We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Honeymooners”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Danubius Grand Hotel Margitsziget
Ranked #68 of 334 Hotels in Budapest
Certificate of Excellence
Brighton, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Honeymooners”
Reviewed 12 September 2012

My wife and I spent 1 week in this hotel for our honeymoon. We got a very good deal on it. The best thing about it is that you get free access, via an underground corridor, to the fantastic spa facilities at the sister hotel next door.

The hotel is on Margaret island, which is a beautiful large park in the middle of the Danube. Very tranquil. The only issue with this is that's it's outside the city centre. It's a 20 minute walk away or there is a frequent bus. The downside is that there are no cheap eats to be had or shops on the island, and the hotel restaurant is expensive compared to the rest of Budapest as they've got you locked in.

The lobby and reception of the hotel are very nice but the rooms are a bit dated. That being said though, they are fairly big and we had a balcony. Bathrooms could do with expanding as they're a bit pokey too.

All in all pretty happy with it. We paid around £400 for 7 nights including tax etc via booking.com which was around half price. Would not pay full whack for it. If you like peace and quiet and are planning on using the spa it's a great spot. If you want to be in the middle of the action, it's too far out.. Worked really well for our relaxing romantic honeymoon though.

Room Tip: Rooms on the 2ndfloor at the back have a large balcony overlooking the park. we were in room 266
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jay C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SzlGabor, Manager at Danubius Grand Hotel Margitsziget, responded to this review, 14 September 2012
Dear Young Couple,
We hope you had a safe trip back home and first of all we would like to thank you for having chosen the Danubius Grand Hotel Margitsziget for your honeymoon.
We are pleased that you had a memorable stay with us and you found the location idyllic and unique and you liked the spa at the neighbouring hotel superb and could enjoy our facilities.
Thank you very much for your positive comments and hope we can welcome you back next time too.
kind regards,
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,392 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    528
    561
    212
    63
    28
See reviews for
348
568
90
160
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Hjorring, Denmark
Level 6 Contributor
90 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2012

I stayed for two days in this hotel knowing that I will be getting a 4-star service and comfort but I didn't.

Positive: The hotel is located in the Margaret Island which is one of the best areas in Budapest. The exterior of the hotel was kinda imposing (in some angles). The free use of spa services at the neighboring spa resort was really good. The staff were friendly and helpful except for one old guy I met at the entrance when I went home quite late on my first night. I smiled but I received not even a smirk from him.

Negative: The interior is really beautiful at first look but when you notice the details you will really see that the hotel is not well-maintained. The towels smelled off also. Given that this is a 4-star hotel, the net service was very very poor. The breakfast was also a disappointment. The card key was not functioning several times.

Stayed July 2012, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank CarloLazado
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SzlGabor, Manager at Danubius Grand Hotel Margitsziget, responded to this review, 10 August 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

We would like to thank you very much for posting a positive review on our Hotel.
We are very happy that you were satisfied with the location of the hotel and you mentioned it as the best area of Budapest. It is a pleasure for us that you could enjoy our spa and wellness facilities, and that you found almost the whole staff friendly.
Thank you for your useful comments on the service, breakfast and towels.
There is a continuous effort to improve our services. We do very much hope you will find the time to return back to our hotel and that we can regain your confidence.
Best regards
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2012 via mobile

We spent a week in the hotel. The facilities are great for a relaxing stay with kids. The spa and fitness facilities are good, and the pools are not as overcrowded as the public baths are. With bus 26 you can reach the city center in Pest in 15-20 minutes. On the negative side, the staff was not aware of the contents of the special 40 year jubilee package we booked, and we had to spend some time sorting this out. The cleaning standards were not exactly impeccable! The room smelled dusty. Shampoo and soap was not replenished on a daily basis. Neither were complimentary instant coffee and tea bags. Apart from these small disappointments, we enjoyed our stay. Budapest is a lovely city to which we will definitely return.

Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank Bo E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SzlGabor, Manager at Danubius Grand Hotel Margitsziget, responded to this review, 21 August 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

We would like to thank you very much for posting a positive review on our Hotel.
We are very happy that you found our facilities great and you were satisfied with the location of the hotel.
We do very much hope you will find the time to return back to our hotel why not before Christmas, when you can get to know our city in this lovely season as well.
Best regards
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2012

Shockingly bad service for a four star hotel. Beds unmade every day, electronic key failed repeatedly, beverages unreplenished, breakfast substandard, food and drink grossly overpriced, evening meal expensive and bland. After coming to Budapest I certainly won't be coming back. Dirty, miserable and mostly focused on scamming visitors at the main tourist sites, visit this city at your own risk.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cuamhain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SzlGabor, Manager at Danubius Grand Hotel Margitsziget, responded to this review, 10 August 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

First of all we would like to thank you for having chosen the Danubius Grand Hotel Margitsziget for your stay. We are very sorry to learn from your comment that not every service were up to your expectations. There is a continuous effort to improve our services. We do very much hope you will find the time to return back to our hotel and that we can regain your confidence when you can learn our country from its better side.
Best regards,
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Israel
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2012

If you look for a quite hotel away from the city center where you can relax, enjoy the Spa, and stay in a magnificent park - you may consider this hotel.
Lower your expectations! The rooms are large, very clean, comfortable and well lighted. The hotel is old and has an aura of the fifties. Breakfast is below average and the public areas are a bit shabby. The spa is very clean and operates from 6:30 until 21:30.
Getting in and out from the Island is tricky. I highly recommend a car if plan on visiting around.

Room Tip: Second floor!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JKRIsrael
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SzlGabor, Manager at Danubius Grand Hotel Margitsziget, responded to this review, 18 July 2012
Dear Valued Guest,
We are pleased that you have chosen to stay in our Danubius Grnad Hotel in the magnificent park, as you mentioned. We thank you for your comments, like "the rooms are large, very clean, comfortable and well lighted".
I completely agree with you when you recommend a car arriving to us with, because we have a huge parking area for our guests which stay free for your disposal. Although there is an easy traffic solution to the city centre, the bus Nr. 26 takes you in 10 minutes to the shopping area and historical sights in which Budapest is very rich.
Looking forward to hearing soon from you, I wish you all the best and remain
with best regards

Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2012

Would rate about 3.5 in general. Stayed for a week at the end of June

GOOD
Hotel staff were friendly and helpful
Nice big rooms with balcony
Air con worked well - emailed ahead to request as noted past problems. Needed in the hot weather
Great Spa and pool
Free internet in lounge area
Margaret Island is very nice
Good transport to city with bus and trams

BAD
Bed was lumpy
Outside music and theatre late at night till 11.30 was loud
Very expensive room service - location on Island means they have a captive audience. About £7.50 for a sandwich. Need to eat away from hotel
Dinner and breakfast also very expensive - around £15 to £20 per person for buffet
Wireless expensive if you want in room
Maids let themselves in the room within 2 seconds of knocking at 9am every day!

Unlikely we would stay again if we ever went back to Budapest although Spa great at end of a long day in city. Would recommend for a weekend break if you want to get away from it

Room Tip: Email ahead to ask for air conditioning that works in your room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SzlGabor, Manager at Danubius Grand Hotel Margitsziget, responded to this review, 18 July 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to post a comment about our hotel and to rate it "very good". We highly appreciate your comments about the friendly staff, the big rooms with balcony with working air-condition, the spa and the easy transport to the city centre.
Regarding your comments on the bed I kindly inform you that our housekeeping department is changing them step by step, we hope that we can change all matresses soon in order to be able to provide a much more comfortable sleep.
Concerning the open-air theatre performance I totally agree with you that it might have been a little loud, they had a very attractive performance with 7 Brothers dancing Spanish Flamenco and the audience liked it very much. It will be pleasure for us next time to get some ticket for one of their fantastic performance (only from June to August).
You have mentioned that room service and restaurant prices are expensive. We have to keep ourselves to the standards 4star hotel prices in Hungary.
Once again we thank you for your great comments and for the recommendation for a weekend break. Perhaps your friends will follow your advice and we can welcome them to on Margaret Island.
Best regards

Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2012

I found the Hotel very nice big room , great housekeeping and generally very helpful staff. Beautiful location and with the use of the next door Spa Hotel facilities. A little far from the centre of town but no hassle to travel on the very good transport sustem in Budapest.

Room Tip: Try for a room over looking the Danube.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dgs71a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SzlGabor, Manager at Danubius Grand Hotel Margitsziget, responded to this review, 18 July 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to post a comment about our hotel and enjoyed the facilities of it, like the spa, environment, food, etc.
We do hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back at the Danubius Grand Hotel!
Kind regards

Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Budapest hotels
Margaret Island
Danubius Health Spa Resort Margitsziget
Danubius Hotel Helia
#74 of 334 in Budapest
1,939 reviews
The Aquincum Hotel Budapest
#127 of 334 in Budapest
1,415 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Gellert Hill
Danubius Hotel Gellert
Danubius Hotel Gellert
#95 of 334 in Budapest
5,932 reviews
District V / Inner City
Danubius Hotel Astoria City Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Danubius Grand Hotel Margitsziget? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Danubius Grand Hotel Margitsziget

Property: Danubius Grand Hotel Margitsziget
Address: Margitsziget, 1138, Budapest 1007, Hungary
Phone Number:
Region: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest > Margaret Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #68 of 334 Hotels in Budapest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Danubius Grand Hotel Margitsziget 4.5*
Number of rooms: 164
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rest in surroundings fit for an aristocrat A stay at the Grand Hotel Margaret Island will leave you feeling like royalty from the turn of the 20th century. The fin-de-siecle architecture is as elegant as it comes, and huge windows offer stunning views over the Danube or the ancient trees of Margaret Island. If you’re after a little pampering – or indeed treatment for a medical condition – you can take advantage of the wellness facilities at the adjacent Danubius Health Spa Resort Margaret Island, fed by the mineral-rich thermal springs that emerge nearby. The sister hotels are linked by a heated underground tunnel, so you don’t even need to set foot outside. The hotel’s range of top-quality facilities and services, and its leafy location in the middle of the Danube, make it a popular venue for conferences, weddings and other events. Margaret Island’s lush parkland is perfect for relaxing strolls, while sporty types will appreciate the fact there are running paths, tennis courts, bikes for hire and a swimming pool within a stone’s throw of the hotel. Furthermore, the hustle and bustle of the city centre is a short hop away by public transport – you can even take the ferry there! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Danubius Grand Hotel Margitsziget reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing