We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bad hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Silver Hotel Budapest
Ranked #140 of 183 Budapest B&B and Inns
LIVERPOOL
Level Contributor
23 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Bad hotel”
Reviewed 3 June 2014 via mobile

My wife and I stayed at this hotel for 5 days it was terrible the noise in the morning from 6 oclock the staff above in the kitchen was horriffic when it rained it was a death trap the landing slippy workmen working outside our door for 2 days on electrics the room we asked f poo r they had given it somebody else told us it was flooded breakfast was terrible bread and butter am cheese every day no differance every day same and people taking yogh I rts in bags out of hotel hence they stopped yohurts coffee machine always runnin out s y af not very polite next time I will not b stayin at this hotel pity as good location rooms too small and very basic room cold too

Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank marvin17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

520 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    49
    149
    170
    78
    74
See reviews for
61
255
38
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2014

the hotel was more then what we needed, it was clean and well located, everybody was polite and the reception was available 24h.
i do want to point out a few things that could be better:
the reception workers tried to push the walking tour too much, its ok if they get commission for it or something, but to call me(or my nationality) cheap since i don't want a walking tour is a bit too much. so they should learn to let go when ppl are not interested. also they can be a bit more attentive. there should be a "please don't disturb" sign on the door.

all in all we recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank I N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2014 via mobile

Only issues were that the lift is a little funny (but works when you know how!), wardrobe on our room kept nearly falling on us if you opened it, & hand wash in bathroom watered down. But hotel is clean and friendly :) pleasant enough and served it's purpose for our stay.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank MissAtomicBomb1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2014

My Wife and I stayed for 4 nights in May for a city break. We arrived at the hotel around 8pm and found that the doors are always locked and the door bell/intercom has to be used. We were buzzed in and went to the 24 hour reception to check in. We were given leaflets for everything to see and do in the city and the staff ran through where the lift was, where and what time breakfast was etc etc. The lift would only go to the 3rd floor and we were on the 5th (we later found out you have to press 5, 5 times to get there!). The room was huge and had 4 beds in it with a balcony overlooking the park opposite. The bathroom was spotless and had recently been tiled, the bedroom was more basic but was comfortable, the only complaint about the room was the door on one of the wardrobes was heavier than the wardrobe itself so it could have fallen on top of us! Breakfast served between 7 & 10 with plenty to choose from and tables inside and out. The staff were all really helpful and arranged a taxi for us to get back to the airport. Location is good, around a ten minute walk to the sights.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andy1876
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Budapest
1 review
Reviewed 8 May 2014

Brilliant location: close to metro, tram and tour bus stops. Walking distance to many attractions and restaurants.
Staff very helpful.
Buffet breakfast with option to sit inside or out (some tables on rooftop balcony).
Room clean and functional, but problem with shower flooding the bathroom.
Had a room facing the internal courtyard; some noise when people congregating waiting to go out, otherwise no issue.
Efficient lift and no issue with stairs (open at all times).

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Susan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
117 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2014

The hotel is located In an old building where the last 3 floors are restructured. There is an elevator to reach the hotel. Cleaned rooms and a renovated bathroom. The breakfast is served at the last floor: you can find scrambled eggs, sausages, ham, brown and white bread, fried bread, marmelade and simple sweets. Apple juice and tea to drink. I found a terrace with a view in playground in front of the hotel entrance.
No noise from other rooms or from the street. There are 2 advantages:
- The hotel is about 70m far from the metro station
- Excellent is the ratio qualità/price.
First 2 days I found a young female receptionist, she wasn't so friendly.

Room Tip: Before arriving ask the code to enter from the main door, otherwise you can wait for a long time out...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fabio F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 April 2014

Location and, second, room rate were the reasons I chose this hotel over its Central Budapest competitors. It is conveniently located, easy to GPS locate and get to/ from the airport. The room was large enough for 2 men, neat and clean. There was no soap in the room, so they sent us to a convenience store nearby. The weak points were: breakfast and the elevator (that can take only 2 North American sized men or 4 smaller Hungarians, by the receptionist's expert judgement). Aside from that Budapest is a rather beautiful city and the hotel is conveniently located staffed with decent people doing their best given the circumstances. Outside the hotel, beware the Hungarian police and the restaurants though.
The Hungarian cops are a very unfriendly bunch - you can get shouted at - and crooked: they are out to hand over fines to the tourists for the slightest real or imaginated wrong. Be on the lookout and avoid them like the pest!
Mixed experiences with the restaurants too: we got charged for stuff we never ordered and they nevered offered (or delivered), read your check thrice!

Room Tip: Save yourselves the elevator (most likely, long) wait and ask for a lower floor room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Danielw147
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Budapest hotels
Hotel Thomas
#210 of 333 in Budapest
3.0 of 5 bubbles 49 reviews
District VII / Jewish Quarter
King's Hotel
King's Hotel
#164 of 333 in Budapest
3.5 of 5 bubbles 626 reviews
District VII / Jewish Quarter
City Hotel Unio
City Hotel Unio
#208 of 333 in Budapest
3.0 of 5 bubbles 343 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Benczur Hotel
#161 of 333 in Budapest
3.5 of 5 bubbles 448 reviews
Hotel Gloria
#235 of 333 in Budapest
3.0 of 5 bubbles 208 reviews
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Star City Hotel
Star City Hotel
#130 of 333 in Budapest
3.5 of 5 bubbles 325 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Silver Hotel Budapest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Silver Hotel Budapest

Property: Silver Hotel Budapest
Address: Hunyadi ter 11, Budapest 1067, Hungary
Region: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #140 of 183 B&Bs / Inns in Budapest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Silver Hotel Budapest 3*
Number of rooms: 57
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Silver Hotel Budapest reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing