We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice hotel with central location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Courtyard Budapest City Center
Ranked #59 of 334 Hotels in Budapest
Certificate of Excellence
Columbia, MD
Level 6 Contributor
150 reviews
130 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 339 helpful votes
“Very nice hotel with central location”
Reviewed 4 October 2013

We stayed three nights at the Marriott Courtyard as part of a Grand Circle Travel Danube river cruise tour. The hotel is in a renovated building with excellent acess to streetcar lines, and also within walking distance of local attractions. The hotel has a very attractive interior. The staff were very helpful. Free wi-fi is available in the lobby. Our room was very comfortable, clean and quiet. We had one dinner and several buffet breakfasts in the hotel restaurant. The food was very good, and the waiters very attentive. Several restaurants are located nearby, and a small shopping mall is located next door. We enjoyed our stay!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ColumbiaTrekkers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Courtyard_Budapest, General Manager at Courtyard Budapest City Center, responded to this review, 14 October 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your positive words. It was nice reading that you loved the location, the guest room, even our restaurant and the food we served. We will pass your kind feedback to our staff, they will be happy that their work has been appreciated.

It is our goal to make our guests stay as pleasant as possible and we can see this from your feedback.

We would be delighted to accommodate you in the near future.

Kind regards,

Ferenc Horváth
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,073 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    462
    462
    117
    19
    13
See reviews for
151
405
90
213
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (191)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Rapid City, South Dakota
Level 6 Contributor
343 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2013

Stayed at this motel with grand circle tour for 3 nights. Budapest really does not have an Old Town district so most of the time was spent with bus tours or out of the city tour. Strongly recommend taking a boat ride on the Danube after dark.

Rooms were clean but the air condition was turned off for the rooms and was uncomfortably warm. We had a street side room so was very noisy especially if the window was opened.

Small lobby and with the numerous tour groups coming and going it was very crowded.

Room Tip: Ask for a court yard facing room as it will be less noisy and the view is nothing anyway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank somanyfoods
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Courtyard_Budapest, General Manager at Courtyard Budapest City Center, responded to this review, 14 October 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your valuable feedback. It is nice to read that you had a great time in Budapest. An evening boat ride on the Danube is the perfect choice to explore the famous sights of our beautiful city.
We regret to hear about the temperature of the room and about the noise when window was opened. We apologize for the inconvenience. Next time we are more than happy to provide you a room facing our courtyard side.
Thank you once more for your remarks. Hopefully there will be another opportunity to welcome you as an in-house guest.
Best wishes,
Ferenc Horváth
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hervey Bay, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
233 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 September 2013 via mobile

Rooms spacious and light filled, ours had a view of Blaha square. Early check in was permitted thank heavens! Polite friendly staff and free wifi in the courtyard. Location excellent close to trams and metro. Next door to a shopping centre, albeit a small one, but it has everything a traveller may need. Restaurants, cafés, ATM and money change very close. Great vibe in the hotel and the I house restaurant Oleo Pazzo has the most AMAZING chef!!!!! We had dinner first evening and decided to return for each meal...exquisite flavour combinations.
I liked the idea of the downstairs market instead of mini bar because we could choose what we wanted and either pay straight away or add to room charge. Great value!!! would stay again! even though in room internet is very expensive

Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Twomarys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Courtyard_Budapest, General Manager at Courtyard Budapest City Center, responded to this review, 3 October 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your generous feedback regarding your recent stay at Courtyard by Marriott Budapest City Center.
It is nice to read that you were pleased with the location, the room, even with the shopping center next to the hotel. The staff - indeed the chef - will be delighted when I forward them your appreciation. We are glad that you were totally happy during your stay with us.

It would be a pleasure to welcome you back among our guests in the near future.

Kind regards,

Ferenc Horváth
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tirgu Mures, Romania
Level 6 Contributor
109 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 September 2013

I was there for three nights.
Overall ait was a good experience: good placement of the hotel in a large market with lots of restaurant around the hotel. Nice room and very clean.
What was strange that you'll not have any product in the minibar. The system is that they have a minimarket near the reception and you can take from there, but ..the minibar is empty...I don't understand for which reason they need the credit card for guarantie.
The staff is a combination of standard services and "lost of time": even they are smiling sometimes at the reception I didn't receive the amount of my bill to check the value before closing, I had problems with the parking (there is a big parking underground, but I stayed more then 30 minutes in the garage because the tickets didn't work. At the final the problem was solved). The waiters in the lobby and bar were very slowly, like the snails (they asked us for order about 20 minutes after we arrived in the bar area even there it were only few people).
Overall: placement, rooms, cleaning positive, but staff and breakfast (in term of diversity) could be improve.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Xdmat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Courtyard_Budapest, General Manager at Courtyard Budapest City Center, responded to this review, 3 October 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience regarding your recent stay at Courtyard by Marriott Budapest City Center.
We are glad that you were satisfied with the location of the hotel, also with the guest room. As being a Courtyard hotel we offer in all our rooms – as a brand special - a minibar-sized fridge where any items - purchased in our 24-hour Grab ‘N’ Go shop or purchased outside the hotel - can be stored. Thank you for your remarks about the service in the restaurant.
It is our goal to achieve excellence in our daily work and no one better than our guests can indicate us how to improve day after day.

I truly hope we will have the pleasure of seeing you back soon.

Best regards,

Ferenc Horváth
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Budapest
Level 6 Contributor
171 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2013

I have stayed several times in Hotel Courtyard Marriott with groups and if one is comfortable with using the public transportation (n. 4 or 6 trams, red subway) it's very easy to get almost anywhere in Budapest in no time.
A great, calm, comfortable stay in a 4 star hotel with excellent staff.

Thank you!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Drazsika
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Courtyard_Budapest, General Manager at Courtyard Budapest City Center, responded to this review, 3 October 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your very kind feedback and emphasizing words. It was delightful to read that you were happy with the hotels location and our staff. We are pleased that you left with great memories.

I look forward to welcoming you back as an in-house guest in the future.

Best wishes,

Ferenc Horváth
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 September 2013

I stayed here a less than a week ago. Overall, I was quite pleased. I arrived in Budapest via train. If you knew exactly where you were going it would take about 10-15 minutes to walk to this hotel if you had a suitcase with you. Unfortunately there is massive construction going on outside the train station and as I had never been to Budapest before, it took me about 20 minutes to find it. Had I been more prepared it would have been quicker. Once there, check in was easy and the woman was very pleasant. The room was nice, the bed was comfortable and everything was up to the Marriott standard that I would expect. There was a fee for the internet (which I can't stand) but it seems like that is more common than it ought to be with the Marriott chain still. I would recommend this hotel to my friends if the location suits you.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rthibod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Courtyard_Budapest, General Manager at Courtyard Budapest City Center, responded to this review, 24 September 2013
Dear Guest,

Let me thank you for choosing Courtyard by Marriott Budapest City Center and sharing your experience with us also with the travelling community.
It was nice to read that you were pleased with our team, and that you liked your room and its equipment. I am glad that all your expectations from a Marriott brand were met.

Hopefully, there will be another opportunity to welcome you as an in-house guest when your travels bring you back to Budapest.

My very best,

Ferenc Horváth
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 September 2013

I spent 7 days at the courtyard ,.I would stay there again without a doubt. The hotel is very good in location. 1 block from the shops and restaurant ,.central and close to the subway.safe walking around at night.
The staff were always willing to help with any enquiries that we had, They were all very friendly,

you will get a 5 star services Hotel Room if you stay @ this Hotel. The breakfast buffet is OK , Good selection for breakfast .The rooms were clean, appointed very nicely, a large bathroom with open shower, strong air conditioning . . Room service was good.
The overall hotel and the service was very impressive. courtyard !!! It was an amazing experience....thanks to all the staff

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank oscaruk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Courtyard_Budapest, General Manager at Courtyard Budapest City Center, responded to this review, 24 September 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time and leaving us your very kind feedback. I was delighted to read your generous remarks on the location of our hotel, on the cleanliness and size of our rooms also on the breakfast we served. I was happy to read that the staff was helpful, they will be thrilled when I forward your appreciation to them. Our goal is to provide service that our guests can entirely enjoy and make their stay as pleasant as possible.

Thank you once more for your motivating words, I hope we can welcome you back in the near future.

Best regards,

Ferenc Horváth
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Budapest hotels
District V / Inner City
Millennium Court, Budapest - Marriott Executive Apartments
District V / Inner City
Budapest Marriott Hotel
Budapest Marriott Hotel
#32 of 334 in Budapest
2,924 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Continental Hotel Budapest
Continental Hotel Budapest
#40 of 334 in Budapest
4,284 reviews
Novotel Budapest Centrum
#79 of 334 in Budapest
1,756 reviews
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Ibis Budapest City
Ibis Budapest City
#50 of 334 in Budapest
949 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Budapest City Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Budapest City Center

Property: Courtyard Budapest City Center
Address: Jozsef korut 5., Budapest 1088, Hungary
Region: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#33 Business Hotel in Budapest
#45 Luxury Hotel in Budapest
#51 Family Hotel in Budapest
#52 Romantic Hotel in Budapest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Courtyard Budapest City Center 4*
Number of rooms: 235
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Guests of the Courtyard Budapest City Center enjoy a convenient location in the centre of the city, on Blaha Lujza Square with its metro, bus and tram stops. Each room in the Courtyard Budapest City Centre offers high-speed wired and wireless internet access, a well-lit work desk and an ergonomic chair. Tea and coffee making facilities can be found in every room as well. The Oléo Pazzo Mediterranean bistro, awaits you for breakfast, lunch and dinner. When you are in a hurry, you can visit the Grab 'n' Go Shop for a snack, open 24 hours a day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Marriott, Expedia, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Courtyard Budapest City Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard Budapest City Hotel Budapest

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing