We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Budapest Birthday”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Continental Hotel Budapest
Ranked #39 of 342 Hotels in Budapest
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Budapest Birthday”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2014

We went to Budapest from the 4th until 7th July and stayed in the Continental Zara Hotel.

When we first arrived at reception we were greeted with a very friendly young lady who informed us she had upgraded our room. When we went up to the room we were in for another surprise - a bottle of fizz and champagne glasses. It was an amazing welcome to Continental Zara.

Throughout our stay the staff were very accommodating and friendly. The room was cleaned to perfection every day despite the fact we had late nights out and long lies in.

In terms of location, everything was very easy to get to. The Széchenyi baths were around a 40 minute walk away or the equivalent of £5 in a taxi journey. We done both but the walk was very easy. Lots of bars, restaurants and "ruins" around the hotels that are very cheap and good quality.

Truly had the best trip ever to Budapest and would recommend it to everyone as there is something for all age groups and price ranges.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KDC C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,165 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,354
    1,461
    275
    48
    27
See reviews for
449
2,177
146
332
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (478)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Kortrijk, Belgium
Level Contributor
38 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2014 via mobile

We had a nice stay here during our visit to Budapest. At first, we had some trouble to find the hotel when we arrived from the airport but it is well situated not too far away from the subway station. Our room was perfect and very clean.

There're two swimming pools on the roof (outside and inside) and a sauna. Unfortunately, we weren't able to use the sauna because it was already used by people who clearly didn't think it was necessary to use a towel and simply went naked in there (I was a bit shocked when I opened the door because I didn't expect and didn't want to see what I saw then). I don't think it's appropriate in a hotel and especially with kids swimming in the pool just in front. But, the staff didn't say anything..

The breakfast was good and offered a lot of choice.

When we left the hotel, my friend forgot his watch in the locker and a souvenir he bought. So we went back to get it but sadly the staff only gave us the souvenir back. They told us they didn't find any watch ...

Stayed August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Lucie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
manchester
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2014

very nice hotel brakfast was ok if you want a drink best to drink outside of hotel half the hotel prices allthough its cheap to drink in budapest . rooms very nice air conditioning worked well lots of bars just outside bit out of centre but walkable for us . gr8 italian turn right just outside of entrance from hotel on the corner oppiste hotel cant think of name sorry had fillet steak twice very nice would we stay again yes

Room Tip: we were in room 530 nice and quiet but not much of a view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank g w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
82 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2014

Went to Budapest with a group of friends, there were six of us and luckily the hotel put our rooms right next to one another so we could access each other easily.
They have a relaxing bar upstairs where we sat and reminisced about our weekend in Budapest.
Their spa facilities are at extra cost and are quite small but it weren't busy at our time of visit.
Rooms were immaculate and always left clean by the cleaner. They were small but we didn't spend much time in them so it didn't bother us much.
Great bathroom, again quite small but not much of a bother.
Close to loads of shops and restaurants and many facilities.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jenice88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zoltan_Geher, General Manager at Continental Hotel Budapest, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
Dear Jenice88,
Thank you very much for your review, although I really don’t understand why we got only three points if you were so much satisfied with us. It should be a mistake.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Finland
Level Contributor
19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2014

We were totally surprised when checking out and hearing that we had used "wellness services" for 32 euros! Yes: I had gone for a morning swim in 4 mornings for about 10 minutes each. 8 euros per swim was charged. Although recepiton staff admitted that there is no information anywhere in the hotel about the fees of the pool, they insisted to have the whole amount paid and told me unkindly that I should have known that using the pool is not free.

I don’t know about Hungarian laws and habits, but at least in my country you should always tell a client in advantage what services will be charged and what is the price for each service.
8 euro for a 10 minutes swim in a tiny (8 meters long) pool which was more as a big bath tube than a pool! Who would pay that price if knowing?

In general it seemed to us, that the reception staff was kind of relic of the soviet era: the client is always wrong. Many of them didn’t even greet clients! Housekeeping was OK and they greeted friendly always.

To be fair: room we had was OK (although AC was loud), breakfast was very good and location excellent for us. But in the area there surely are other hotels in which you will be treated better.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Maria61029
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zoltan_Geher, General Manager at Continental Hotel Budapest, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
Dear Maria61029,
Thank you for your feedback, although it contains very serious accusations as well. You are right, some of our „third party sold” rooms are without usage of wellness. To explaine it more clearly, some online travel agents are offering on their website rooms without our basic services (usage of wellness, breakfast) to keep prices as low as possible, and they „forget” to inform clients about it, it comes up only if guests are checking in at the hotel. But I can assure you, we inform all our guests at check-in about our services, what is included in the price, what is not. I can imagine that somehow you didn’t hear it properly, or the receptionist has forgot to tell it to you by mistake, but if you „check-in” to our pools your should register there as well. I have double checked all of your entries, and you have signed there all of your 8 euro entry fees. I think it was not correct to write a two points review after we have even cancelled you wellness charges. Nevertheless coming up with communism after 25 years of the system change is a shame. Not ours.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bushey, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2014 via mobile

Had a marvellous 3 night break here . The value for money was amazing . Staff were all very professional ,courteous and helpful . Food in the hotel was excellent . A little more expensive than some local restaurants but well worth it .

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carole D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zoltan_Geher, General Manager at Continental Hotel Budapest, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
Dear Carole D,

Thank you very much for your high scores! I’m very happy that your break was marvellous. Also thank your for your comments about the staff and about our restaurant. I hope you will return to us if your travel will bring you back to Budapest.

KIndest regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Watford
Level Contributor
42 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2014

This hotel is on the Pest side but only about 15 mins walk to the Danube great ambience and lots of got eateries locally. We got a two day red bus that included numerous river trips and really felt we got to know the city

Room Tip: We had a basic room overlooking the dining area but very quiet and peaceful
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OlaWatford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zoltan_Geher, General Manager at Continental Hotel Budapest, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
Dear OlaWatford,

Thank you for your feedback, and also thank you for your high scores! I hope you will give us an other chance to serve you again in the close future!

Kindest regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Budapest hotels
Hotel Palazzo Zichy
#4 of 342 in Budapest
5.0 of 5 bubbles 4,592 reviews
District V / Inner City
Prestige Hotel Budapest
Prestige Hotel Budapest
#7 of 342 in Budapest
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,150 reviews
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Corinthia Hotel Budapest
Corinthia Hotel Budapest
#18 of 342 in Budapest
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,896 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
District V / Inner City
Danubius Hotel Astoria City Center
District V / Inner City
Hotel Parlament
Hotel Parlament
#6 of 342 in Budapest
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,111 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Continental Hotel Budapest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Continental Hotel Budapest

Property: Continental Hotel Budapest
Address: Dohany u. 42 - 44, Budapest 1074, Hungary
Region: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest > District VII / Jewish Quarter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #39 of 342 Hotels in Budapest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Continental Hotel Budapest 4.5*
Number of rooms: 272
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Continental Hotel Budapest 4* Superior symbolizes the past and future, the traditional Hungarian hospitality and refinement of detail and personal service of our age. The building reflects the elements of the art nouveau style and the modern unique design characterizing ZeinaHotels, in the heart of Budapest. The 4 star superior, 272 room hotel - offering standard, deluxe and executive rooms plus suites - will revive the spirit of the legendary accommodation keeping its name and historical facade. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Continental Hotel Budapest reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing