We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Cool, comfortable, gorgeous, friendly, central” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Brody House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Brody House
Ranked #2 of 188 Budapest B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Cool, comfortable, gorgeous, friendly, central”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2012

I almost don't want to review so the cats not out of the bag!
But it is all so great here they deserve lots of recognition for the huge amount of thought and love that has gone into designing and running Brody House. And people who visit should know this makes for a wonderful experience in Budapest.

Go here if you love being a temporary local, design, art, cool people and cool things. Don't go here if you are looking for a general hotel experience.

Stunning rooms, clean, arty, self contained. Yusuke is perfect for 2 bestie travellers or 2 couples. Central to everything, staff fab, absolutely lovely on every level. Thank you! :)

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank transparentgem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Public Relations Manager at Brody House, responded to this review, 3 July 2012
Many thanks for taking the time to let the cat out of the bag.... we truly appreciate your kind words and hope to see you again soon.

Best wishes,

Krisztina.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

585 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    517
    49
    15
    3
    1
See reviews for
47
335
43
35
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (159)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2012

Stayed here for 2 nights ,We were in Budapest for 4 but unfortunately couldnot get any vacancy for first 2 nights .We stayed in Bodem Art Hotel for other 2 which was good but rooms were small so Brody House was a fantastic welcome.Wish we stayed all four here.Next time will book earlier.
The staff are so friendly and helpful. The place has a unique peaceful,restful feel. THe rooms are lovely ,breakfast good.Beds great especialy after Bodem as could stretch out without touching the walls. You would need to be at least 20foot long. !!!! I recommend Brody house for location, something unique and different and luxurious without being the same and boring.Only very small thing is that it is slightly hard to find so unlike us be sure to note the house number as there is no sign .You will walk the whole long street otherwise like us.!!!Only a small thing and easily forgotten once you find it. I cannot wait to go back

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank marie m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Public Relations Manager at Brody House, responded to this review, 3 July 2012
Many thanks for taking the time to write about us and hope that in the future e can accommodate you here at Brody House during your whole stay.

Best wishes,

Krisztina.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
40 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2012

Wonderfully quiet location and certainly the beds were excellent. The decor was wonderful and bathrooms were luxurious. The staff were so friendly and helpful with restaurant recommendations ( and booking) and on how to get to the airport. Wifi connection is excellent. Breakfast was delicious and the eating/lounge area had great atmosphere. There was also a lovely Italian cafe down the street for the odd espresso later in the day. The only issue for some people might be the stairs as there are no lifts. I would not stay anywhere else in Budapest!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Louise1512
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle
Level Contributor
43 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 May 2012

Only stayed 2 nights but loved this place.beds were the best I've ever slept in. The cleverbway the place has been set up and decorated is a cresit to the ownersand operators. I just loved this place and would hifhly recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wq9hana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 May 2012

My husband and I stayed here recently for our 5th wedding anniversary. It was a wonderful experience. Our room (Alex Tinei room) was amazing. We loved every second of it!

The staff and Brody House were very friendly and helpful when we were trying to choose from their varied rooms, and when we were looking for somewhere special to go for a meal to celebrate our anniversary. The hotel has a really lovely feel about it. The reception desk is staffed from early morning until 8pm each day, but if you are arriving outside this time they will arrange to meet you.

The club rooms (the relaxation area) have a few sofas and tables where you can just relax, read a book and have a drink from the honesty bar. There is a grand piano, violin and a guitar in these rooms. Other reviews have mentioned that this is a good area to meet people. Each time we were in these rooms they were empty, so it very much depends on who is staying in the hotel, but we were very happy to enjoy the living area ourselves.

The breakfast was lovely: croissants, jams, fruit, cereals, onion bread, cheese, fruit juices, coffee (and they will serve tea if you ask). You can also order eggs for extra cost.

On a practical note, the hotel is difficult to find. There is no sign (just a small intercom on the door). On entry it seems like you are in a derelict building, but in a nice way! The reception is on the second floor (with no lift so don't carry your cases up the stairs if you are staying in the rooms across the courtyard as you will have to carry them back down and then up another set of stairs!) Also, we stayed in May and it was quite warm in our room at night, There is a fan provided but I think it may possibly be very warm in the summer at night.

In conclusion, we will definitely be back to stay here. I have already recommended it to many of my friends. It is one of the most interesting and enjoyable places I have ever stayed.

Thank you Brody House!

Room Tip: The Alex Tinei room faces onto a courtyard with a small area to sit in front of the room and relax o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JEM011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston
Level Contributor
77 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2012

Loved our night at Brody House. Great location and excellent accomodations. We stayed in the two-room apartment and it was nice to have such amazing space in our digs. Can't wait to stay here again in the future.

Room Tip: Just ask! The staff was so lovely about upgrading us...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RJMcLeod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2012

My mother, sister, boyfriend and I stayed in the Brody House over the Easter long weekend and it was a fantastic home base. We had a flat on the ground floor across the courtyard. It was a great combination of old architecture, modern decor and artistic detail. The bathroom was also fantastic. The staff were very helpful... keeping our bags, providing us an onion, lending DVDs and calling taxis. We enjoyed using the member lounges to have a drink and a chat. Budapest is a great compact city and we had the choice of walking or taking the metro (there are two stations near by). Even though we were quite central, it was very peaceful in the hotel and it was nice to wake up to birdsong. A great stay.

Room Tip: Our ground floor flat was perfect for four people
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cherrytea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Budapest hotels
Hotel Palazzo Zichy
#4 of 342 in Budapest
5.0 of 5 bubbles 4,549 reviews
District V / Inner City
Aria Hotel Budapest by Library Hotel Collection
Andrássy út
Hotel Moments Budapest
Hotel Moments Budapest
#2 of 342 in Budapest
5.0 of 5 bubbles 816 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
District V / Inner City
Four Seasons Hotel Gresham Palace
District V / Inner City
Prestige Hotel Budapest
Prestige Hotel Budapest
#7 of 342 in Budapest
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,101 reviews
District V / Inner City
Hotel Parlament
Hotel Parlament
#6 of 342 in Budapest
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,073 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Brody House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brody House

Property: Brody House
Address: Brody Sandor utca 10, Budapest 1088, Hungary
Region: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 188 B&Bs / Inns in Budapest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Brody House 4.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Brody House is Budapest's first private members' club and private guesthouse, offering international travellers (members & non-members) an intriguing hip place to stay. With eight individually designed double bedrooms and an apartment, each showcasing the work of young contemporary artists, Brody House offers something unique. With fairly priced room furnished in a ruggedly elegant style, Brody House is a hip yet intimate base in central downtown Pest, offering guests discreet personal service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Brody House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brody House Hotel Budapest

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing