We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Characterful Luxury”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Continental Hotel Budapest
Ranked #45 of 336 Hotels in Budapest
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 August 2014

Pros:
Service - the staff could not do more for you, free gifts, helpful directions and a pianist in the lobby.
Breakfast - world-class, delicious, plentiful with lots of choice.
Rooms - spacious, tranquill, comfy beds and nice square pillows.
Pools - both inside and outside pools are fantastic. The grass roof-top garden next to the pool was also an added bonus.

Cons:
Although the area is great for edgy bars and quick walks - there are no views. (this doesn't matter though as you're in Budapest and the Danube is just a short underground journey away - or a 12 min walk).

Room Tip: Make sure it has a balcony as some of the lower rooms don't!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank FEP22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zoltan_Geher, General Manager at Continental Hotel Budapest, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2014

Dear FEP22,
Firstly thank you for your high scores! I like your comments very much, I beleive as a General Manager of the hotel I couldn’t wish more commendatory review like yours. Sorry for the view, I think this is the only disadvantage of the hotel. But we have a couple of advantages to forget this.

KIndest regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (4,555)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,758 - 1,764 of 4,555 reviews

Reviewed 1 August 2014

The hotel was good Location was pretty good
We didn't dine in the hotel apart from the breakfast which was ample and very nice indeed.
The staff were helpful and the rooms modern.
However, I found that it didn't matter how late it was... other residents returned to the hotel after a skin full of booze and they didn't have much respect for other people who were already sleep!
Ask for a quiet floor!
All in all I would return for sure and Budapest was beautiful

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank weegers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zoltan_Geher, General Manager at Continental Hotel Budapest, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2014

Dear weegers,
Thank you for your feedback. I’m very sorry for the noise caused by others. Fortunately we don’t have many complaints about it. I hope at your possible next visit you will visit our restaurant for dinner as well. It is worth while!

Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2014

Stayed here for four nights with friends. The hotel is on a quiet street in the historic Jewish Quarter of the city. We were able to walk everywhere in the centre very easily, and there are lots of restaurants, bars (including the lively area around Király street) and shops nearby. The rooms were compact, but modern and functional and, realistically, more than adequate for a city break. We also made use of the roof-top spa one day, which has a pool, sauna and Jacuzzi, and views over the city. Hotel staff were very friendly and happy to make reservations in local restaurants and provide information on the area. Recommended and would stay again.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JJW86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zoltan_Geher, Ügyvezető igazgató at Continental Hotel Budapest, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2014

Dear JJW86,
Firstly thank you for your recommendation although I’m a little lovelorn for your rating, since as I read you were very satisfied with all of our services. I hope at your next visit to Budapest you will give us an other chance to serve you. I promise, we will do our best.

Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2014

Stayed here with my friend in April 2014 for 4 nights - the location was perfect, short stroll to the centre and lots of bars very close as well. Rooms are clean and very well kept/modern. The staff was very professional, friendly and helpful - they even had a pillow menu when my friend ask for a bit thinner one! Would definitely stay here again if ever in Budapest again.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank ELM2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zoltan_Geher, General Manager at Continental Hotel Budapest, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2014

Dear ELM2013,
Firstly thank you very much for your high scores! Also thank you for your comment about the staff and the cleanliness. I’m very happy that you have used our pillow menu. I hope you will really return soon.

KIndest regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2014

I like staying at this hotel for reasons stated above. It is my second time to stay here and as I will be on trips to the City 8 times in 2015 I hope to stay there again.I found all the staff at this hotel to be very open and willing to connect in a very natural style. The reservations section are certainly very personal in their communications and make me feel obliged to return as a result of my interactions. I understand it is owned by a private company and I observe the finish of the property itself and the culture that is real and present must be a reflection of its owner.
A quiet room [617] with all the usual requirements were of a very high standard. I love the wellness centre which I enjoy very much. The security of the hotel is very comforting for me. Key-card access to the floors via the lifts is very swift and effective. Breakfast was fine for me and having it in the open court yard was delightful.
Stress free, no hassle a good deal for my return visits ....I am happy.

TIPS: Use City Taxis...Lovely people, always waiting 5 mins ahead of due
time.
Ask for a deal at the reservations and get the Wellness centre
included...they will listen to you and take care of you.

Dermot JM

Stayed: July 2014, travelled solo
3  Thank Dermot J M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zoltan_Geher, General Manager at Continental Hotel Budapest, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2014

Dear Dermot J M,
Thank you for your kind and commendatory feedback. If I could do, I would keep it on the cover page for a month! I like especially your comment about the reservation department. In our „on-line century” they have really not too much possibilies to show how good they are. On the other side thank you for you loyalty. We look forward welcoming you at our hotel again.

KIndest regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2014

This hotel is almost near the center (you can go from the hotel to the centre by feet). The rooms are very clean! The food has a variety of options and the the other comfort (swimming pool etc) are really worthy! Dont miss it!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Katerina_Kal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zoltan_Geher, General Manager at Continental Hotel Budapest, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2014

Dear Katerina_Kal,
Thanky ou for your nice comments about the location, cleanliness and about the restaurant. I hope you will give us another chance if your possible future travel will bring you back to Budapest.

KIndest regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2014

My friend and I stayed at Continental Hotel Zara for five nights. On the whole, we were quite satisfied with our stay. The room was fine and the hotel and its facilities are well-taken care of. Breakfast was included in our room rate, which was a nice bonus. The breakfast assortment was satisfactory and included what most people expect from a breakfast buffet.

I'm dishing out some minus points for the lack of English TV channels (the BBC news and the other news channels tend to get boring fast) and for the unstable WiFi in our room. The signal was weak and from time to time we lost our internet connection. I assume this had to do with the position of our room.

Finally then, a great hotel despite some flaws. It doesn't hurt that it's centrally located either, but mind that it's a 15-20 min walk to the Danube river.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tommy I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zoltan_Geher, General Manager at Continental Hotel Budapest, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2014

Dear Tommy I,
Thank you for your review, both of your positive and negative comments. I’m very sorry about the internet connections. I remember, in July we had a day with some difficulties in a certain area of the hotel, but it has been corrected already. I’m very happy that you were satisfied with the breakfast.

Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Budapest hotels
Hotel Palazzo Zichy
#4 of 336 in Budapest
5,033 reviews
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Boscolo Budapest, Autograph Collection
District V / Inner City
Buddha-Bar Hotel Budapest Klotild Palace
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Corinthia Hotel Budapest
Corinthia Hotel Budapest
#19 of 336 in Budapest
7,624 reviews
District V / Inner City
InterContinental Budapest
InterContinental Budapest
#29 of 336 in Budapest
3,570 reviews
K+K Hotel Opera
#43 of 336 in Budapest
3,402 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Continental Hotel Budapest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Continental Hotel Budapest

Address: Dohany u. 42 - 44, Budapest 1074, Hungary
Region: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest > District VII / Jewish Quarter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #45 of 336 Hotels in Budapest
Price Range: £43 - £162 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Continental Hotel Budapest 4.5*
Number of rooms: 272
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Continental Hotel Budapest 4* Superior symbolizes the past and future, the traditional Hungarian hospitality and refinement of detail and personal service of our age. The building reflects the elements of the art nouveau style and the modern unique design characterizing ZeinaHotels, in the heart of Budapest. The 4 star superior, 272 room hotel - offering standard, deluxe and executive rooms plus suites - will revive the spirit of the legendary accommodation keeping its name and historical facade. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Continental Hotel Budapest reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing