We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A real sleeper”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Budapest GuestRooms
Ranked #10 of 183 Budapest B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Fort Myers, Florida
Level Contributor
94 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“A real sleeper”
Reviewed 14 June 2013

Never judge a book by it's cover. Like many European properties, while the exterior may leave a bit to be desired, the interior space owned by Judit Somogyl will impress you. Very tastefully decorated in a contemporary theme, spotless and comfortable. We found Judit to be a great host and very helpful in planning our tour of the city. Breakfast was plentiful and we hated to leave but would gladly recommend this little jewel to anyone wanting to visit Budapest.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ted61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

152 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    121
    26
    3
    2
    0
See reviews for
21
67
16
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2013

It was a pleasant stay at the Budapest Guestrooms.

I was, as promised, picked up from the airport. On the way to the GuestRooms, Judit's husband explained some sights from the city. Upon arrival, I was filled with insider tips from Judit.( i.e.what to see, where to eat in Budapest etc.). She is definitely one of the best concierge I've ever come across!

The BudapestGuestroom's location is absolutely top. I had 4 different tram lines (4&6, nearer to the GuestRooms; 47&49, a bit further away near to the Hungarian National Museum) to choose from. The public transport system in Budapest is excellent, make sure you keep a city map and the transport network map handy.

I had a very spacious room with lots of storage. The room is simple and tidy. Don't expect more than that! There is even a small bistro fridge in the room for guests to use.

P.s. Guests can purchase/book most of tickets in the GuestRooms.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pequenjo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kiev, Ukraine
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2013

Very nice, clean, fresh-renovated, comfortable appartments in the heart of Budapest! The 100-years-old building is amazing!
We lived in suit #1 (windows to courtyard) - big double bed, conditioner, refrigator, TV, desk, relax area (with coffee table and sofa), seperated shower and toilet with liquid soap. Mineral water, tea, coffe for free and welcome champagne :)
I was really impresse with it's cleaness and tastefulness of furnishings.
The breakfest was also very good.
And special thanks for manager Judit! She is really nice, hospitable and very helpful! She told us really helpful hints about staying in beautiful Budapest.
Thank you, Judit, from Andriy & Nataliya, Kiev :)

Room Tip: Tha appartments are situated on a calm street, so as for me there is no difference what room to choo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Natalka_from_Kiev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2013

If you're in Budapest, this is the place to stay! Judit is such a kind and knowledgeable host. The rooms are clean, modern, comfortable, and big. We stayed in the "orange" room and it had two twin beds (easily pushed together to make a double), a sitting area with couch, chairs, and table, an office desk, a closet, and a nice sized bathroom. Everything was perfect!

We booked airport transfer through Judit, too, and her husband, Istvan, kindly picked us up despite our flight being delayed until 2200. Very accommodating and friendly, they are!

The only surprise was we thought breakfast was included (as it says on Trip Advisor) and we were charged 4 euro per person per day at check out. We didn't order any extras like eggs just took what was on the table...which was quite a selection...but we didn't mind as the breakfast was good and convenient.

I'll stay here again when in Budapest!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank angfern
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BudapestGuestRooms, Manager at Budapest GuestRooms, responded to this review, 29 March 2013
Thanks a lot for your review. We are trying to be better and better every day that is why we always change something we would like to give great value to our guests. Breakfast is optional and as you booked us at a third party booking system not directly at our homepage their price is not included in breakfast, please check out your reservation voucher it is clearly show it.
Thanks a lot again staying with us and see you next time..
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Munich, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2013

We actually had planned a 3 days’ trip to Budapest in March, which we thought is the beginning of spring. The reality was a bit different. Winter had returned, there was a blizzard and the day time temperatures went below the freezing point.

The more we were happy about the warm welcome in Judith’s guest house. The way from Keleti train station, where we arrived, to the guest house was easy to find thanks to the helpful trip advices we received via email prior to the trip. Judith provided us with a lot of tips about the points of interest and also the more hidden places.

The rooms are equipped with everything you need as a sightseeing tourist. Every room has its own bath room. We slept very well in the comfortable beds. There is free wifi, so that you can check your emails or retrieve infos about the city. All rooms are very clean.

Judith’s guest rooms are located in the centre of Pest in a quiet street. You actually can walk to most of the famous places. However, the public transportation system brings you to all areas of Budapest much faster. Metro and tram stations are nearby.

We liked the discussions with Judith who gave us some insight views into the Hungarian life. As Judith and her husband like trips to cities abroad they know what the needs of sightseeing tourists are. This is what you feel when you are a guest in Judith’s guest rooms.

We felt absolutely comfortable in Judith’s guest rooms and we are sure to stay there again during our next Budapest trip.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Burkhard P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bratislava, Slovakia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2013

Stayed here for 2 nights in February 2013. We were looking for a small and homely hotel close to the city centre and this choice absolutely met our expectations. The rooms are nice, clean, cozy and well-equipped, and Judit, the owner couldn't be more friendly and helpful. We really appreciated her advice, tips, and the breakfast she prepared for us was pretty tasty. We would recommend this place to anyone who wants to try something different from ordinary hotel chains.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank szpetra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sliema, Malta
1 review
Reviewed 1 December 2012

Stayed 3 nights, the staff especially Judith is very helpful, our room was absolutely clean with absolutely comfortable beds, offering free wi-fi and smart tv internet connection too. In the neighboring street found many restaurants and cafes my favorite was called Brody, a real local one. If again Budapest sure to book again here.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bernard L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Budapest hotels
Hotel Palazzo Zichy
#4 of 333 in Budapest
5.0 of 5 bubbles 4,642 reviews
District VII / Jewish Quarter
ROOMbach Hotel Budapest Center
District V / Inner City
Budapest Panorama Central
Budapest Panorama Central
#90 of 333 in Budapest
4.5 of 5 bubbles 442 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Terézváros
easyHotel Budapest Oktogon
easyHotel Budapest Oktogon
#124 of 333 in Budapest
4.0 of 5 bubbles 659 reviews
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Mango Aparthotel and Spa
Mango Aparthotel and Spa
#7 of 183 in Budapest
4.5 of 5 bubbles 718 reviews
Kapital Inn
#1 of 183 in Budapest
5.0 of 5 bubbles 641 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Budapest GuestRooms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Budapest GuestRooms

Property: Budapest GuestRooms
Address: Kofarago utca 7. | Palace District, Budapest 1085, Hungary
Phone Number:
Region: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 183 B&Bs / Inns in Budapest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Budapest GuestRooms 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Budapest GuestRooms is a family owned, charming, crystal clean, recently refurbished B&B and SUITES with KITCHENETTE in old classical buildings IN THE CITY CENTRE. We offer a perfect solution if you are looking for a convenient and affordable central accommodation in Budapest. We are pleased to feed you with local information, recommend you what is going on in the city and help you to make programs. Our peaceful B&B is located in Kofarago street near to National Museum, Dohany street Synagogue, the famous New York cafe, lively pubs, restaurants etc. Our elegant SUITES with KITCHENETTE are in Erkel street TOP FLOOR near to the river the famous Central Market, Vaci shopping & Raday restaurant streets, Gellert thermal spa etc. Breakfast is optional. We offer FREE WIFI, kettle, coffee, tea, fridge and AIR-CONDITION in each room. You can conveniently reach everything on foot in the center, and public transport is also excellent from us. Our accommodations are in reduced traffic streets, the rooms are QUIET. We have transfer service. There are car parks close to us (about EUR 10/ day). STAY WITH US to feel like home, just BOOK any of our accommodation DIRECTLY at OUR WEBPAGE or via MAIL and you will get real value for your money. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Hotel.de so you can book your Budapest GuestRooms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing