We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location, bad breakfast, and some oddities”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Silver Hotel Budapest
Ranked #140 of 183 Budapest B&B and Inns
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
39 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Good location, bad breakfast, and some oddities”
Reviewed 17 June 2014

The Hotel was easy to find, less than one block from the M1 station. The location was good with the M1 station just 100 meters from the hotel and trams 4 and 6 a bit longer walk away at Oktogon. It was really easy to get from the Hotel to sights around the city with the travel card. There are a lot of restaurants around Liszt Ferenc tér just 500 meters away which was very nice on our first night as we arrived pretty late and just walked over there.

The breakfast was on the borderline between bad and acceptable. The breakfast staff was usually smoking on the balcony and items were run out for quite a while before the staff got to refilling them. This did include the water for the coffee machine.

The room was ok. The windows are to the common balconies surrounding the inner courtyard. There was also an occasional smell of sewer in the room, but not really often or bad enough to be a deal breaker. The lighting in the bathroom was pretty dim for shaving etc.

The Hotels has also a few oddities as for example to get to your floor in the elevator you have to press the floor number exactly five times. If you press it six times you have to press another four to get to ten for it to accept your input.

The safe is only at the reception and when we reclaimed our possession from there we were first offered quite a few items not ours so the staff does not keep too good records of what items are whose.

In summary: the breakfast is not worth much (do not pay a premium for it), location is good and as the price was right we were pretty satisfied.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JonzaFIN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

520 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    49
    149
    170
    78
    74
See reviews for
61
255
38
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Juiz de Fora, MG
Level Contributor
58 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2014

The hotel has a good localization, near metro and the city park. The room is confortable and the crew is fine. The internet hasnt work inside the room. I'd think thats the problem on my stay. It's not a classy hotel, but it has a good cost.

Room Tip: The rooms nearest the entrance side has a netter internet connection
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MKC1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
La Chaux-de-Fonds, Switzerland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2014

Nice staff at the reception but the staff in the dinning room for breakfast was really awful.
About the rooms... The mattresses were a bit hard and the room was so HOT !! Don't know why.... The bathroom was nice looking but the sink was broken and the shower leaked a lot.

The breakfast was well provided but not so tasty... (bread, butter, jam, cereals, eggs, meat, cheese, milk, tea, coffee, ...)

So, if you're staying only for a few time, go ahead, but not for more than 4 nights !

Room Tip: Make sure (if you're a couple) to have a room with a double bed, not only two single bed...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AmethysteMolin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2014

Where do I start? I have to confess that our trip to Budapest was a special treat for me and my twin sister's 70th birthday and we were hoping for something quite nice as my husband (the treater) has great taste. I knew it would be fairly budget, but I wasn't prepared for Silver City. We walked through the heavy double street doors (opened on a buzzer system) and the sight that greeted us was something similar to an old style galleried prison, without the safety nets. Reception was on the ground floor - a rather bleak lounge cum office. There was a rack of business cards advertising, among other services, strip clubs, "erotic massage" and escorts. I have to say that the reception staff were friendly and helpful. Our room (for three) was fairly spacious with a nice little balcony overlooking a pretty park square, however, there were only two chairs and no view when sitting down. A third chair was provided on the second request. My sister also lacked a bedside light, but nothing could be done about this as there was no socket. The beds though were very comfortable with good quality mattresses.The shower worked well and there was plenty of hot water, but no soap dish and the only toiletry provided was a bottle of orange liquid soap. There was a manky, fraying foam bathmat we just couldn't use. The bathroom door did not shut properly, let alone lock. First day, the room was not made up and we had to remind reception. Breakfast very basic: leathery scrambled egg, frankfurters, bread, thin jam, apple juice, nescafe and fruit tea bags only. Entry to breakfast was by way of a ticket system which had a retro Soviet vibe. The lift (an absolute necessity five floors up) worked well and I'm very glad the lift shaft was enclosed or I could have suffered from vertigo.
All this would have been disappointing but OK if only the hotel had been clean, but it had a distinctly grubby feel and housekeeping (as observed from the moping of the entrance) seemed slapdash. The hotel was more basic than expected, but would do at a pinch, although more attention to detail is required. It has an excellent location near the Metro. The area was fine near the hotel, but a few streets in the direction away from Andrassy Ave, the area became quite shabby with an edgy feel, especially at night.

Room Tip: We were on the fifth floor overlooking the main road and little park. I was not aware of noise and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DiamondLady38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Horsham
Level Contributor
33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2014

Friendly, helpful staff; clean, spacious room; easy to walk to city centre or right next to the metro; safe area; cute courtyard. Only thing lacking was there was no fruit at breakfast. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hannah S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2014

Great location.
- central
- near to attractions and sights
- close to both tram and bus stops
- walking distance from supermarkets and amenities etc.

Hotel was good for a short break but would not recommend for those looking for a longer stay in Budapest.

Hotel can get very noisy in the mornings and evenings due to heavy slamming doors, thin walls and local residents.

Room was OK. All the necessities including modern bathroom.

Below par breakfast service.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hannah R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LIVERPOOL
Level Contributor
23 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2014 via mobile

My wife and I stayed at this hotel for 5 days it was terrible the noise in the morning from 6 oclock the staff above in the kitchen was horriffic when it rained it was a death trap the landing slippy workmen working outside our door for 2 days on electrics the room we asked f poo r they had given it somebody else told us it was flooded breakfast was terrible bread and butter am cheese every day no differance every day same and people taking yogh I rts in bags out of hotel hence they stopped yohurts coffee machine always runnin out s y af not very polite next time I will not b stayin at this hotel pity as good location rooms too small and very basic room cold too

Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank marvin17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Budapest hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Budapest hotels
Hotel Thomas
#210 of 333 in Budapest
3.0 of 5 bubbles 49 reviews
District VII / Jewish Quarter
King's Hotel
King's Hotel
#164 of 333 in Budapest
3.5 of 5 bubbles 626 reviews
District VII / Jewish Quarter
City Hotel Unio
City Hotel Unio
#208 of 333 in Budapest
3.0 of 5 bubbles 343 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Benczur Hotel
#161 of 333 in Budapest
3.5 of 5 bubbles 448 reviews
Hotel Gloria
#235 of 333 in Budapest
3.0 of 5 bubbles 208 reviews
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Star City Hotel
Star City Hotel
#130 of 333 in Budapest
3.5 of 5 bubbles 325 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Silver Hotel Budapest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Silver Hotel Budapest

Property: Silver Hotel Budapest
Address: Hunyadi ter 11, Budapest 1067, Hungary
Region: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #140 of 183 B&Bs / Inns in Budapest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Silver Hotel Budapest 3*
Number of rooms: 57
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Hotel.de, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Silver Hotel Budapest reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing