We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tickety-boo hotel!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Continental Hotel Budapest
Ranked #39 of 333 Hotels in Budapest
Certificate of Excellence
Crieff, Perthshire, Scotland, UK
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Tickety-boo hotel!”
Reviewed 21 September 2010

This is a new hotel with luxury added-in and very good value. Superior 4 star accommodation. The hotel has been built within an existing facade and well finished. We used the internal restaurant on the first night as we thought it was good value for £20pp including a bottle of wine. The breakfast was excellent with a good spread. Fill your boots!

The standard rooms are on the small side. Our friends booked an upgraded room with separate sitting room / rooftop balcony which made a difference.

Only downside was the fact that they don't have a smoke-free policy so it was sometimes unpleasant along the corridors or in the lounge bar. Top floor heated pools inside / outside were fab, with a jacuzzi and sauna.

Location is on the Pest side, 15 mins walk to centre / Danube areas.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Stephen_Digance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zoltan_Geher, General Manager at Continental Hotel Budapest, responded to this review, 16 October 2010
Dear Stephan_Digance,
many thanks for your superlatives (luxury added-in) and for your overall rating on Contienntal Hotel Zara. We have four different categories of rooms as per their size, so it is a pitty that your room was not as spacious as your friends' room was. Guests usually do not take dinners on the hotel's restaurant, but our ARAZ Restaurant seem to be an exception in Budapest with positive feedbacks and we did not fail at you neither!
In Hungary smoking in public areas are not as severe yet, but Continental Hotel Zara allows smoking on one guest floor, in designated area of the Cafe and in the courtyards only, which is far more than as per law.
I do hope you returned home with nice memories and will further recommend our hotel. Many thanks for it.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,235 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,391
    1,484
    284
    48
    28
See reviews for
456
2,213
151
342
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (483)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Wien
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 September 2010

I stay at Zara Continental from 17.09 till 19.09.2010. It was my first stay in Budapest and in this hotel. I really enjoy everything from Check In till Check Out.
All staff was very nice, helpful and polite. The location of the hotel is very nice and it is very close to the city centre and to all Sightseeings in Budapest.
At my next stay i will definitely take this hotel because everything was perfect and i can recommend this beautiful hotel to everyhone.
MANY THANKS TO ALL STAFF...

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Playboy_22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zoltan_Geher, General Manager at Continental Hotel Budapest, responded to this review, 16 October 2010
Dear Playboy_22,

a BIG THANK YOU for your review! This type of reviews I like the most and share it proudly with my colleagues. I hope your review will influence other guests in hotel selection in Budapest.
Looking forward to your return!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 September 2010

Was very impressed with the Hotel Zara. The staff were friendly, helpful and professional. The rooms were well decorated and clean and I especially liked the endless supply of hot water in the shower and bathroom.

I recommend a visit to the spa on the 7th floor. The pool outside is heated and is worth a dip around sunset for the rooftop views of the city (you can see the Castle and the tops of the Basicilla and the synagogue).

The hotel is new and the decor is fresh and stylish. Especially liked the gallery bar. Breakfast could be busy but the staff keep things moving and we didn't have any trouble finding a seat or enough food! Had dinner in the restaurant and the Italian next door and liked both.

Can't find anything to fault, especially not when I consider the price and location. I really enjoyed my stay and would go back.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ASBLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zoltan_Geher, General Manager at Continental Hotel Budapest, responded to this review, 16 October 2010
Dear ASBLondon,
I am very greatful for your review. I can read from your scores that you was very satisfied with the facilities and the services of Continental Hotel Zara. Compliments like yours are enhencing our work, therefore I really appreciate it.
I wish you not just "would go back", I hope you will have the possibility shortly to return to us.
Again, many thanks for your review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2010

New hotel. Good location, 15 minute walk from River Danube, 15 minutes from opera house and 5 minutes from Metro. Hotel and rooms spotlessly clean, airy and pleasant decor. Air conditioned rooms. Would recommend the hotel restaurant for your evening meal. Restaurant also served a good buffet breakfast. Staff speak good English are friendly and helpful and we could not fault this hotel at all.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JackieG63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston
Level Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2010

First the negatives, because their just weren't that many... (-)
1) For such a great hotel I was surprised that there was no Bussiness Office. I needed to make some print outs but they didn't have a dedicated room for this sort of stuff. They probably misunderstood when I asked for a bussiness room?
1a)They did have a computer(laptop) you could use for free (w/wifi) in the lobby. BUt you were at the mercy of the user ahead of you.
2) The outside pool wasn't finished, when it is though it will have a great view!
2a) Indoor pool wasn't that great though. Attendant was helpful though! Go to one of the Bath houses instead!
3) They didn't respond to emails? I had sent them an emel while touring the city (from my BlackBerry) but I never heard back from them? - -
4) One night I stayed in, cuz wasn't feeling well. They had a plethora of channels and in various languages (i think 2 spanish soap opera channels alone) but the only english channels offered were news channels?? - - I ended up watching a favorite show in German and just guessed what was being said. Movie selection wasnt that great.

That's it...

Now for the pluses(+)

1) Was able to take Public Transport (Metro) to hotel from airport, it took 1 hour 15 mins +
1a) Close to two major tram/metro connections (Astoria and Blaha L.) +
2) Paid a little extra to get the Executvie room (6th floor). Way worth it!
Amazing size room and great decor! Bathroom was also outstanding!++
My favofire part was coming back to the hotel after a fun day to a chocoloate on my pillow every night! +++ (I say pay the little extra, from previous reviewers sounds like I made the right choice)
3) Buffet, had a great larget selection, so you could eat as an american or european style. I switched back and forth. +
There was never "a good time to eat" it was always busy but wait staff was super efficient!
4) Front desk was super helpful and attentive+
4b) Great lobby waiting area+
5) I never had a problem with the wifi in my room on the 6th floor. Used my BB connection +

I would definately stay here again, get the executive room! Its beyond worth it.
As to an earlier comment about deception, you have to be kiddin right!!
It's true that I did see there was a taxi out front at all times that had a Zara hotel logo. It means that it was dedicated taxi, which I think is smart of the hotel, even though I always just walked around so I never used it. And instead of being deceptive, try that the hotel were trying to be helpful!!! Not too many people can speak Hungarian and request a taxi on their own... Such a silly comment...

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LePetitPrince-Yaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New London, Connecticut
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 September 2010

I stayed for four nights at Hotel Zara and was very impressed. The staff are very friendly and helpful. The hotel is lovely, very clean and brilliant value for money. Our room looked out onto a courtyard, however there was never any disturbance from this and we both slept really well every night. The hotel is well located in the Pest half of the city, and you can easily walk to the Danube River.

The heated roof top pool was open while we there and it has amazing views of the city, which added a nice touch to our city break.

The taxis booked for us by the hotel were also very good.

Budapest is a fantastic city and I definitely hope to return! I'd highly recommend both this hotel and budapest itself for city break.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank laurarandom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2010

The staff members were very pleasant and friendly.
It was a problem in our room but we were moved to a different room, very efficiently and quickly.
We spent a nice time, relaxing in the spa and with music in the hall.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MeridaSpain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Budapest hotels
Hotel Palazzo Zichy
#4 of 333 in Budapest
4,701 reviews
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Corinthia Hotel Budapest
Corinthia Hotel Budapest
#20 of 333 in Budapest
7,031 reviews
District V / Inner City
Bohem Art Hotel
Bohem Art Hotel
#16 of 333 in Budapest
2,388 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
District V / Inner City
Danubius Hotel Astoria City Center
K+K Hotel Opera
#37 of 333 in Budapest
3,141 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Continental Hotel Budapest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Continental Hotel Budapest

Property: Continental Hotel Budapest
Address: Dohany u. 42 - 44, Budapest 1074, Hungary
Region: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest > District VII / Jewish Quarter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #39 of 333 Hotels in Budapest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Continental Hotel Budapest 4.5*
Number of rooms: 272
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Continental Hotel Budapest 4* Superior symbolizes the past and future, the traditional Hungarian hospitality and refinement of detail and personal service of our age. The building reflects the elements of the art nouveau style and the modern unique design characterizing ZeinaHotels, in the heart of Budapest. The 4 star superior, 272 room hotel - offering standard, deluxe and executive rooms plus suites - will revive the spirit of the legendary accommodation keeping its name and historical facade. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Jet2Holidays , Priceline, Nozio Netplan srl, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Hotel.de, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Continental Hotel Budapest reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing