterContinental Budapest
#28 of 336 in Budapest
3,513 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Continental Hotel Budapest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Continental Hotel Budapest

Address: Dohany u. 42 - 44, Budapest 1074, Hungary
Region: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest > District VII / Jewish Quarter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #42 of 336 Hotels in Budapest
Price Range: £58 - £183 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Continental Hotel Budapest 4.5*
Number of rooms: 272
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Continental Hotel Budapest 4* Superior symbolizes the past and future, the traditional Hungarian hospitality and refinement of detail and personal service of our age. The building reflects the elements of the art nouveau style and the modern unique design characterizing ZeinaHotels, in the heart of Budapest. The 4 star superior, 272 room hotel - offering standard, deluxe and executive rooms plus suites - will revive the spirit of the legendary accommodation keeping its name and historical facade. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Continental Hotel Budapest reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing