We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic hotel, great staff, runs like clockwork!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Continental Hotel Budapest
Ranked #39 of 332 Hotels in Budapest
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 June 2014

My wife and I stayed here for four nights and couldn't have asked for more. It was our honeymoon and we arrived late evening for check in, the reception and porter service was excellent and we'd already been upgraded to a deluxe room which was a lovely gesture and kicked our holiday off to a great start! The manager zoltan géher left us a welcome note in the room which was a lovely personal touch!

The deluxe rooms are ample and very quiet on the 5th floor with a nice view of the courtyard. Would highly recommend paying for breakfast upfront as its well worth it, you can order fresh coffee/espresso, omelettes made to order, there's cereal, bacon & eggs etc, pastries, juices and its all fresh and kept topped up, we never had to wait for a table and there's no hidden extra costs.

We also dined in the ARAZ restaurant one evening and was very nice, similarly the galeria cafe does salads to die for and I'd recommend the Celtic margarita cocktail! The service in there is great and its such a relaxing place day or night.

Round the corner from the hotel is the new York cafe which is a must see as is the zoo a couple of clicks down the road which is a nice walk. In the other direction is the town centre 10 mins walk away. You don't really need to taxi anywhere as the hotel is in a central location and the city is all flat.

There's a safe, minibar, good sized wardrobe in the room, there's a tv too with only one English channel but then again why would you travel all the way to Hungary to watch tv???

I seriously cannot recommend this hotel enough, nothing is too much for any of the staff and the hotel itself is a marvel of architecture, I wouldn't hesitate to book again!!

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zoltan_Geher, General Manager at Continental Hotel Budapest, responded to this reviewResponded 3 July 2014

Dear David B,

I’m very happy to read that you have so much enjoyed your stay with us. Congratulations again for your wedding and I hope you will celebrate your first anniversary also with us. And the second, and the third…

Kindest wishes,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (4,375)
There are newer reviews for Continental Hotel Budapest
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,700 - 1,706 of 4,375 reviews

Reviewed 23 June 2014

Very good hotel, within walking distance of many of the main attractions - Parliament, river, cathedral, market etc. Clean and comfortable rooms, spacious and relaxing reception area, friendly staff. The breakfast was lovely - lots of choices, great variety of different hot and cold items.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jill3216_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zoltan_Geher, General Manager at Continental Hotel Budapest, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2014

Dear Jill3216_13,

Reading your review I’m very happy that you are satisfied with your hotel selection in Budapest. Thank you for your nice comments about the room, breakfast and about the staff. Although Australia is very far from us, I hope you will visit us again if your travel will bring you back to Europe and you will give us an other chance to serve you on an even higher level to get the maximal points.

Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2014

On a leisure visit mid week to Budpaest and this is a good hotel. Nice, quite spacious rooms, tasteful decoration and lovely bathroom, air con, fridge, free wifi for unlimited devices (very useful when planning) etc everything you want from a modern hotel - behind the facade it has pretty much been remodelled.
Didn't use the spa on the roof as wanted to experience the more famous ones, but it looked nice enough. Breakfast was the highlight of the stay really, the variety was fantastic. It's a good location as you can go in either direction for tourist attractions.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TourismProfessional
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zoltan_Geher, General Manager at Continental Hotel Budapest, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2014

Dear TourismProfessional,

Thank you for your professional feedback. It is good to read, that you, as a pro, have enjoyed our hotel so much. After 128 reviews your four points is a really good result, so I am happy about the future. On the other side I hope, at your next visit we will get the fifth star from you as well.

Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2014

it's a beautiful hotel located near many attractions within walking distance. The restaurant was wonderful, great selection of breakfast items. It's an old spa hotel nicely remodeled and tastefully decorated. It made our Budapest visit so much more enjoyable!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sandy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zoltan_Geher, General Manager at Continental Hotel Budapest, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2014

Dear Sandy T,
Thank you for your short, but all-in review. Also thank you for your high scores. We look forward welcoming you again at our hotel.

Kindest regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2014

Good hotel, close to the city with friendly staff, wonderful breakfast and amazing pool on the roof !
Would absolutely consider this as a good choice, except that they take the amount off of your creditcard as soon as you booked...

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ElsS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zoltan_Geher, General Manager at Continental Hotel Budapest, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2014

Dear ElsS,
Thank you very much for feedback, although it contains some criticism as well. Regarding payment at the time of booking I would like to inform you, you have booked probable one of our special offers wich surmise a prompt payment. On the other side thank you for your nice comments about staff, breakfast and pool.

Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2014

Restaurant was lovely, food tasty, waiters professional and great value for money.
The whole experience was great . It is our first trip to Europe and we have appreciated the help and time given to us in a strange country. We are not that we'll traveled.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Glenys D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zoltan_Geher, General Manager at Continental Hotel Budapest, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2014

Dear Glenys D,
Thank you very much for chosing our hotel for your fist visit to Europe. I think we made our mission. I hope from now you will be a frequent visitor in our continent.

Kindest regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2014

Only stayed 1 night but would have enjoyed a longer stay here.
The hotel restaurant food was excellent and the staff very friendly.

Well appointed room with all the expected mod-cons.

We were positively surprised at how convenient this hotel is to central Budapest as you can walk to most places (Parliament, Chain Bridge, Shops etc).

Highly Recommended

Room Tip: Very Central and a great place to stay whilst in Budapest
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ian P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zoltan_Geher, General Manager at Continental Hotel Budapest, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2014

Dear Ian P,

Firstly thank you for your highly recommendation. It is really good to be recommended. I hope at your possible future visit you will spend more days with us. We will allways have free vacancy for you.

Kindest regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Budapest hotels
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Boscolo Budapest, Autograph Collection
Hotel Palazzo Zichy
#4 of 332 in Budapest
4,827 reviews
District V / Inner City
Bohem Art Hotel
Bohem Art Hotel
#13 of 332 in Budapest
2,447 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Corinthia Hotel Budapest
Corinthia Hotel Budapest
#16 of 332 in Budapest
7,230 reviews
District V / Inner City
Buddha-Bar Hotel Budapest Klotild Palace
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Continental Hotel Budapest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Continental Hotel Budapest

Address: Dohany u. 42 - 44, Budapest 1074, Hungary
Region: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest > District VII / Jewish Quarter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #39 of 332 Hotels in Budapest
Price Range: £66 - £203 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Continental Hotel Budapest 4.5*
Number of rooms: 272
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Continental Hotel Budapest 4* Superior symbolizes the past and future, the traditional Hungarian hospitality and refinement of detail and personal service of our age. The building reflects the elements of the art nouveau style and the modern unique design characterizing ZeinaHotels, in the heart of Budapest. The 4 star superior, 272 room hotel - offering standard, deluxe and executive rooms plus suites - will revive the spirit of the legendary accommodation keeping its name and historical facade. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Continental Hotel Budapest reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing