We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice room. Nice location.”
Review of Cosmo City Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Cosmo City Hotel
Ranked #50 of 336 Hotels in Budapest
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 July 2013

On arriving at the hotel from the airport, 40 minutes, I was quite surprised at the little entrance to the hotel.
It is situated down the side street and up a few stairs. The reception staff were helpful when prompted.
Hotel room was on the 4th floor. This is where things got better.
The room had great air conditioning which was welcoming as it was at least 30 degrees outside!
Loved the room and the bathroom was ok too.
View not great as it was on the side street. I would recommend going for a view on the main street. Vaci.
The location was great. In amongst all the restaurants and shops. Vaci Square is a ten min walk from the hotel.
We took the tour bus which was the normal stuff.
If you are thinking of getting a boat ride, don't bother going to dock 11 to catch your boat in the evening. This was thrown in with th bus tour. Very busy and you will struggle to find a seat. Best bet is to get a vintage Limo for a 2 hour trip 15000 HUF for two people (can fit six). a day trip and an evening trip to see the sun go down over Pest from Buda.

Breakfast was not great at the hotel, sorry to stay.

Would I stay thee again?
The room says yes if it had the Vaci street view. Go for room only and get a breakfast over the road.

Room Tip: Try to get a room looking over Vaci sq. By the way, the Danube is a 1 minute walk away.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Interlaken1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Borbala_Soos, Guest Relations Manager at Cosmo City Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2013

Dear Interlaken1,

Thank you for taking time to share your thoughts. Your opinion is really important for us, and it helps us to highlight how to improve our service. I am very sorry to read that the breakfast did not meet your expectaions.

Besides I am glad to hear that you were satisfied with the personal service, the hotel room facilities and the location of the hotel as well.

We hope to see you again in the future and wish you the very best.

Warm regards from Budapest,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (813)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

305 - 311 of 813 reviews

Reviewed 25 July 2013

Cosmo Hotel is on Vaci utca St. which is full of restaurants and shops. The location of the hotel is very silent. Tuna river is few steps away. You can easily reach main attractions by walk,tram or bus.
The room i stayed is a bit small but very comfortable.

Totally recommended.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 1way2another
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Borbala_Soos, Guest Relations Manager at Cosmo City Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2013

Dear Murat,

Thank you so much for visiting us at Cosmo City Hotel and for highlighting the outstanding location of the hotel.
We appreciate your kind remark.

We are looking forward to welcome you back in the heart of Budapest.

Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2013

The hotel has small clean rooms.the breakfast was surprisingly plentiful.the location was excellent right next to the market hall.we walked to everything. We did not take a guided tour which was probably a mistake since nothing was explained in English.

Room Tip: It's a very convenient and comfortable small hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank janet2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cosmo_Fashion_Hotel, Guest Relations Manager at Cosmo City Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2013

Dear Janet,

Many thanks for your kind comments regarding to the great location, the breakfast, the room and the staff. It is really great to hear that our hotel came up to your expectations!

We would be glad to host you again with our frendly hotel staff in the near future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2013

We are stay on this hotel one night. Room small but clear and new.
Lift its too small and like a sauna!!! No ventilation!
Breakfast too bad! Faraway from 4**** stars hotel!!!
All hotel not 4 stars! Maximum 3 stars!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 884,888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2013

We stayed for four nights from 17 June to 21 June 2013. The staff were very helpful and welcoming and our room was very nice.

It was particularly hot whilst we were in Budapest ( in the mid 30s all week) and the air conditioning in our room was most welcome. Unfortunately most of the remainder of the hotel was not air conditioned and so it was rather uncomfortable whilst in the corridors and lift.

The breakfast was better than I had anticipated based on reviews I had read and whilst basic was good.

This hotel is ideally situated especially for first time visitors to Budapest and very close to the main attractions on the Pest side.The welcome pack was a nice touch and there was always someone available to help you out if you needed information or advice.

I would recommend this hotel as it was clean and comfortable and suited our needs very well.

Room Tip: We had room 402 on the fourth floor which overlooked the side street leading to the river. This was...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stepton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2013

We selected this hotel based on some of the Tripadvisor reviews and the pictures on the hotel website. In this case the following applies: what you see is what you get. The reception is situated in a narrow corridor with the lift at the end and the doorway to cafe to the right.
I was greeted by a cheerful and helpful man that told me all I neede to know about the check in procedure and breakfast. A welcome package was prepared and contained all we required at that time. As we had booked a parking space he kindly went over the procedure. You pick up the key at a nearby hotel Belvedere and leave a deposit of 20 Euro at the frontdesk of the Cosmo hotel. I went over to the Belvedere hotel (just arount the corner) who showed me how to get to the parking space. Perfect (locked and guarded) at about 50 meters away.
The only drawback with getting your luggage upstairs, could be a steep ramp form street level to the elevator level at the receprion desk (1st floor). I have a weird sense of humor, so by the time I had dragged my bag up the ramp, I was laughing like crazy. Never seen something like it.... pretty steep, but "do-able".
The room we had was one that will suit someon in a wheelchair which meant that it was a little bit biger than the other rooms. The only drawback is that the shower is equipped with a shower curtain that doesn't quite reach the floor, so don't put anything near the showercurtain as it will get wet. The sink is also speacially suited for wheelchairs, which mad it awkwardly large. Our rooom happened to be on the pedestrian zone part of the hotel. This means you'll have a lot of light in the room coming from the street (which for us was no issue). On the other hand it means that you're right above the cafe which will cause some extra noise (from people and from when they tie all the furniture up for the night), as will the garbage trucks, coming in to collect garbage early morning. Other than that the room was good and the beds were ok. We slept well :-)

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LiWo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2013

This is a great wee hotel in a fabulous location close to the Danube, the Market Hall and one of the main shopping streets in Budapest. It's about 10 minutes walk to a Metro line. The breakfast provided is adequate with a couple of hot choices, breads and toast plus a continental range. The rooms in the hotel are bright and welcoming and the staff are very welcoming and helpful. The restaurant in the ground floor of the hotel is good.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MichelleNZ C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Budapest hotels
District V / Inner City
Estilo Fashion Hotel
Estilo Fashion Hotel
#52 of 336 in Budapest
1,201 reviews
District V / Inner City
The Three Corners Hotel Art
The Three Corners Hotel Art
#47 of 336 in Budapest
759 reviews
12 Revay Hotel
#35 of 336 in Budapest
365 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
District V / Inner City
Promenade City Hotel
Promenade City Hotel
#74 of 336 in Budapest
899 reviews
District V / Inner City
Bohem Art Hotel
Bohem Art Hotel
#15 of 336 in Budapest
2,512 reviews
District VII / Jewish Quarter
ROOMbach Hotel Budapest Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cosmo City Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cosmo City Hotel

Address: Vaci utca 77 | (entrance is on corner of Havas utca and Vaci utca), Budapest 1056, Hungary (Formerly Cosmo Fashion Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest > District V / Inner City
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #50 of 336 Hotels in Budapest
Price Range: £40 - £109 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Cosmo City Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This boutique hotel with unique modern design is situated right on the famous pedestrian Vaci Street, just 400m from the Great Market Hall and the National Museum. The chic Cosmo City Hotel features 36 comfortable and well-equipped rooms, ideal for both business and leisure travellers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, LateRooms, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon, Ebookers, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Cosmo City Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing