We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful Margitsziget -excellent spa!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Danubius Grand Hotel Margitsziget

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Danubius Grand Hotel Margitsziget
Ranked #71 of 342 Hotels in Budapest
Ottawa, ON
Level Contributor
61 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Beautiful Margitsziget -excellent spa!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 October 2013

We stayed several days in October at the Grand Hotel Margitsziget and it was really calm and relaxing! We are not party animals any more so we really appreciated the calm environment and the relaxing spa (thermal baths& saunas). If you have time to try it, it is going to be worth it!!!!!!!!!!!

Our room was spacious and clean, decorated with antic furniture. I have read about hotel furnitures in other reviews which called it "old furnitures"and I disagree with them because these furnitures are expensive antic furnitures, not simply some old stuff!

Our room price included a light breakfast (coffee with 2 croissants) which was just enough for us as we did not stay all day at the hotel because the island and the temperature (warm and sunny) were really beautiful. Public transport from the island (bus 26) made easy access for shopping areas.

At the lobby, we could use internet (WI-FI) free, for checking our jobs' emergency, it was just enough.
The staff was great and nice. Our cleaning lady came to refill everything at later mornings just in case if we drank something from the mini-bar or all of our coffee/tea, so she was really nice!
The bartender made good cocktails for us rally fast at nights, he was always kind and polite with every guests.
At evenings, we could listen to live "cigany" and classical music at the bar because the dining salon was next to the bar so we could hear them, they played very nice.
The receptionists were always helpful even if they did not know something, they tried to find the answer for our requests. Even he informed us about airport transfer service, instead of taxi, which was more beneficial financially for us (2500 HUF/person)

The island gave lots of opportunity to walk alongside of Danube and later we could relax our muscles in thermal baths and saunas. So it is a really nice hotel!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank zenoOttawa_ON
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SzlGabor, Manager at Danubius Grand Hotel Margitsziget, responded to this review, 5 November 2013
Dear Valued Guest,
We would like to thank you very much for posting a positive review on our Hotel.
We are very happy that you were satisfied with the location of the hotel and found the room spacious and clean and it is very honourable that you can appreciate the value of the furniture. We are very happy that you found the staff extremely helpful, great and nice. It is a pleasure for us that you could enjoy our spa and wellness facilities, our cocktails and the gypsy music.
Once again many thanks for your kind feedback and we hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back at our hotel.
Best regards
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,127 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    418
    450
    182
    53
    24
See reviews for
290
473
66
116
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Irvine, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 October 2013

Lovely old hotel in a great location. Good public transport and lovely and quiet. Breakfast was not very good just alright.It could be improved . Staff at breakfast were sulky and sullen and cleared the tables on the dot at 10a.m. They couldn't wait to get rid of you!
In spite of this liked the other staff in the bar.
We had dinner the first night which was very good. Would probably go back if I was going to Budapest again.

Room Tip: Choose a room overlooking the Danube. A twin executive is good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fussy186560
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SzlGabor, Manager at Danubius Grand Hotel Margitsziget, responded to this review, 5 November 2013
Dear Guest,
We hope you had a safe trip back home and first of all we would like to thank you for having chosen the Danubius Grand Hotel Margitsziget for your last stay in Budapest. We are pleased that you had a memorable stay with us and you found the dinner very good.
Thank you very much for your positive comments and hope we can welcome you back next time too.
kind regards,
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 September 2013 via mobile

Great experience
We stayed at this hotel in September of 2013. Overall it was a great experience. Since it is located on the margareta island, it is not for you party animals, but perfect if you want a relaxing retreat in a quiet place. (The public transport by bus only take 12 minutes to shopping though).
The room was spacious, and very clean. I liked the old style of the furniture and decor.
The hotel has access to the spa, and it is directly connected to the spa through an underground passage. The spa was great, with loads of treatments, saunas, pools -everything you need.
The biggest surprise was the hotel restaurant -we had planned to go into the city of Budapest to try out different restaurants, but the hotel restaurant food was so good that we ended up staying there every night of our stay.
Only thing I missed was that the wifi did not work in our room, so we only could get wifi in the reception.
This hotels best asset though, is the staff. Everyone that we met were delightful, and super professional. Well done!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank puffis24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SzlGabor, Manager at Danubius Grand Hotel Margitsziget, responded to this review, 2 October 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for you comment on Tripadvisor and it is a pleasure for that you enjoyed your stay with us and found our services "super professional", our spa great and the resturant food very good.
We are looking forward to welcoming you again in our Danubius Hotel
Best regards
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bucharest, Romania
Level Contributor
148 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 September 2013 via mobile

This is an old rehabilitated hotel with spa and restaurant. The hotel rooms are ok, breakfast it's fair but not for 15€. I'd not advise anyone to go to lunch at this hotel, the price is 20€/ pers and the food isn't fresh( at least when we went there). The spa is nice with sauna and the fitness gym really good. All in all i want to say that this is a nice hotel but a little bit to expensive for what is offering!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HoriaSzabo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SzlGabor, Manager at Danubius Grand Hotel Margitsziget, responded to this review, 17 September 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

We appreciate your efforts for having taken your time for a report on TripAdvisor website, concerning your recent stay in our Danubius Grand Hotel!
Your feedback will help us to improve our services.
We were regret to hear that you found our prices too expensive and found not all of our food delicious.
We do very much hope you will find the time and the opportunity to return to our hotel (perhaps in some years) and that we can regain your confidence.
Best regards
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 September 2013

The hotel is lovely and clean and the staff were polite, courteous and willing to assist you no matter what the problem maybe. This was our second year in budapest and we are definitely returning next year. I have recommended this location to friends of ours already. The food was good, attractions good (especially the thermal spa), and all this and the Danube as well.

Room Tip: When booking your room ask for one that has a view over the Danube - then you can watch the boats fr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Debbie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SzlGabor, Manager at Danubius Grand Hotel Margitsziget, responded to this review, 17 September 2013
Dear Valued Guest,
We would like to thank you very much for posting a positive review on our Hotel.
We are very happy that you were satisfied with the location of the hotel and found the staff polite, the food good and our hotel lovely.
Thank you for recommending our hotel to your friends and waiting for your returning next year too.
Best regards
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
86 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 August 2013

The Grand is a lovely hotel where the staff are extremely helpful and speak very good English. The spa facilities are hard to find initially (you have to go to the basement floor then walk along a corridor underground to the attached Spa hotel), but definitely worth it. There is a small outdoor pool with a sun terrace (closes at 6pm) and inside there are a range of pools, steam rooms and jacuzzies.
The location out on Margit Island is lovely and in the middle of a really nice park. It's good for exploring the island, and there are small food outlets and lots of activities like bikes to hire. Getting into town on the number 26 bus is straightforward enough as well but we did feel a bit far out and popping to get food was a bit more of an effort than if we'd be in town centre.
The room was nice, with a hairdryer, safe, fridge and plenty of storage. The bathroom is pretty small and not exactly luxury but the shower is good and no problem with warm water or anything like that. We did notice that room service didn't seem to do much other than empty the bins and make the bed. Wi-Fi in rooms is pay-per-hour but it's free in the reception area.
The buffet breakfast is very expensive but they do offer a free coffee/croissant in the bar area just outside the restaurant up until about 10am.
We'd definitely recommend it for a very relaxing location, a bit out of town and quieter than being in the centre with access to a greater selection of restaurants and bars.

Room Tip: We requested a balcony and they made an effort to find us one which was nice. Our room (276) faced t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sam H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SzlGabor, Manager at Danubius Grand Hotel Margitsziget, responded to this review, 17 September 2013
Dear Valued Guest,
We would like to thank you very much for posting a positive review on our Hotel.
We are very happy that you were satisfied with the location of the hotel and found the staff extremely helpful. It is a pleasure for us that you could enjoy our spa and wellness facilities, and that you can recommend our hotel for relaxing.
Once again many thanks for your kind feedback and we hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back at our hotel.
Best regards
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baia Mare, Romania
Level Contributor
117 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2013

The position of the hotel is ideal for relaxation. It is the middle of the Danube Margit Island. So no traffic, only parks and meadows. It has a big private and free parking place. The spa area is shared with it's neighbour hotel and it is accesible through an underground passage. There you can really relax, you have 5 pools with thermal water. The sauna is good. The cold water stone walk is very tonic and if you combine it with a hot bath after is amazing. All in one, it is the only hotel from the Danubius chain in Budapest where I would return. The breakfast is very good, the furniture is a bit old, but it has a specific charm.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mihai_BM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SzlGabor, Manager at Danubius Grand Hotel Margitsziget, responded to this review, 26 August 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for taking the time to post a comment on TripAdvisor website about your recent stay in Danubius Grand Hotel Margitsziget. We are pleased that you have chosen to stay in our hotel, and it is a pleasure for us that you had a good experience in our hotel.
It is always a pleasure for me to read comments like you put it: "All in one, it is the only hotel from the Danubius chain in Budapest where I would return. The breakfast is very good, the furniture is a bit old, but it has a specific charm."
Once again many thanks for your kind feedback, and we hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back at the Grand Hotel.
Best regards
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Budapest hotels
Margaret Island
Danubius Health Spa Resort Margitsziget
Danubius Hotel Helia
#74 of 342 in Budapest
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,580 reviews
Gellert Hill
Danubius Hotel Gellert
Danubius Hotel Gellert
#99 of 342 in Budapest
4.0 of 5 bubbles 5,230 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Aquincum Hotel Budapest
#123 of 342 in Budapest
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,358 reviews
District V / Inner City
Danubius Hotel Astoria City Center
Novotel Budapest Centrum
#79 of 342 in Budapest
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,620 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Danubius Grand Hotel Margitsziget? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Danubius Grand Hotel Margitsziget

Property: Danubius Grand Hotel Margitsziget
Address: Margitsziget, 1138, Budapest 1007, Hungary
Phone Number:
Region: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest > Margaret Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #71 of 342 Hotels in Budapest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Danubius Grand Hotel Margitsziget 4.5*
Number of rooms: 164
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rest in surroundings fit for an aristocrat A stay at the Grand Hotel Margaret Island will leave you feeling like royalty from the turn of the 20th century. The fin-de-siecle architecture is as elegant as it comes, and huge windows offer stunning views over the Danube or the ancient trees of Margaret Island. If you’re after a little pampering – or indeed treatment for a medical condition – you can take advantage of the wellness facilities at the adjacent Danubius Health Spa Resort Margaret Island, fed by the mineral-rich thermal springs that emerge nearby. The sister hotels are linked by a heated underground tunnel, so you don’t even need to set foot outside. The hotel’s range of top-quality facilities and services, and its leafy location in the middle of the Danube, make it a popular venue for conferences, weddings and other events. Margaret Island’s lush parkland is perfect for relaxing strolls, while sporty types will appreciate the fact there are running paths, tennis courts, bikes for hire and a swimming pool within a stone’s throw of the hotel. Furthermore, the hustle and bustle of the city centre is a short hop away by public transport – you can even take the ferry there! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Jet2Holidays , Agoda, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Danubius Grand Hotel Margitsziget reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing