We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“not what it says on the tin” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of ACHAT Premium Budapest

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
ACHAT Premium Budapest
Ranked #138 of 340 Hotels in Budapest
Darlington
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“not what it says on the tin”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2014

This hotel advertises that every room has a mini bar. Ours did not and this was one of the reasons I booked this hotel - somewhere to put bottled water for a cold drink during the night and first thing in the morning and also some milk which they do not provide in thr room nor do they provide coffee (probably because they dont provide milk!). I asked several times if they could either bring us a fridge or we were willing to move rooms but none of these were possible because "we can buy cold drinks from the bar and they were fully booked" even on days when coach groups were checking out. Like other reviews the breakfast items ran out quickly but took ages to be replenished and our shower head holder was also broken but we fixed this ourselves (free of charge). Considering we were staying here for 8 nights I was considerably disappointed with the customer service from all the reception staff and will not be recommending this hotel to anyone.

Room Tip: Make sure it has a fridge!
See more room tips
Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Tyger56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

251 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    72
    99
    53
    16
    11
See reviews for
34
97
14
43
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Antwerp, Belgium
Level Contributor
50 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2014

Really clean rooms and bathroom. Good breakfast with a broad choice of food. The service is excellent, very helpful and professional. The location is not so good because outside of the centre of the city.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jan V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
High Wycombe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
294 reviews
108 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2014

Firstly I am basing this review on one night mid week, paid €45, + €10 for breakfast. The hotels' revolving doors open DIRECTLY onto a cycle lane, you must take great care when going in and out. The desk staff are super nice and really helpful, but there just aren't enough of them, had to wait an unacceptable amount of time to check in and out. The room; smallest single bed I have ever seen, pillows that were very old, hairdryer didn't work and the shower head holder was broken, other than that it was an OK room. buffet breakfast was excellent, but continually running out, and had to wait, again an unacceptable amount of time to get even basics like bread! With just 20% more effort this could be a really great hotel.

Room Tip: rooms ending in low 20's are near a noisy main road
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ikorel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarajevo, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Europe
Level Contributor
24 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2014

The hotel is nice and comfortable. The service is very good and the rooms are very clean. The hotel is away from the center but the tram stop outside the hotel. Price stay in the hotel is cheap for a luxury you get in return.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Amra17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tbilisi, Georgia
Level Contributor
108 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2014

Let's be upfront and honest....I made the reservation knowing that the hotel has a very mixed reputation. I went for it because it is a short distance from the University for Public Service, and because it is cheap! (Although a bit a la carte - Early check-in? Late checkout? 15 euros.)

So, trying to respect Grandma's advice, updated to 2014:
The front desk shift at arrival was very nice. Every staff member after that - desk, bar, restaurant, housekeeping - rude and condescending.

The room was as requested, and more than adequate. Sadly, the bedding smelled of hair oils and body odor. When requested new linen - rude and condescending.

Thank goodness for the "high speed Wifi". Although I seemed to fail to find a place where it was high speed. In fact, it barely connected. Except in the public toilet near reception desk. My tablet went crazy in my bag as I stood doing my business.

Not in mood to go into town for dinner so I went to the restaurant. Closed. Why? Three busloads of visitors. (None in sight.) I reminded I am a visitor - But your company did not say you wish dinner, the tour operators did for these others. No dinner there. Staff - rude and condescending.

Returned to room and called room service - No room service today, we have three busloads of visitors. Hmmmm. Returned from outstanding dinner at Ysipro Cafe (2 tram stops away) and thought to have a glass of wine - house red (a Hungarian red, normally very good). No house wines today but for 4 times more money this is the red we have available. It must be good - the three busloads of visitors are drinking it. I went away.

Room overlooked the busy street. Starting at about 2200, there must have been accidents everywhere in Budapest because ambulances with sirens screaming went by every 15 or 20 minutes all night long.

Breakfast - a buffet. It was excellent. Seriously. And I was earlier than the bus tourists, so plenty to choose from.

What a lovely bike trail there is in that part of Budapest - in fact it easily accessible from the hotel front door! About 30 centimeters! Be quick as you exit the hotel or you will get run over!
Second day luch time. No bus passengers. In the mood for four cheese quesadillas. Call room service...........No room service. Too tired from working the three busloads last night. Restaurant closed but will open for dinner.

Thankfully - it was time to check-out.

Final note: Always Always insist taxi drivers in Budapest use the meter. Any fixed price quote will be 3 to 4 times higher than meter. (Learned that back in 2011.)

Room Tip: Ask for room not on front of building. It was noisy all night long!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tiflis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2014

The front desk service really stood out here on our visit. They were very helpful with booking our airport shuttle, helping us understand the public transit and assisting us with booking our river tour. The location is a little bit out of the way from the main sights, but there is a tram station right out in front that connects easily to the stadium metro stop, which then interconnects to everything else you need. The room was very nice and clean, but the free wi-fi was very in and out from our room on the 4th floor. Lastly, the 10 euro breakfast wasn't bad, but not great either.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cloghmani3182
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Cataldo, Italy
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 January 2014 via mobile

The hotel is nice and comfortable. Good quality price. Far from city centre is not a good location if staying without car. They do a pre authorization on your credit card and the do it instantly, but when checking if there is nothing to pay, cancelation of pre authorization comes with a phone call to the hotel bank which is not instantly as in check in procedure...

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank EduardoAmerico
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Budapest hotels
Gellert Hill
Hotel Mediterran
Hotel Mediterran
#84 of 340 in Budapest
4.0 of 5 bubbles 500 reviews
Danubius Hotel Arena
#130 of 340 in Budapest
3.5 of 5 bubbles 833 reviews
Park Inn By Radisson Budapest
#109 of 340 in Budapest
4.0 of 5 bubbles 323 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Green Hotel
#233 of 340 in Budapest
3.0 of 5 bubbles 152 reviews
Leonardo Hotel Budapest
#122 of 340 in Budapest
3.5 of 5 bubbles 718 reviews
Golden Park Hotel
#219 of 340 in Budapest
3.0 of 5 bubbles 1,194 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to ACHAT Premium Budapest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ACHAT Premium Budapest

Property: ACHAT Premium Budapest
Address: Hungaria korut 5., Budapest 1101, Hungary
Region: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #138 of 340 Hotels in Budapest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — ACHAT Premium Budapest 4*
Number of rooms: 130
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The ACHAT Premium Budapest is situated just 5 km from the very heart of Budapest with fast transport links to the city just a few minutes stroll away.The stylish, modern hotel has 130 well equipped guest rooms as well as five superbly appointed maisonette suites which stretch out over the top two floors.The room facilities include Satellite TV, air-conditioning, soundproofing, laptop safe, minibar and much more, ensuring you have everything at your disposal. The hotel has a chic lobby bar and the restaurant "N°51" complete with outside terrace where you can while away the evening in a peaceful atmosphere. The restaurant offers up a superb culinary experience with both Hungarian and international delicacies. All of this and friendly, multilingual staff, will make your stay at the ACHAT Premium Budapest a comfortable and welcoming experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, LateRooms and Agoda so you can book your ACHAT Premium Budapest reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing