We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A deserved michelin star!”
Review of Costes

Costes
Ranked #26 of 3,408 Restaurants in Budapest
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Business meetings, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Lunch, Reservations
Description: It's Hungary's first Michelin Star restaurant
Reviewed 14 June 2014

Sometimes you just have to pamper yourself. Costes is a great restaurant for doing just that!
Its class starts from entering the restaurant till leaving it! WOW. Was a really nice evening!
I hadd a 5 course dinner with comparing whines. Everything was explained very well in good english! The food was presented well and was really, really good! The wines with the dishes were just excellent!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank PatrickBuijs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Costes_Restaurant, Manager at Costes, responded to this reviewResponded 28 June 2014

Dear PatrickBuijs,

It was a pleasure to have you here, at Costes.
We appreciate your kind words and would be most happy to welcome you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (907)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

400 - 404 of 907 reviews

Reviewed 2 June 2014

Had the 6 course tasting dinner here last night. Each dish was beautifully presented. Probably the best we have seen. Everything was delicious from the little appetizers, the breads and six different butters, vegetables were extraordinary as were the fish and meat. Portions are size able. We enjoyed the French cheeses which comprised the cheese course with the corresponding jellies. Desserts were works of art! Corresponding Hungarian wines were well paired. Some were better than others. The service was attentive although we felt we were rushed a bit at the start of the meal. Expensive but worth the Euros.

1  Thank babsiebarcelona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Costes_Restaurant, Manager at Costes, responded to this reviewResponded 28 June 2014

Dear babsiebarcelona,

Thank you for joining us. We are glad to learn from your note that you have enjoyed the entire dinner, however we will pay more attention to the dining pace in the future, than we usually do.
Thank you for bringing it to our attention and hope to see you again at Costes.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2014

If somebody likes great food, and can afford it, then it is a "must go" place! The food and the Hungarian wines recommended for each course were excellent, and the service alike, not too rigid, felt like having a dinner at a place where we have been many times before (although it was our first time). Waiters, sommelier were very kind, and always came at the right time, did not talk too much, no pretentious behaviour and this is definetly a plus when comapring it with Onyx, another great place in Budapest. Nice interier as well. Book a table well in advance!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Rosalia30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Costes_Restaurant, Manager at Costes, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2014

Dear Rosalia30,

Thank you for joining us and sharing your experience here.
We are happy to read that you have had a good time at Costes.
Hope to assist you with a new booking in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2014

Costes is one of the best restaurants in Budapest, not cheap, but great food. We were greeted at the door by name, having booked in advance, and looked after throughout by our pair of waiters. We decided against the taster menu and picked from the a la carte menu. We had two free 'bites' before ordering, and then our choices. This is nouveau cuisine, so the amounts are not large, but superbly cooked. The waiter helped us with a choice of Hungarian wine which was also superb.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank JonF3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Costes_Restaurant, Manager at Costes, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2014

Dear JonF3,

The pleasure to have you here was ours. Hopefully we will have the chance to welcome you back.
I'm sure we will have some good wines to match with the dishes again. Wishing you all the best!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2014

The service here was fantastic, couldn't fault it at all, and the little extras were great. The food itself was a mixed bag - my dinner companion didn't enjoy the Seabass, however the Pike Perch was lovely despite sounding less impressive on the menu. Overall, I've had better food in similarly priced restaurants but the experience and service here make it worth a recommendation.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank 18Gus2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Costes_Restaurant, Manager at Costes, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2014

Dear 18Gus2000,

Thank you for your kind words, however we are sorry to learn from your sentences that the whole experience could have been better.
Will definitely keep up the strengths you have highlighted, and hope to welcome you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Costes also viewed

Budapest, Central Hungary
Budapest, Central Hungary
 
Budapest, Central Hungary
Budapest, Central Hungary
 
Budapest, Central Hungary
Budapest, Central Hungary
 

Been to Costes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing