We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good for what it is!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Budapest Budget Hostel
Ranked #29 of 653 Speciality Lodging in Budapest
Certificate of Excellence
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Very good for what it is!”
Reviewed 18 January 2014

This hostel is exactly what it says it is- a budget hostel, so don't expect anymore! It's a charming place with very friendly staff. The rooms are basic but nice, likewise for the toilet. I was worried about communal toilets but they are nothing to worry about, they are clean and perfectly usable and I never saw them in a bad state. The breakfast was good too! I would definitely return here. The only problem which stopped me rating it excellent is sometimes at the end of showers, the water would go a bit cold. Still a lovely place and a majority of my shower time was warm!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cina95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laco P, Manager at Budapest Budget Hostel, responded to this review, 20 January 2014
Thank you for the good review! Yes we are aware about the showers are not always have enough capacity, that's exactly when groups are accommodated - we'll try to do something whit that!

Best regards:
BBH
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

212 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    106
    76
    25
    4
    1
See reviews for
9
47
39
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Milan, Italy
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 January 2014 via mobile

We just finished our stay at the B & B hotel. The hostel is located in a good area, easy access to the center. Rooms have the bare minimum, kitchen and bathroom are shared and are quite comfortable. a tip: bring your sheets from home. for having paid 15 € per night (promotion) we can not complain!

Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Marcoali14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laco P, Manager at Budapest Budget Hostel, responded to this review, 3 January 2014
Thank you for your comment! We pay for a laundry company for washing the sheets, we didn't have a problem with them before, but we'll check whats up with the sheets!

Thank you ;)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sesto San Giovanni, Italy
2 reviews
Reviewed 2 January 2014 via mobile

I'd just left the Budget Hostel and i think it's a nice and economic place where sleep 2-3 night with friends, for more nights couls be a bit unconfortable becouse the bathroom its in common! The room are spacious but not very clean! In short, dont bring here your girlfriend ;)

Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank guarne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laco P, Manager at Budapest Budget Hostel, responded to this review, 3 January 2014
Thank you for your opinion!

Well we have rooms with private bathroom too, but yes sometimes when the hostel is very very crowded like the new years eve period, the common facilities are crowded too, sorry if it made you uncomfortable - it's not usual!

Best regards!
;)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Garbsen, Germany
1 review
Reviewed 30 December 2013

well, i enjoyed every minute of my stay, i did not expect the Hilton so i was not disappointed. I had a privateroom, clean, and good size, fresh bedlinen, helpful staff.... what else u can expect? :) the kitchen, outside area is great too especially if u want to meet lads you would never meet otherwise

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Smirr78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laco P, Manager at Budapest Budget Hostel, responded to this review, 2 January 2014
Thank you for your feedback! We wish you a Happy New Year!
;)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amiens, France
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 December 2013

It's in the Pest part of Budapest, which is the most animated. Public transportation are pretty close. I'm surprised by the bad comments on cleanness cause for me it was ok.
Staff was helpful and nice. We booked a 4 bed private room for 3 nights, and for the last night we were only 2 left. They let us use the same room without paying for the empty beds.
There is also a left luggage is you still have time to wander around before your flight.

Room Tip: We had a private 4 bedroom on the first floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Rabididounette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Krakow, Poland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2013

I were there with group of friends. Localization is fine - close to tram, on foot around 20 minutes to city center, rooms OK – big, nice, beds with fresh bed linen. Hole building works with “chip” keys - so you don't need to worry about your safety or your staff. One big minus - bathrooms are terrible! Very very ugly, quite old and very dirty. If you go there only to sleep it's OK - but remember that it's not a hotel so don't aspect to have luxury :)

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank rampampam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Petersburg, Russia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 October 2013

Working at the reception are very friendly and responsive staff! Convenient location, close to metro, tram and embankment of the Danube.Near the hostel there are shops.Near the hostel there are shops. Many cafes.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
2 Thank Ivanova V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Budapest hotels
Terézváros
Friends Hostel Budapest
Friends Hostel Budapest
#27 of 653 in Budapest
338 reviews
Belváros-Lipótváros
Full Moon Design Hostel Budapest
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Marco Polo Top Ho(s)tel
Marco Polo Top Ho(s)tel
#45 of 653 in Budapest
368 reviews
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Maverick City Lodge
Maverick City Lodge
#5 of 653 in Budapest
869 reviews
Casa De La Musica Hostel
#42 of 653 in Budapest
276 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Budapest Budget Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Budapest Budget Hostel

Property: Budapest Budget Hostel
Address: Ipar utca 21, Budapest 1095, Hungary
Region: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest
Amenities:
Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 653 Speciality Lodging in Budapest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Budapest Budget Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Budapest Budget Hostel offers you a unique deal: we offer low prices without a compromise on quality - you get the best value for your money staying in our cozy and quiet place. Our best value policy guarantees you a great number of advantages for a real budget price: 24-hour reception service, magnetic-chip keys that allow you a maximum freedom of coming and going, free Wi-Fi in all areas of the hostel along with several guest computers for your use (free of charge), fully equipped kitchens on all floors, a coffee machine, lockers and a safe at the reception.The price includes the bed linen and sheets and for a very small extra fee we also provide anything else to make your stay comfortable: towels (€1) - the 1st one/person is free, a safe private parking lot (8€/night) - free for direct bookers, and printing possibility at the reception. Our reputedly friendly, helpful, up-to-date and well-informed staff is always at your service - no matter what you need we do our best to help you! ABOUT THE HOSTEL AND ROOMS: Our hostel features spacious, decent and comfortable rooms inside a beautiful, unique, more than one hundred- year-old building - once the property of the Zwack Unicum liqueur factory, a true Hungarian specialty. Your safe magnetic-chip based key allows you entrance at any time of the day. The Hostel is a stone's throw away from the wonderful Danube river with a lovely promenade running along the bank, which leads right to Boráros Square, a central connection point of public transport, with the stop of the newly introduced regular boat sailing along the river presenting the view of the major sights and also stops of major tram lines (4, 6 and 2) that take you virtually any part of the city in just a few minutes. USEFUL AND IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT THE HOSTEL: Please note that we accept credit cards and cash both in both Euros and Hungarian Forints. A bank machine just round the corner is also available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Odigeo, Priceline, HostelWorld and Agoda so you can book your Budapest Budget Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing