We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Brody House
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Reviews (710)
Filter reviews
710 results
Traveller rating
629
59
16
5
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
629
59
16
5
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshonesty barbrody studiosphoto roomludo roomhonor barmembers clubroll top bathsweeping staircasequirky hotelgrand staircaseno liftnational museumcommunal areasbeautiful old buildingjewish quarterhigh ceilingshome from home
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
429 - 434 of 710 reviews
Reviewed 7 May 2014

We stayed end of April and had a great time. Brody house has a very special atmosphere which we liked immediately. Arriving with an early morning flight first thing we did was dumping our luggage and having breakfast before exploring the city. The staff is very friendly and helpful and the hotel is situated in the inner city but in a quiet area, a lot of things are well within walking distance. Klaudia was very helpful when the heating system didn't work in our room (the print studio, lots of space and very nicely furnished) the first evening, she really tried everything to get it fixed and finally offered us another room when it became clear that they were not able to get it working that night (easter monday). We turned that offer down as we went out for dinner anyhow and then headed straight to bed. After a few glasses of wine on the house at the 'honesty bar' (excellent idea) offered by Klaudia for the inconvenience and dinner in a nearby restaurant we fell sound asleep in the comfortable bed and the next day everything was working fine and we had it warm and cozy afterwards. We would certainly recommend this place to anyone we know and hope ourselves to be back again one day.

Room Tip: Apparently there are rooms without real windows, or windows that are above the door and open only towards the hallway.
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nicole f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2014

What a great place to stay in a beautiful city. Brody House is an unassuming building from the outside, but a real gem as soon as you enter. From the soft lighted lobby, to the grand staircase, to the stylish, bohemian interior designs in every room, there is something to see around every corner.

This is balanced perfectly by the staff who were all very professional and attentive, particularly Klaudia (who waited for my late arrival in Budapest) and Szilvi (something of an expert with Canon printers!), both of whom were full of personality, friendly, and helpful as could be. The optional continental breakfast at 8 euros offers a fulfilling start to the day, and extras can be ordered separately.

I stayed in the The Agi Room, which was clean, spacious, light and of course very stylish. It had a small balcony overlooking the courtyard below. If I had to find one gripe, it would be the motion-sensor which turned the light on in the lavatory, which was over-sensitive to movement and as a result you feel like you have to 'keep things moving' for the light to remain on!

A thoroughly recommended place to stay for a visit to Budapest, with a great central location. I just wished I'd have spent more time discovering the other facilities that Brody Studios had to offer, so maybe a return trip needs to be planned :)

Room Tip: The Agi Room was a fantastic en-suite double room (also available with twin beds). It was quiet, sunny, comfortable with a great air-con system.
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cuppanukka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2014

Weekend stay at Brody house as a group of 14. The whole party was blown away by the hotel, the rooms, service and food on offer. Dinner at Brody Studios is a must. I would recommend this to anyone....

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Simon A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2014

We stayed at Brody House for 4 nights in March, which was a lovely time to visit Budapest. The hotel is situated in a great place close to the Danube, and also close to the Jewish Quarter which had great restaurants and ruin bars. It has a lovely entrance hall and courtyard, and the reception rooms are filled with amazing art and furniture. We stayed in 'The Shoebox' and 'The Photo Room'; the shoebox was cosy and we enjoyed the mezzanine, and the photo room is beautiful with a very comfy bed! Throughout our stay Klaudia really looked after us and was so friendly. We'd love to come again and would definitely recommend it.
Thanks!
Charlotte and Cathal x

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Charlotte H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2014

Overall an excellent accommodation choice. I stayed here with my wife as part of a honeymoon trip around Hungary. A bottle of bubbly was given free and a bottle of wine when we had dinner at nearby Brody Studios. Lots of advise and help was given when requested. To be clear however, this is not a five star hotel but you re not paying five star prices; in fact this is more like staying in a private members club. We both felt very at home and very comfortable in the rooms (stayed in two different ones) and just hanging out in the lounge area. Some negative reviews noted the stairs or temperature etc and yes, we had problems with consistent hot water in the shower in both rooms but overall this did not impact in a bad way. If your looking for a 'Hilton' experience then go stay there and pay loads more than you should for anonymous and boring accommodation, but if your looking for something quirky, arty and very much in touch with the city it is in (past and present) then go to Brody House.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Simon G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews