We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Continental Hotel Budapest
Ranked #40 of 334 Hotels in Budapest
Certificate of Excellence
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
“Beautiful Hotel”
Reviewed 20 June 2014

it's a beautiful hotel located near many attractions within walking distance. The restaurant was wonderful, great selection of breakfast items. It's an old spa hotel nicely remodeled and tastefully decorated. It made our Budapest visit so much more enjoyable!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zoltan_Geher, General Manager at Continental Hotel Budapest, responded to this review, 9 July 2014
Dear Sandy T,
Thank you for your short, but all-in review. Also thank you for your high scores. We look forward welcoming you again at our hotel.

Kindest regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,283 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,411
    1,505
    290
    48
    29
See reviews for
463
2,236
153
345
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (488)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Limal, Belgium
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2014

Good hotel, close to the city with friendly staff, wonderful breakfast and amazing pool on the roof !
Would absolutely consider this as a good choice, except that they take the amount off of your creditcard as soon as you booked...

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ElsS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zoltan_Geher, General Manager at Continental Hotel Budapest, responded to this review, 9 July 2014
Dear ElsS,
Thank you very much for feedback, although it contains some criticism as well. Regarding payment at the time of booking I would like to inform you, you have booked probable one of our special offers wich surmise a prompt payment. On the other side thank you for your nice comments about staff, breakfast and pool.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sawtell, New South Wales, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2014

Restaurant was lovely, food tasty, waiters professional and great value for money.
The whole experience was great . It is our first trip to Europe and we have appreciated the help and time given to us in a strange country. We are not that we'll traveled.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Glenys D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zoltan_Geher, General Manager at Continental Hotel Budapest, responded to this review, 9 July 2014
Dear Glenys D,
Thank you very much for chosing our hotel for your fist visit to Europe. I think we made our mission. I hope from now you will be a frequent visitor in our continent.

Kindest regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trowbridge, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
44 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2014

Only stayed 1 night but would have enjoyed a longer stay here.
The hotel restaurant food was excellent and the staff very friendly.

Well appointed room with all the expected mod-cons.

We were positively surprised at how convenient this hotel is to central Budapest as you can walk to most places (Parliament, Chain Bridge, Shops etc).

Highly Recommended

Room Tip: Very Central and a great place to stay whilst in Budapest
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ian P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zoltan_Geher, General Manager at Continental Hotel Budapest, responded to this review, 9 July 2014
Dear Ian P,

Firstly thank you for your highly recommendation. It is really good to be recommended. I hope at your possible future visit you will spend more days with us. We will allways have free vacancy for you.

Kindest regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rome, Italy
1 review
Reviewed 18 June 2014

It is in strategic position to visit the City, in a quiet place, close to an excellent restaurant ( Il terzo Cerchio ), and we appreciated everything during our stay in Budapest. Hotel is a special place, employes are so gentle and room are clean. It has been lovely trip with all family

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kazumoto961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zoltan_Geher, General Manager at Continental Hotel Budapest, responded to this review, 9 July 2014
Dear kazumoto961,
The title of your review is truckler, but I’m a little lovelorn about your scores. I hope at your next visit you will try our ARAZ Restaurant as well. For your first drink you are my guest.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014

Stayed here for the third time, and once again the hotel was excellent.. We were there to celebrate my father in laws birthday, and due to that, the hotel had upgraded our room, and welcomed us with a a nice surprise.. The rooms were great, the roof top pool was fantastic with 35 degrease outside..The breakfast buffet was once again great and with lot's of possibilities for everyone. We were unfortunate to get a room next to a younger crowd, who came home at 3-4 in the morning, and continued the party at the hotel.. Not the hotels mistake, but a bit annoying for 3 days in a row, to be woken at that time..
But still and in all at great stay, and a hotel we would recommend to everybody else, planning a visit to Budapest.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tonny B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zoltan_Geher, General Manager at Continental Hotel Budapest, responded to this review, 9 July 2014
Dear Tonny B,
Thank you very much for you loyalty, it is good to read a review of a frequent guest of us. I do apologise for the noise, we will pay more attention for your possible room location. Just let me know, if you come again.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014

This is a lovely hotel tucked away in a side street and so nice and quiet there but within a few minutes walk of bars restaurants etc. The hop on hop off bus is a great way to see the city (a river trip is included) A few must do's are Szimpla Kert ruin bar which is about 5 minutes from the hotel , the New York Café is fantastic (again only 5 minutes walk ) and one of the city's thermal baths . We also went to El Patio (Cuban restaurant) which was a bit expensive but lovely.

They could improve by providing a kettle in the room and not charging to use the rooftop pool but overall we were very happy with this hotel

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Skid20142014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zoltan_Geher, General Manager at Continental Hotel Budapest, responded to this review, 9 July 2014
Dear Skid20142014,
Let me share you one of our newest „development”, we do have kettle in all our rooms, not only in the higher category rooms. Since the wholesalers press us to keep the room rates as attractive as possible in these rates the entry to the wellness are is not included. At your possible future visit please give a chance for our in-house restaurant as well, I promise, you will find your calculus.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Budapest hotels
Hotel Palazzo Zichy
#4 of 334 in Budapest
4,736 reviews
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Boscolo Budapest, Autograph Collection
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Corinthia Hotel Budapest
Corinthia Hotel Budapest
#20 of 334 in Budapest
7,084 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
District V / Inner City
Bohem Art Hotel
Bohem Art Hotel
#13 of 334 in Budapest
2,405 reviews
District V / Inner City
Danubius Hotel Astoria City Center
Gellert Hill
Danubius Hotel Gellert
Danubius Hotel Gellert
#95 of 334 in Budapest
5,955 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Continental Hotel Budapest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Continental Hotel Budapest

Property: Continental Hotel Budapest
Address: Dohany u. 42 - 44, Budapest 1074, Hungary
Region: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest > District VII / Jewish Quarter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #40 of 334 Hotels in Budapest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Continental Hotel Budapest 4.5*
Number of rooms: 272
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Continental Hotel Budapest 4* Superior symbolizes the past and future, the traditional Hungarian hospitality and refinement of detail and personal service of our age. The building reflects the elements of the art nouveau style and the modern unique design characterizing ZeinaHotels, in the heart of Budapest. The 4 star superior, 272 room hotel - offering standard, deluxe and executive rooms plus suites - will revive the spirit of the legendary accommodation keeping its name and historical facade. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Nozio Netplan srl, Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Continental Hotel Budapest reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing