We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very happy with my stay here.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Continental Hotel Budapest
Ranked #39 of 333 Hotels in Budapest
Certificate of Excellence
Cabra, Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Very happy with my stay here.”
Reviewed 17 June 2014

This hotel is fabulous. Coming from a hotel reception background myself, I found the staff to be very friendly. The late night staff when we checked in around 1.30am took our bags to the room for us. The pool is lovely on the rooftop. But could optional umbrellas. I read reviews about the small rooms before I booked it and I can honestly say, they were fine. Yes they were a bit tight but book a executive if a big room is what you want. We got a great deal on Otel.com so breakfast wasn't included so cannot comment on food. But the waiter in the upstairs bar was a lovely gentleman who made fabulous cappuccinos for us. The bar in the room was fully stocked. We didn't take anything from it though simply because it was room temp. It should be much colder. i don't want a Lukewarm bottle of coca-cola. The pillows were very uncomfortable, so i slept with none. Such a creak in the neck I got the first night from them. They are like big steps. The beds are huge. But over very pleasant stay. Would stay here again if I go back to Budapest.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ciara B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zoltan_Geher, General Manager at Continental Hotel Budapest, responded to this review, 18 June 2014
Dear Clara B,

Thank you very much for your feedback , although you have some criticism as well. I do apologise for the mini bar and also for the pillow. I’m very sorry that you didn’t find our pillow menu next to your bad, because we have a huge selection of pillows on request. Also thank you for your high scores.

KIndest regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,232 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,390
    1,482
    284
    48
    28
See reviews for
456
2,211
151
341
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (482)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
61 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2014

I was totally enchanted by this hotel! Loved the atrium, the grand entrance, the staff was wonderful, the rooms were beautiful. So far I think this is my favorite hotel! It had an exotic air and I loved the whole experience!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RKK402
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zoltan_Geher, General Manager at Continental Hotel Budapest, responded to this review, 18 June 2014
Dear Robin K,
Thank you fery much for your kind feedback. I’m always very proud for my hotel after reading a review like yours. I hope ypu will return to us if your travel will bring you back to Budapest.

KIndest regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2014

The hotel is in a really good location with it only a few mins walk from the metro station and also next to some nice bars. The hotel restaurant is very very good for the money you pay. The rooms are nice and clean with really nice furnishings and well set out. The spa on the roof is also a great feature allowing you to sunbath or swim outdoors or indoors in a lovely atmosphere. Check in was easy and booking trips was also easy. The bar above the reception desk is also amazing and cheap for what you get. Overall a very nice hotel.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank James J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zoltan_Geher, General Manager at Continental Hotel Budapest, responded to this review, 18 June 2014
Dear James J,

Thank you very for muck for you all-in review! Also thank you for your high scores! It is good to read that you were so satisfied with all of our services. I hope you will give us another chance to welcome you again at our hotel!


KIndest regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shipley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2014

Stayed at the Continental Hotel Zara in August 2013 on a business trip. Genuinely could not have asked for more.

From the grand entrance with its mezzanine floor and atrium the hotel really holds the wow factor. Rooms are decorated in a sultry manner and have the comfiest beds ever. Definitely a great nights sleep.

Breakfast was fantastic with everything and more you could want, including the option to squeeze your own orange juice! Lovely. The Araz Restaurant offers a great menu with everything tasting stunning (of what I tried) and the service is impeccable.

Location wise, kept away from the noise and hustle and bustle of the city, but turn the corner and you can explore the ruin pubs or hit the centre in a matter of moments. It's like an oasis in this fab city.

Cannot praise it high enough and will be returning, this time for pleasure not business.

Thanks Continental Hotel Zara!

Room Tip: When eating in the restaurant at the hotel, take your wine suggestions from the waiter...he could no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank caroline1471
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zoltan_Geher, General Manager at Continental Hotel Budapest, responded to this review, 18 June 2014
Dear caroline1471,

The „wow effect” is on your side if you remember us after such a long time! I’m totally impressed about your review. Thank you very much for it, it contains everything I can wish as a General Manager. Thank you for that.


KIndest regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lossiemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2014

This hotel was our base for 3 nights as part of GranD Imperial Cities Rail Tour. Do not be put off by first impressions of the street. Its location is superb in being easy to get back to on foot from the river and from the Great Synagogue. There are 2 Tesco Express supermarkets nearby to buy things like bottled water.

The breakfast buffet is not laid out in the most logical way e.g. fresh fruit salad is nowhere near the yoghurts. Disappointing that the coffee came out of a machine rather than from a freshly made coffee pot.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brenda F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zoltan_Geher, General Manager at Continental Hotel Budapest, responded to this review, 18 June 2014
Dear Brenda F,

Thank you very much for your feedback, both positive and negative comments. Good to read that you found the location of the hotel superb. On the other side I’m very sorry that you didn’t like you buffet breakfast, although we have signs all around the restaurant that we have also freshly made coffee. I hope even you gave us only three points you will return to us in the future.

Thanks and regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Skåne
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2014

Nice hotel with a great roof top pool! The room was of good size and nice furnished. The staff was friendly and helpful, except the one in the café. We requested a quiet room and got one with window towards the garden which was perfect. We would love to come back!

Room Tip: Rooms towards the garden Are more quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ammw2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zoltan_Geher, General Manager at Continental Hotel Budapest, responded to this review, 16 June 2014
Dear ammw2011,

Thank you very much for your feedback. As I can read – although you have some complaint for the bar service - you have mostly enjoyed your stay with us. Also thank you for your nice comments about the pool, your room and about the rest of our staff.

Kindest regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hampshire
Level Contributor
187 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2014

Emailed ahead to upgrade room to deluxe, hoping for a bigger room - which although bigger still not overly large. Very small shower cubicle. Coffee and tea making facilities were poor- one pot of UHT milk per person per day and mainly fruit teas.Free wi-fi, which is always appreciated and fast too. I begrudge paying to swim when I am a guest of the hotel -outrageous at €8 per day. Staff very nice and masseuses excellent.

Room Tip: the higher, the quieter!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank crocettesontour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zoltan_Geher, General Manager at Continental Hotel Budapest, responded to this review, 16 June 2014
Dear crocettesontour,

Thank you for your review, both positive and negativ comments. Regarding tea set up, we put two filters of English breakfast tea, two filters of fruit tea and two filters of green tea, and we check the consumption on a daily basis. Regarding the use of wellness I would lilke to inform you - for the request of some travel agents - it is not included in all room prices to keep the the rate as low as possible. On the other side I was very happy to read, that you were satisfied with the service of our staff and masseuses.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Budapest hotels
Hotel Palazzo Zichy
#4 of 333 in Budapest
4,698 reviews
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Corinthia Hotel Budapest
Corinthia Hotel Budapest
#20 of 333 in Budapest
7,021 reviews
District V / Inner City
Bohem Art Hotel
Bohem Art Hotel
#16 of 333 in Budapest
2,387 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
District V / Inner City
Danubius Hotel Astoria City Center
District V / Inner City
Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Continental Hotel Budapest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Continental Hotel Budapest

Property: Continental Hotel Budapest
Address: Dohany u. 42 - 44, Budapest 1074, Hungary
Region: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest > District VII / Jewish Quarter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #39 of 333 Hotels in Budapest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Continental Hotel Budapest 4.5*
Number of rooms: 272
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Continental Hotel Budapest 4* Superior symbolizes the past and future, the traditional Hungarian hospitality and refinement of detail and personal service of our age. The building reflects the elements of the art nouveau style and the modern unique design characterizing ZeinaHotels, in the heart of Budapest. The 4 star superior, 272 room hotel - offering standard, deluxe and executive rooms plus suites - will revive the spirit of the legendary accommodation keeping its name and historical facade. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Jet2Holidays , Nozio Netplan srl, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Continental Hotel Budapest reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing