We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice Clean, Cheap Hostel, out of the center in South Pest” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Budapest Budget Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Budapest Budget Hostel
Ranked #30 of 651 Speciality Lodging in Budapest
Certificate of Excellence
Prague, Hlavni Mesto Praha, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
84 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Nice Clean, Cheap Hostel, out of the center in South Pest”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2013

This is probably the nicest staff at a hostel I've ever met. I was there for New Year's Eve and the place was full, someone in my room smoked, and the staff put me in a new room the next night. The kitchen is good, and the bathrooms are regularly cleaned. Bring all of your own supplies, of course, but they do have back-up towels to lend. There is only a coin-fed coffee machine in the building, but you can refill your water bottle in any of the taps. The street has a little food shop and there are a couple bakeries nearby and a Spar. It takes a transfer from the metro to the tram lines when coming from the main Keleti train station, and a walk about four-five blocks, so in the winter be extra prepared.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 09Carrie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

195 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    92
    74
    24
    4
    1
See reviews for
8
40
37
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Olomouc, Olomoucky Kraj, Czech Republic
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 October 2012

BUDAPEST BUDGET HOSTEL

I stayed with my girlfriend in October 2012 for 3 days, and we had a great experience. This place was clean, fresh and the staff was amazingly helpful.

Our double room was lovely and clean and a great size, with towels provided (which is nice for a hostel). The kitchens are very big and comfortable for cooking. The stuff was too friendly and helpful, they gave us staff with tour booking opportunities available, and free WIFI.

In conclusion, I think that the hostel is great value for money. It has a convenient location to city centre because it has good connections by tram and underground. The staff were very friendly and helpful. They were able to book tours for us from the hostel. Our room was clean and bright with 4 twin beds. We had our own bathroom and it was quite clean. The hostel felt very safe.

Would definitely recommend!!

Room Tip: All rooms are nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JaimeRguezAleman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carrboro, North Carolina
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2012

My girlfriend and I spent three nights at Budapest Budget Hostel, and we would recommend it to anyone traveling on a budget. The rooms were clean, WiFi worked perfectly, and there are multiple kitchens and a nice patio. The staff was incredible friendly and helpful - one of the staff even came to get us when our taxi arrived to take us to the airport at 4:30 am! The only downside to the hostel is the location - although there are quite a few small markets and shops on the street, it is quite a walk to downtown. The subway is very easy to use, just make sure you buy a ticket!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Zach C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prague, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2012

The room, which gave us good comfort, was prepared fresh. Hostel is close to metro and tram stations.The staff at the desk provided informations about Buda/Pest :)

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tuba y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cairo, Egypt
Level Contributor
22 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2012

Perfect location. the building is a bit old but good furnished. not very clean but good for the money

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dodomoriss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 December 2011

Stayed 1 week in BB Hostel and the staff were very friendly. They even gave a large locker which was extremely helpful. The kitchens are very large and there were 3 showers per floor.

The hostel is very clean, close to central Pest and the best part is there is a 24 hour open grocery very close by.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank erickilinc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
147 reviews
103 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2011

This hostel is 3 minutes walk from the river but a decent walk away from the majority of nightlife. twenty mins walk to the gellert baths. having said that i stayed in a 4 bd room and it was clean, comfortable with a power shower and new bathroom , hotel standard rather than hostel.

staff were friendly, helpful and cheery throughout. free internet , decent kitchen facilities and all at a very good price. I would definitely stay here again and was very impressed

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LondonTravellerUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Budapest hotels
Terézváros
Friends Hostel Budapest
Friends Hostel Budapest
#31 of 651 in Budapest
4.5 of 5 bubbles 314 reviews
Avenue Hostel
#25 of 651 in Budapest
4.5 of 5 bubbles 201 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Terézváros
Adagio Hostel 2.0 Basilica
Adagio Hostel 2.0 Basilica
#26 of 651 in Budapest
4.5 of 5 bubbles 162 reviews
District V / Inner City
Maverick Hostel
Maverick Hostel
#6 of 651 in Budapest
4.5 of 5 bubbles 664 reviews
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Maverick City Lodge
Maverick City Lodge
#5 of 651 in Budapest
4.5 of 5 bubbles 800 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Budapest Budget Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Budapest Budget Hostel

Property: Budapest Budget Hostel
Address: Ipar utca 21, Budapest 1095, Hungary
Region: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest
Amenities:
Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 651 Speciality Lodging in Budapest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Budapest Budget Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Budapest Budget Hostel offers you a unique deal: we offer low prices without a compromise on quality - you get the best value for your money staying in our cozy and quiet place. Our best value policy guarantees you a great number of advantages for a real budget price: 24-hour reception service, magnetic-chip keys that allow you a maximum freedom of coming and going, free Wi-Fi in all areas of the hostel along with several guest computers for your use (free of charge), fully equipped kitchens on all floors, a coffee machine, lockers and a safe at the reception.The price includes the bed linen and sheets and for a very small extra fee we also provide anything else to make your stay comfortable: towels (€1) - the 1st one/person is free, a safe private parking lot (8€/night) - free for direct bookers, and printing possibility at the reception. Our reputedly friendly, helpful, up-to-date and well-informed staff is always at your service - no matter what you need we do our best to help you! ABOUT THE HOSTEL AND ROOMS: Our hostel features spacious, decent and comfortable rooms inside a beautiful, unique, more than one hundred- year-old building - once the property of the Zwack Unicum liqueur factory, a true Hungarian specialty. Your safe magnetic-chip based key allows you entrance at any time of the day. The Hostel is a stone's throw away from the wonderful Danube river with a lovely promenade running along the bank, which leads right to Boráros Square, a central connection point of public transport, with the stop of the newly introduced regular boat sailing along the river presenting the view of the major sights and also stops of major tram lines (4, 6 and 2) that take you virtually any part of the city in just a few minutes. USEFUL AND IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT THE HOSTEL: Please note that we accept credit cards and cash both in both Euros and Hungarian Forints. A bank machine just round the corner is also available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Agoda and HostelWorld so you can book your Budapest Budget Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing