We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food and a really interesting experience”

First Strudel House of Pest
Ranked #186 of 3,160 Restaurants in Budapest
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Hungarian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Groups, Child-friendly, Business meetings, Romantic, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Lunch, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Neighbourhood: Belváros-Lipótváros
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great food and a really interesting experience”
Reviewed 8 March 2012

I took a group of students for a meal and a demonstration of strudel-making. The latter has to be pre-booked but the restaurant is certainly worth a visit. reasonably priced, I would recommend the duck with red cabbage. I have been several times and never been disappointed. Great location near the Basilica.

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sybil2932
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,248 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    543
    449
    159
    59
    38
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sofia, Bulgaria
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Must visit”
Reviewed 22 February 2012

Very good food and live music. Very good wine selection.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank Marina V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palm Beach Gardens, Florida
Level Contributor
50 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Warm and cozy restuarant with great food.”
Reviewed 11 February 2012

On our first night in Budapest we received a recommendation for this restaurant. We were looking for some traditional Hungarian food and boy, did we find it. We had wonderful Goulash soup with a spicy meat strudel and a cheese board that was fabulous, all washed down with some Hungarian beer. In the room adjacent to us, a strudel making lesson was going on that was visible thru the glass door. Highly recommend this restaurant for some authentic Hungarian food.

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
Thank styletraveler1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
midlands
Level Contributor
185 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Excellent warm welcome on a extremely cold night”
Reviewed 22 January 2012

This is a fab restaurant, with great friendly staff. We were staying at the Hotel Parliment, it was a very cold night so we asked the receptionist for a good place to eat local food. She gave us the name of this restaurant and also told us it was a little bit of a walk away, but it was quite a nice walk and when we arrived it was well worth it.
The receptionist had phoned ahead and took it upon herself to reserve the best table, just incase we arrived. We were greated as soon as we walked through the door and asked if they could take our coats, then we were given the best table in the house with a window view. We ordered our meal, we have never tasted anything so outstanding with wonderful service.
We decided that we would eat here for the next three nights, every night if at all possible just got better and better. This is a must place to eat, your taste buds need this treat!

  • Visited November 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank livingthedreem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Israel
Level Contributor
241 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Very enjoyable experience”
Reviewed 19 January 2012

The restaurant is located not far from St Stephan cathedral and close to everything. The decor is nice and folklore oriented. The service is very professional and polite. The food was very good and very nicely arranged. The place specializes in strudels and several dishes are prepared in strudel dough. They give a demonstration of making a strudel which is fun to watch and you can actively participate and try to make strudel. We have tried an apple strudel, which was good and cheese strudel, which was fantastic! In summary, it was a very nice experience and I recommend this place.

  • Visited December 2011
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank lidguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed First Strudel House of Pest also viewed

Budapest, Central Hungary
 
Budapest, Central Hungary
Budapest, Central Hungary
 
Budapest, Central Hungary
 

Been to First Strudel House of Pest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing