We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Possible WORST hotel in Budapest?”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Danubius Grand Hotel Margitsziget
Ranked #66 of 334 Hotels in Budapest
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 December 2013

Hotel fascilities are very dirty, all stuff unfriendly. Commision fee for changing EURO to HUF is 8% at desk. Breakfast after 9:00 is not beeing filled with missing food. Room was loudly, we could hear any sound from neighborur's bathroom. Windows at room are not isulated cold wind, so it was extremly cold during night. TV channels contains only channels from China, Russia and Japan. No Czech or Slovak TV channel, even most of clients, due parking cars by hotel, are from this area. Wellness is a capitol to see, dirtz, cold and smelling linke toilet all over wellness area. DO NO RECOMMEND this hotel to everyone.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank diwi1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SzlGabor, Manager at Danubius Grand Hotel Margitsziget, responded to this reviewResponded 12 December 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

We appreciate your efforts for having taken your time for a report on TripAdvisor website, concerning your recent stay in our Danubius Grand Hotel!
Your feedback will help us to improve our services.
We are very sorry to hear that none of our services met your expectations and we could not provide you with Czech or Slovak TV channels. Our guests come from different countries with different nationalities and languages and it is unfortunately not possible to offer all TV channels in the world, we have to balance among the channels and choose the most important ones. From Czech Republic or Slovakia we have a limited number of guests, about 1% only. Should this percent rise in the future (we hope so), we will be glad to include a TV channel from your country.
We really regret to hear your opinion on our cleanliness in rooms and wellness area. Clearly your experience is not typical of what the vast majority of our guest feedback tells us, you can read all the comments in this website and make sure of others' opinion.
We hope that you will allow us the opportunity to regain your trust the next time you stay with us!
We wish you all the best.
Warm regards
Hotel Manager

We would be very glad to able to inform you first on our refurbished, new rooms and hope we can welcome you then again at our hotel for a real relaxing.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,619)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

751 - 757 of 1,619 reviews

Reviewed 11 November 2013

I stayed here many times, hotel is not as great as it used to be.
breakfast is great but dinners are also buffe, not great ,
furniture is old the spa is the best. front desk help and telephone help is not good.
Internet you could only use free in the main lobby on your ifone or your computer In the room they charge you. They only have one English speaking TV station most is German,

Room Tip: most of the rooms are quite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Suzan Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SzlGabor, Manager at Danubius Grand Hotel Margitsziget, responded to this reviewResponded 19 November 2013

Dear Guest,
I would like to thank you very much for sharing your opinion about the hotel’s services.
Thank you for your comments regarding the staff, room and food.
We do hope to be able better and better from year to year and that you will test this improvement the next time as well.
Looking forward to hearing again from you, I remain
with best regards
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2013

The experience of the beautiful environment and the charming rooms was severely destroyed by the complaint handling of the managers. The food was obviously bad and the reaction to the critics was completely unprofessional! Shame that it can happen in a hotel like that..

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank The D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SzlGabor, Manager at Danubius Grand Hotel Margitsziget, responded to this reviewResponded 19 November 2013

Dear Guest,
We appreciate your efforts for having taken your time for a report on TripAdvisor website, concerning your recent stay in our Danubius Hotel!
We are very sorry to learn from your comment that not every services were up to your expectations. There is a continuous effort to improve our services. We do very much hope you will find the time to return back to our hotel and that we can regain your confidence.
Best regards
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2013

We stayed several days in October at the Grand Hotel Margitsziget and it was really calm and relaxing! We are not party animals any more so we really appreciated the calm environment and the relaxing spa (thermal baths& saunas). If you have time to try it, it is going to be worth it!!!!!!!!!!!

Our room was spacious and clean, decorated with antic furniture. I have read about hotel furnitures in other reviews which called it "old furnitures"and I disagree with them because these furnitures are expensive antic furnitures, not simply some old stuff!

Our room price included a light breakfast (coffee with 2 croissants) which was just enough for us as we did not stay all day at the hotel because the island and the temperature (warm and sunny) were really beautiful. Public transport from the island (bus 26) made easy access for shopping areas.

At the lobby, we could use internet (WI-FI) free, for checking our jobs' emergency, it was just enough.
The staff was great and nice. Our cleaning lady came to refill everything at later mornings just in case if we drank something from the mini-bar or all of our coffee/tea, so she was really nice!
The bartender made good cocktails for us rally fast at nights, he was always kind and polite with every guests.
At evenings, we could listen to live "cigany" and classical music at the bar because the dining salon was next to the bar so we could hear them, they played very nice.
The receptionists were always helpful even if they did not know something, they tried to find the answer for our requests. Even he informed us about airport transfer service, instead of taxi, which was more beneficial financially for us (2500 HUF/person)

The island gave lots of opportunity to walk alongside of Danube and later we could relax our muscles in thermal baths and saunas. So it is a really nice hotel!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank zenoOttawa_ON
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SzlGabor, Manager at Danubius Grand Hotel Margitsziget, responded to this reviewResponded 5 November 2013

Dear Valued Guest,
We would like to thank you very much for posting a positive review on our Hotel.
We are very happy that you were satisfied with the location of the hotel and found the room spacious and clean and it is very honourable that you can appreciate the value of the furniture. We are very happy that you found the staff extremely helpful, great and nice. It is a pleasure for us that you could enjoy our spa and wellness facilities, our cocktails and the gypsy music.
Once again many thanks for your kind feedback and we hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back at our hotel.
Best regards
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2013

Lovely old hotel in a great location. Good public transport and lovely and quiet. Breakfast was not very good just alright.It could be improved . Staff at breakfast were sulky and sullen and cleared the tables on the dot at 10a.m. They couldn't wait to get rid of you!
In spite of this liked the other staff in the bar.
We had dinner the first night which was very good. Would probably go back if I was going to Budapest again.

Room Tip: Choose a room overlooking the Danube. A twin executive is good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Fussy186560
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SzlGabor, Manager at Danubius Grand Hotel Margitsziget, responded to this reviewResponded 5 November 2013

Dear Guest,
We hope you had a safe trip back home and first of all we would like to thank you for having chosen the Danubius Grand Hotel Margitsziget for your last stay in Budapest. We are pleased that you had a memorable stay with us and you found the dinner very good.
Thank you very much for your positive comments and hope we can welcome you back next time too.
kind regards,
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2013 via mobile

Great experience
We stayed at this hotel in September of 2013. Overall it was a great experience. Since it is located on the margareta island, it is not for you party animals, but perfect if you want a relaxing retreat in a quiet place. (The public transport by bus only take 12 minutes to shopping though).
The room was spacious, and very clean. I liked the old style of the furniture and decor.
The hotel has access to the spa, and it is directly connected to the spa through an underground passage. The spa was great, with loads of treatments, saunas, pools -everything you need.
The biggest surprise was the hotel restaurant -we had planned to go into the city of Budapest to try out different restaurants, but the hotel restaurant food was so good that we ended up staying there every night of our stay.
Only thing I missed was that the wifi did not work in our room, so we only could get wifi in the reception.
This hotels best asset though, is the staff. Everyone that we met were delightful, and super professional. Well done!

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank puffis24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SzlGabor, Manager at Danubius Grand Hotel Margitsziget, responded to this reviewResponded 2 October 2013

Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for you comment on Tripadvisor and it is a pleasure for that you enjoyed your stay with us and found our services "super professional", our spa great and the resturant food very good.
We are looking forward to welcoming you again in our Danubius Hotel
Best regards
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2013 via mobile

This is an old rehabilitated hotel with spa and restaurant. The hotel rooms are ok, breakfast it's fair but not for 15€. I'd not advise anyone to go to lunch at this hotel, the price is 20€/ pers and the food isn't fresh( at least when we went there). The spa is nice with sauna and the fitness gym really good. All in all i want to say that this is a nice hotel but a little bit to expensive for what is offering!

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HoriaSzabo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SzlGabor, Manager at Danubius Grand Hotel Margitsziget, responded to this reviewResponded 17 September 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

We appreciate your efforts for having taken your time for a report on TripAdvisor website, concerning your recent stay in our Danubius Grand Hotel!
Your feedback will help us to improve our services.
We were regret to hear that you found our prices too expensive and found not all of our food delicious.
We do very much hope you will find the time and the opportunity to return to our hotel (perhaps in some years) and that we can regain your confidence.
Best regards
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Budapest hotels
Margaret Island
Danubius Health Spa Resort Margitsziget
Danubius Hotel Helia
#71 of 334 in Budapest
2,196 reviews
The Aquincum Hotel Budapest
#126 of 334 in Budapest
1,465 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Gellert Hill
Danubius Hotel Gellert
Danubius Hotel Gellert
#101 of 334 in Budapest
6,498 reviews
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Continental Hotel Budapest
Continental Hotel Budapest
#41 of 334 in Budapest
4,408 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Danubius Grand Hotel Margitsziget? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Danubius Grand Hotel Margitsziget

Address: Margitsziget, Budapest 1007, Hungary
Phone Number:
Region: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest > Margaret Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #66 of 334 Hotels in Budapest
Price Range: £49 - £118 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Danubius Grand Hotel Margitsziget 4.5*
Number of rooms: 164
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rest in surroundings fit for an aristocrat A stay at the Grand Hotel Margaret Island will leave you feeling like royalty from the turn of the 20th century. The fin-de-siecle architecture is as elegant as it comes, and huge windows offer stunning views over the Danube or the ancient trees of Margaret Island. If you’re after a little pampering – or indeed treatment for a medical condition – you can take advantage of the wellness facilities at the adjacent Danubius Health Spa Resort Margaret Island, fed by the mineral-rich thermal springs that emerge nearby. The sister hotels are linked by a heated underground tunnel, so you don’t even need to set foot outside. The hotel’s range of top-quality facilities and services, and its leafy location in the middle of the Danube, make it a popular venue for conferences, weddings and other events. Margaret Island’s lush parkland is perfect for relaxing strolls, while sporty types will appreciate the fact there are running paths, tennis courts, bikes for hire and a swimming pool within a stone’s throw of the hotel. Furthermore, the hustle and bustle of the city centre is a short hop away by public transport – you can even take the ferry there! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Danubius Grand Hotel Margitsziget reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing