We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location in Budapest”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Continental Hotel Budapest
Ranked #41 of 335 Hotels in Budapest
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 August 2014

We stayed at Continental Zara for May bank holiday weekend. The hotel is in a great location for exploring Budapest. Staff were friendly and helpful and the rooms were nice and clean. Lovely roof garden if you wish to relax. We, as a group of four travel on a city break each year and Budapest and this hotel did not disappoint us. We would return to this hotel

Room Tip: We always go for a room on a higher floor in the event of any street noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EndaByrne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zoltan_Geher, General Manager at Continental Hotel Budapest, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2014

Dear EndaByrne,
Thank you very much for your feedback, although I’m a little lovelorn of your rating. But the most important thing that you have enjoyed your stay with us, so we have made our mission.

Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (4,404)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,665 - 1,671 of 4,406 reviews

Reviewed 5 August 2014

We were on a rail tour of “Grand Imperial Cities” with Great Rail Journeys and had 3 nights here. Located on a narrow & fairly grotty side street we were not impressed & wondered how safe we would be walking from there (but, thankfully, that turned out NOT to be a problem). Once inside this was a pleasant hotel with very helpful staff. Room was small but adequate though no bath – shower only. Would stay again. Is about 20 mins walk from the river and the sights. [TIPS (1) our standard rooms did not have tea/coffee facilities but we asked and it was provided. (2) A few doors away is a brilliant jazz restaurant – we ate there twice and had a great time.]

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank savouk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zoltan_Geher, General Manager at Continental Hotel Budapest, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2014

Dear savouk,
Thank you for your review. It was good to read that you found the staff helpful. If you need more space book a deluxe room, the price difference is really not too big, and at your next possible visit try our ARAZ Restaurant as well, they are fantastic.

Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for 3 nights in August and I cannot fault anything about the hotel. The decor is lovely, especially the entrance foyer / hall. The staff are all extremely happy and welcoming.

The standard room is great, a good size with air con. We had access to the wellness spa as part of our package and it was lovely to use the swimming pool and sauna after a long day of sight seeing in Budapest.

The hotel itself is well situated on the Pest side of the river. Near countless restaurants, about a 2 minute walk from the metro station and 15 min walk to the river. I would definitely stay here again if we visited Budapest.

Stayed: August 2014
Thank Lucy Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zoltan_Geher, General Manager at Continental Hotel Budapest, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2014

Dear Lucy Y,
Thank you for your commendatory comments about the staff and about the decor of the hotel. You have good eyes! I hope you will keep your promise and you will definitely stay with us again if you return to Budapest!

Kindest regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2014

Me and my partner stayed here for 7 nights over the Grand Prix weekend. It's a beautiful hotel. The service was very good, the breakfast buffet had good variety. The rooms were modern and clean. The mattress was a bit on the hard side and the rooms are a little bit small but this didn't matter too much to us as we didn't spend a lot of time in the room. We ate in the ARAZ restaurant on one evening which was very nice. It is around 20 minute walk to the river, however we had a 72 hour Budapest Card which covers unlimited travel on the metro (underground), trams and buses, therefore we took the metro into the centre most of the time which only takes 5 minutes. The roof top pool was definitely an added bonus. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lolz0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zoltan_Geher, General Manager at Continental Hotel Budapest, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2014

Dear lolz0,
Thank you for your feedback, both your positive and negativ comments, although I’m a little lovelorn because of your rating. On the other side I’m happy to read, that you liked our ARAZ restaurant. If you are planing to return I recommend you to book a deluxe room – it has only a slight surcharge - if you need more space. I hope you will return to us latest at the next Formula 1 racing.

Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2014

Used this hotel as a base when visiting the Hungarian GP. Quite expensive but has all facilities. Staff friendly and helpful, good parking (though again a bit pricey) and an easy walk to the river and other tourist areas.

Only used the restaurnat once for dinner. All very good, and helpful staff. excellent choice for breakfast, food all fine.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Helen41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zoltan_Geher, General Manager at Continental Hotel Budapest, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2014

Dear Helen41,
Thank you for taking the time to share your opinion about the hotel with other travelers. You are right, we work with a bit higher prices during the Hungarian Grand Prix, but at the rest of the year our hotel has a very good value. Thank you for your commendatory comments about the restaurant.

Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2014

This hotel is in a great spot for exploring parts of Budapest by foot. It’s in walking distance of the market, the opera house, and the old synagogue. and the majestic old New York café.

The restaurant is excellent for the days when you just don’t want to go out When you want to explore other places to eat, they will help you find just the place.

Room Tip: Rooms on the south side are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SFBayswimmer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zoltan_Geher, General Manager at Continental Hotel Budapest, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2014

Dear SFBayswimmer,
Thank you for your review. Also thank you for your nice comments about the location and about the restaurant. I hope you will return to us again if your travel will bring you back to Europe and to Budapest, and you will give us a chance to serve you to get all five points!

Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2014 via mobile

Stayed 3 nights during f1. Very impressed with service, room and food. Hungarian feast in restaurant on the friday a highlight. Accommodating with our 10 month baby, no request too difficult. 20 mins walk to river but close to bars and restaurants of Jewish quarter

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
Thank LondonHigg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zoltan_Geher, General Manager at Continental Hotel Budapest, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2014

Dear LondonHigg,
Thank you very much for your feedback. I’m very happy that your stay with your baby was hasslefree since as a father - although with bigger kids - I know how important it is. It was good to read that you have enjoyed our Hungarian evening at ARAZ Restaurant too. We wait you back.
KIndest regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Budapest hotels
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Boscolo Budapest, Autograph Collection
Hotel Palazzo Zichy
#4 of 335 in Budapest
4,863 reviews
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Corinthia Hotel Budapest
Corinthia Hotel Budapest
#15 of 335 in Budapest
7,290 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
District V / Inner City
Buddha-Bar Hotel Budapest Klotild Palace
District V / Inner City
Bohem Art Hotel
Bohem Art Hotel
#13 of 335 in Budapest
2,468 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Continental Hotel Budapest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Continental Hotel Budapest

Address: Dohany u. 42 - 44, Budapest 1074, Hungary
Region: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest > District VII / Jewish Quarter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #41 of 335 Hotels in Budapest
Price Range: £66 - £169 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Continental Hotel Budapest 4.5*
Number of rooms: 272
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Continental Hotel Budapest 4* Superior symbolizes the past and future, the traditional Hungarian hospitality and refinement of detail and personal service of our age. The building reflects the elements of the art nouveau style and the modern unique design characterizing ZeinaHotels, in the heart of Budapest. The 4 star superior, 272 room hotel - offering standard, deluxe and executive rooms plus suites - will revive the spirit of the legendary accommodation keeping its name and historical facade. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Continental Hotel Budapest reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing