We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel in very central location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Courtyard Budapest City Center
Ranked #59 of 334 Hotels in Budapest
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
3 reviews
“Great Hotel in very central location”
Reviewed 3 September 2013

We stayed 4 nights and found the accommodation very good. Very spacious and comfortable room and bathroom with excellent walk-in shower. Tea and coffee in room, ironing board etc and excellent service throughout. No wifi in room - had to pay for it - but available in lobby so was ok, really. At only £40/night a real good one!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank paolaw27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Courtyard_Budapest, General Manager at Courtyard Budapest City Center, responded to this review, 17 September 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your generous feedback regarding your recent stay at Courtyard by Marriott Budapest City Center.
I am delighted to read that you enjoyed your guest room and all the equipment we assure you to make your stay as pleasant as possible.

I am deligthed to inform you that we have developed our Wi-Fi Internet system, therefore, is now available in all of our guest rooms.

It is our hope that we can welcome you as our guest in the near future.

Best regards,

Ferenc Horváth
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,073 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    462
    462
    117
    19
    13
See reviews for
151
405
90
213
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (191)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Nyack, New York
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2013

We chose this hotel for value and location for a 2 week stay in Budapest. During a very hot summer, a good air conditioning was crucial, and that worked very well in the room. The staff was friendly and very accommodating. The food at the hotel restaurant was good (our rooms did not come with meals) but very over priced in comparison to food elsewhere, so we only had one breakfast and one dinner there. Both the room and bathroom were well appointed and large, and the rooms were kept clean, except for the rug which was soiled and needed a serious shampooing. Although the location was within walking distance of almost everything, the immediate surrounding neighborhood was somewhat seedy, with people sleeping and living in the little park with a fountain across the street by the entrance to the metro, something that we saw every day from our very large windows. The economy is depressed and it shows. There was daily police presence around the corner, but the police did not interfere with the people living in the park. We felt uncomfortable walking to the metro, which was only a few steps from the hotel. There is a very large, upscale, busy and clean McDonalds across the street which also had a coffee and pastry shop in it which was very convenient.The public transportation was great from this area. A cab to the airport takes about 30 minutes and costs approx $30 at a flat price.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank worldtraveler4346
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Courtyard_Budapest, General Manager at Courtyard Budapest City Center, responded to this review, 26 August 2013
Dear Guest,

Let me thank you for your valuable time taken to share your experience and write such kind words regarding your recent stay at Courtyard by Marriott Budapest City Center.

We are glad that you were satisfied with the room and its facilities, so with the air conditioning. Also I was delighted to read your generous remarks about our staff. We will pass on your appreciation to our team. I am more than happy that our central location and the public transportation was a pleasure for you.

Hopefully, there will be another opportunity to welcome you as an in-house guest when your travels bring you back to Budapest.

Best regards,

Ferenc Horváth
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canada, Kentucky
Level 6 Contributor
308 reviews
201 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 230 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2013

We stayed one night each at the front and back end of a longer visit to Hongary and Slovakia. The value for money is excellent, and the rooms are clean, silent, and spacious.

Linens and towels and toiletries are a cut below the North American standard for the Courtyard brand, and I prefer the North American bed comfort to the European one (since I'm North American, I must be used to it more). But overall, this accommodation was a great place for a short stay in the centre of Budapest. Very convenient to Keleti train station, where I was going.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Human44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Courtyard_Budapest, General Manager at Courtyard Budapest City Center, responded to this review, 21 August 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience regarding your recent stay at Courtyard by Marriott Budapest City Center. We are more than happy that you were satisfied with our rooms and with the location of the hotel. We are glad that you recommend us to the travelling community.

I look forward to welcoming you back when your travels bring you back to Budapest.

My very best,

Ferenc Horváth
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Pole, Alaska
Level 6 Contributor
98 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2013

Decent hotel. Rooms are clean and well appointed. Had a Superior Room on a higher floor and the balcony is really nice. Great to sit out in the evening and relax.

Front desk staff are very nice, and there's free wifi in the lobby.

Was disappointed with the buffet breakfast though. The small restaurant fills up quickly and there's not much of a selection of food for the price they charge. The cook only knows how to make 2 types of eggs... don't ask for 'over-easy', you have two choices - scrambled or sunny side up. Most of the other food is of low quality unfortunately, and every day its the exact same.

However, the hotel itself is nice and in a great location. Easy to walk into the city center, or to Buda Castle... or just about anywhere from here. Lots of really good small eateries nearby as well, so you don't have to eat at the hotel.

Overall I like it. Decent hotel, I'd rate it 3.5 stars. Good location, good service, and rooms are nice.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CaptainFancyPants
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Courtyard_Budapest, General Manager at Courtyard Budapest City Center, responded to this review, 21 August 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your valuable review you left here on TripAdvisor. I am more than happy that you liked the Superior room and enjoyed the balcony. Please be assured that I will pass on your appreciation to our staff. I am although sorry that you were disappointed with the breakfast served.
It seems of your review that you had the chance to discover both side of the city. I am glad that our location was convenient for you.
It is our goal to achieve excellence in our daily work and no one better than our guests can indicate us how to improve day after day.

I truly hope we will have the pleasure of seeing you back soon.

Best regards,

Ferenc Horváth
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancashire
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2013

We paid £42 or HUF1400 per night for a double room, and stayed for a week. Budapest is great value for accommodation, but even so this is a good price for what is an upper mid-range hotel.

The rooms are superb: modern, comfortable, very large, high ceilings, very well equipped. A typical business hotel, but of a nicer standard than many which claim to be 4*. Location is good, just outside the city center, with nearby transport links and lots of restaurants/shops. Service is polite and efficient (but see below). If you can get near the price we paid (not available through Marriott website- comparison sites) then this is an excellent value hotel.

A couple of issues to consider, depending on what you look for:
1. No free in room WiFi (seriously- in a 4* hotel?), and the free WiFi in the lobby didn't work all the time. Everywhere else in Budapest seems to have free WiFi, so its not really an issue.
2. Don't expect luxury hotel service. We asked for extra coffee and sugar to supplement the miserly supply and were told to buy some. There is no room service or minibar, instead there is a little kiosk (laughably called a market) in reception.

Room Tip: Don't use the hotel taxi service- about 20% above standard. City taxis 2111 111 was good value.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mattfromlancs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Courtyard_Budapest, General Manager at Courtyard Budapest City Center, responded to this review, 16 August 2013
Dear Guest,

We greatly appreciate your positive review of Courtyard by Marriott Budapest City Center and your nice experience with our rooms and the hotel location.

Thank you for your comments about the WiFi. We have made steps to investigate the reason of non-availability of the lobby connection.

Please accept our sincere apologize regarding the extra coffee and sugar which is certainly a complimentary service.

We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back soon to our hotel.

Best regards,

Ferenc Horváth
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane
Level 6 Contributor
122 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2013

This is a fantastic hotel. The rooms are lovely, the location is great and it is very reasonably priced. What made it particularly noteworthy was the service. The staff at the front desk were extremely helpful and went to great lengths to ensure we had a wonderful stay. They even helped us book last minute Sziget festival tickets. Victoria at the bar was an absolute delight. She makes a great drink, put up with our never ending questions about Budapest and even took the time to teach us a few local words. This establishment had everything I look for in hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank momo11Brisbane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Courtyard_Budapest, General Manager at Courtyard Budapest City Center, responded to this review, 14 August 2013
Dear Guest,

Let me thank you for choosing Courtyard by Marriott Budapest City Center and sharing your wonderful experience with us and also with the travelling community. What a fantastic review!

It is always a pleasure to read when a guest leaves the hotel satisfied and with good memories. Special thanks for acknowledging the helpfulness of our staff. We will pass on your appreciation to our team, especially to Victoria at the bar.

Your positive and encouraging words motivate us to continue working with joy and enthusiasms. We hope you had a nice journey back home, and we cannot wait to may welcome you back among us to thank you personally for your pleasant review.

Best regards,

Ferenc Horváth
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level 6 Contributor
69 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2013

Great location for getting around Budapest. Across from a tram stop and subway station, you can get around Budapest fairly easily by public transportation or by walking. The hotel is new, clean, modern. A courtyard facing room will not look into a garden or green space, but rather onto the roof of the shopping mall under part of the hotel. Those rooms seem to be larger than those facing the street. Rooms facing the street have walls of glass making the room feel bigger than it actually is, and the views can be nice. Comfortable bed and bedding, plus nice bath with tub and shower combo. Breakfast buffet is served in a small restaurant off the lobby. The hot food was always hot, the cold food cold. They seem to have got the breakfast buffet down. I was told there was free internet and computer in the lobby, but when I asked I was told there would be a charge. I thought it was too high of a charge and skipped checking emails. Overall I liked this hotel and its location. Besides the mall under the hotel, there was a grocery store around the corner, and oh yes, a McDonalds across the street.

Room Tip: Room 327 faced out and had a nice view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Courtyard_Budapest, General Manager at Courtyard Budapest City Center, responded to this review, 13 August 2013
Dear Guest,


Thank you for sharing your feedback here on TripAdvisor. It was a pleasure reading about your experience at Courtyard by Marriott Budapest City Center.
We are delighted that you liked the central location of the hotel from where you can simply reach any sights of the city. I am also glad that you liked our hotels trendy style and that you also found it clean.

It would be a pleasure to welcome you back among our guests in the near future.

Kind regards,

Ferenc Horváth
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Budapest hotels
District V / Inner City
Millennium Court, Budapest - Marriott Executive Apartments
District V / Inner City
Budapest Marriott Hotel
Budapest Marriott Hotel
#32 of 334 in Budapest
2,924 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Continental Hotel Budapest
Continental Hotel Budapest
#40 of 334 in Budapest
4,284 reviews
Novotel Budapest Centrum
#79 of 334 in Budapest
1,756 reviews
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Ibis Budapest City
Ibis Budapest City
#50 of 334 in Budapest
949 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Budapest City Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Budapest City Center

Property: Courtyard Budapest City Center
Address: Jozsef korut 5., Budapest 1088, Hungary
Region: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#33 Business Hotel in Budapest
#45 Luxury Hotel in Budapest
#51 Family Hotel in Budapest
#52 Romantic Hotel in Budapest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Courtyard Budapest City Center 4*
Number of rooms: 235
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Guests of the Courtyard Budapest City Center enjoy a convenient location in the centre of the city, on Blaha Lujza Square with its metro, bus and tram stops. Each room in the Courtyard Budapest City Centre offers high-speed wired and wireless internet access, a well-lit work desk and an ergonomic chair. Tea and coffee making facilities can be found in every room as well. The Oléo Pazzo Mediterranean bistro, awaits you for breakfast, lunch and dinner. When you are in a hurry, you can visit the Grab 'n' Go Shop for a snack, open 24 hours a day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Marriott, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Courtyard Budapest City Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard Budapest City Hotel Budapest

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing