We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Deconstructed food?”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Mak

Mak
Ranked #123 of 3,088 Restaurants in Budapest
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$15 - US$70
Cuisines: European, Central European, Hungarian, International, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Romantic, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, After-hours, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighbourhood: District V / Inner City
Palm Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
37 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Deconstructed food?”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2014

The food was excellent, but don't go looking for an authentic Hungarian meal. This is a chef's idea of what Hungarian food at it's basis is, not what the Hungarians would eat or consider Hungarian food.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Vivienne I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

630 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    413
    129
    37
    38
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
Level Contributor
1,428 reviews
1,153 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 660 helpful votes
“Still excellent”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2014

Visiting same place one year later, still delicious ! The menu keeps changing but the idea of degustation style, small portions is lucky enough preserved (and prices remain very low) - modern cuisine, sous vide cooking or barely seared components, excellent ingredients : they could run a cooking school there, I would register on the spot. We had some delicious beetroot gazpacho, quail and very good turbot. Desserts are go die for (and usually it is something I'm skipping easily) and the wine list is large and almost everything goes by glass. Great find !

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Scipion-Paris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
“Nice but pricey”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2014 via mobile

Nice food, nice staff but over priced, limited menu to choose from, and very small portions. We did get amuse bouche, a pre- dessert and home made after dinner chocolates which were all delicious! Nice evening over all!

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
15 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Orgasmic”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2014

Friendly servers and yup, orgasmic food! I like artistic food and Mák have done it in a way that it's not over top, letting the flavours just speak for their dishes.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lynn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Budapest, Hungary
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Great business meal with delicious dessert”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2014

This was a very lovely business lunch experience. We got the meals a little slowly but everything was perfect. I has gazpacho and salmon for a cold starter, fish and zucchini puree a main course and rice pudding for dessert. These were all marvellous and since the portions are relatively small, I could eat all the three courses. The white wine I had wit the meal was also lovely.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Gullyver53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Mak also viewed

Budapest, Central Hungary
Budapest, Central Hungary
 
Budapest, Central Hungary
Budapest, Central Hungary
 

Been to Mak? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing