We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Continental Hotel Budapest
Ranked #39 of 333 Hotels in Budapest
Certificate of Excellence
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
131 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
“Excellent hotel.”
Reviewed 24 July 2014

We stayed here for five nights on a hotel/flights deal with Jet2 which worked out great value for money. Upon arrival we were upgraded to a junior suite which was pretty spacious for a city hotel and had a big balcony with views. The hotel lobby is beautiful and the rooms are modern with free wifi and we found the staff to be very helpful. Breakfast had a decent selection and the orange juice press and coffee machines were a nice touch. The hotel is located about 15 minutes walk from the centre of Pest or a few minutes from the Metro stop.

Be warned though, until looking in detail at the hotel's website did we discover it was an additional 8 euros per person per day to use the pool facilities, which was a shame as it was one of the main things that attracted us to the hotel. The seating area on the roof is a nice idea but the pool itself is really small for such a massive hotel.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ashmorayw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zoltan_Geher, General Manager at Continental Hotel Budapest, responded to this review, 27 July 2014
Dear ashmorayw,
Thank you very much for your feedback althoght it contains serious criticism about wellness fee as well. I’m very sorry that we have lost a point because of the miscommunication between you and your travel agent. On the other side I’m very happy that you were very satisfied with the rest of our services. I hope you will return soon to us.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,232 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,390
    1,482
    284
    48
    28
See reviews for
456
2,211
151
341
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (482)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2014

LOCATION: About 20 minutes walk from the centre of the city (very close to public transportation, restaurants, bars and great for sightseeing). Highly recommended. The area is an upcoming one.
CHECK IN-OUT: extremely quick.
STAFF: excellent, friendly, polite and ready to help. Superb hospitality. Great people. Five star service.
ROOMS: We had a deluxe triple room on the fourth non-smoking floor, facing the atrium (courtyard). Extremely quiet. Not very spacious but very clean with a comfortable large queen bed (and a third, smaller one for our 13 year old daughter). High quality matress and pillows. The bathroom was spacious enough with all the right amenities. The shower is small and slippery. The robes were a little worn out. Great tea/coffee facilities.
BREAKFAST (included in the price): large , tasty,buffet with cold and really warm food, great quality, fresh orange juice, three machines for all kinds of coffee (great cappuccino). Superb service.
TIPS: The hotel was asked by e-mail to arrange a transfer for us from the airport to the hotel. A very polite and english speaking taxi driver drove us to the hotel at a very reasonable fixed price (35 euro). The airport is far from the hotel. The hotel also arranged a taxi to transfer us to the airport at the fixed price of 30 euros. There are the " Ellite" Taxis outside the hotel which are safe and air conditioned although not very cheap (10 euros from the hotel to the Heroes Square).
Be careful with the taxi drivers you stop at the road or outside the Keleti train station. Most of the times they try to cheat the tourists. Avoid the ones outside Keleti train station. Not the nicest people.

Room Tip: The best rooms are those facing the atrium (courtyard)
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Family M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zoltan_Geher, General Manager at Continental Hotel Budapest, responded to this review, 27 July 2014
Dear EFSTATHIA T,
I’ was very happy to read that your found the location of the hotel „highly recommened”, our hospitality „superb” and „five star” and your room „extremely quite”. I think we made our mission! Thank you again for your stay.

Kindest regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2014

My wife and I stayed here whilst touring the Imperial Cities by train. The facilities are very good especially having the two swimming pools on the top floor which were perfect for cooling off after a hard days site seeing.The staff were always courteous and helpful and nothing was too much trouble. It was my wife's Birthday whilst we were there and we were thoroughly spoilt by the restaurant staff who went out of their way to ensure we enjoyed an excellent meal with some equally good local wines. A great place to stay if you are thinking of spending some time in Budapest.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KangooKid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zoltan_Geher, General Manager at Continental Hotel Budapest, responded to this review, 27 July 2014
Dear Kangookid,
I’m very happy that you are thinking for a longer stay in Budapest. I hope you will choose us again. I wish to let you know, we will always have a room for you.

Kindest regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southport
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2014

I picked this hotel based on excellent value for a quality hotel. I was also looking for a hotel with a pool in this 'hot' city. The service on reception was efficient, however it wasn't particularly friendly; More functional. The room was lovely, although fairly compact, but had everything you needed, and the bed was very large and comfortable. Breakfast was very good, with a good selection of fresh fruits, breads and pastries, salad and cold meats, cereals and a hot English buffet breakfast. The location was perfect... 10 minutes walk to the main square and city centre, and just a few minutes from more local bars and restaurants which were great value! (turn left out of the hotel..)The pool and garden area were disappointing; the pool is pretty small and is above ground, not as it looks on the photo's. The pool and garden area is fairly small and very busy, particularly at the moment as the temperatures in Budapest are around the 34 mark. We went up to use it on our 2nd day, at about 4pm. There were no towels left, so we were given 4 sheets?! There were no chairs or beds available as there are only about 20 maximum on the whole rooftop area. We did manage to cobble some seating together, and enjoyed a couple of hours in the sunshine, cooling off in the pool. Overall this hotel is good value, in a good location, however don't expect any of the Hungarian 'wit and humour' from the staff. We saw none. Polite and functional, nothing more. All in all though, a great weekend in a beautiful city!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zoltan_Geher, General Manager at Continental Hotel Budapest, responded to this review, 27 July 2014
Dear Chris R,
Thank you very much for your comments, both positive and negative. I’m very sorry that the staff at the reception was „only” polite and functional, I’m sure it was only a bad moment for them. On the other side I know, our pool area could be much bigger, but I think, it is still very unique and we are not a wellness hotel, just a city hotel with two medium size pools over Budapest. Also thank you for your commendatory comments about the breakfast.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canvey Island, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2014

We stayed here in Jan 2014, all i can say is Love it. The hotel is very plush for the price, the staff are very nice, friendly and helpful *booking cabs to various locations was a great help. It is moments walk from the "High street" and not too far from the local markets and sites. I would very much recommend this hotel to anyone looking for a short break to Budapest - We are intact already booked for next year.

Room Tip: Ask for 3rd floor or above
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lee15481
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zoltan_Geher, General Manager at Continental Hotel Budapest, responded to this review, 27 July 2014
Dear Lee15481,
Firstly thank you very much for your high scores! Also thank you for your recommendation. We all look forward welcoming you again at Continental Hotel Budapest****Superior.

Kindest ragards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2014

I stayed at the Continental Zara for a couple of nights in late june and it was a fantastic location. A few minutes walk from the metro and it was only one stop on the metro from the main train station in Budapest.

The nightlife was fantastic so if you're looking to stay at a really nice hotel & go out to see the ruin bars and popular clubs like doboz then I suggest you stay here!

The staff are lovely and helpful and the rooms are comfortable and clean. Not complaints!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lilgraa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zoltan_Geher, General Manager at Continental Hotel Budapest, responded to this review, 24 July 2014
Dear lilgraa,
Firstly thank you very much for your high scores! Your voice from the other side of the world is extremly important for us. I hope you will return to us again if your travel will bring you back to Europe!

Kindest regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2014

We stayed at the Continental Hotel Zara a few weeks ago with a group of 18 of us and had a fantastic time. The rooftop pool was lovely and relaxing and the staff couldn't have been more accommodating.

Great location as well to get to the local nightlife as well as to the centre.

First class.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jack H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zoltan_Geher, General Manager at Continental Hotel Budapest, responded to this review, 24 July 2014
Dear Jack H,

Thank you very much for your „Big Recommendation”. I was hapy to read that you and your group had a fantastic time with us.

We look forward welcoming you at our hotel again!

Kindest regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Budapest hotels
Hotel Palazzo Zichy
#4 of 333 in Budapest
4,694 reviews
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Corinthia Hotel Budapest
Corinthia Hotel Budapest
#20 of 333 in Budapest
7,021 reviews
District V / Inner City
Bohem Art Hotel
Bohem Art Hotel
#16 of 333 in Budapest
2,387 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
District V / Inner City
Danubius Hotel Astoria City Center
District V / Inner City
Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Continental Hotel Budapest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Continental Hotel Budapest

Property: Continental Hotel Budapest
Address: Dohany u. 42 - 44, Budapest 1074, Hungary
Region: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest > District VII / Jewish Quarter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #39 of 333 Hotels in Budapest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Continental Hotel Budapest 4.5*
Number of rooms: 272
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Continental Hotel Budapest 4* Superior symbolizes the past and future, the traditional Hungarian hospitality and refinement of detail and personal service of our age. The building reflects the elements of the art nouveau style and the modern unique design characterizing ZeinaHotels, in the heart of Budapest. The 4 star superior, 272 room hotel - offering standard, deluxe and executive rooms plus suites - will revive the spirit of the legendary accommodation keeping its name and historical facade. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Nozio Netplan srl, Travel Republic (UK), Hotel.de, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Continental Hotel Budapest reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing