We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent choice for first timer in Budapest”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Fraser Residence Budapest
Ranked #22 of 336 Hotels in Budapest
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 June 2014

Much easier to find than I was led to believe but some more prominent signage viewable from Ulloi would help. We took the cheap option, we are Scottish, and took the 200E bus and then Metro to Klinkak. Exit the Metro turn right on to the main street, Ullio, walk to third street on the right and the Fraser residence is about 200 yards along on the left. It is fair to say that I "Streetviewed" on Google before leaving home.
Having arrived we were very pleased with our apartment. Modern, very clean and with everything we could need.
Breakfast is as good a continental offering as you will get anywhere with everything being very fresh and plentiful. It is completely self service and can get very busy at times but the staff work extremely hard at clearing tables and topping up supplies that waiting is kept to a minimum.
We made good use of the washer drier and when we return, and it will be quite soon, we will bring less luggage.
Being self catering is no issue as there is Corvin Mall and Lidl supermarket very close at hand, just turn left from the front door and walk a couple of hundred yards.
Excellent sound proofing and the air conditioning system make for a very comfortable stay. We only had the tv on twice in the week but there is an extensive range of channels available.
But the best thing about the Fraser Residence is the close proximity to Budapest's fabulously integrated transport system. About 500 yards further down Ulloi is Corvin Negyed tram and metro station and from here you can get to anywhere in Budapest very quickly and easily.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank varisian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,243)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

519 - 525 of 1,243 reviews

Reviewed 5 June 2014

Our one-bedroom suite was attractive and spacious, the bed extremely comfortable, our sleep undisturbed over five nights. The buffet breakfast (included) was lavish, and the genial ever-present general manager took time every morning to engage us in conversation about the city and the residence's service. I have to think hard to come up with even a minor criticism (eg, the well- equipped kitchen lacked a good knife for cutting and a breadboard). The Fraser Residence is well located in District VIII, next to the giant Corvin commercial development (and with it shares attractive fresh postmodern design), minutes away from the #4 tram line and perhaps a 20 minute walk to the heart of Budapest's old town.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank islander37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FRBudapestmanager, General Manager at Fraser Residence Budapest, responded to this reviewResponded 6 June 2014

Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you for your positive feedback about Fraser Residence Budapest posted on Tripadvisor.com. I’m pleased that you took advantage to book directly thru our website our ‘Special offer”. It’s always pleasure to read; that you not only appreciated the flexibility, advantages of apartment living with the services of a 4 star hotel; but particularly the comfort of our “very spacious” Suite (offering in average twice the size of a standard hotel room.)

As it’s very important for us not just to keep our standards but to always be on the lookout to improve them! I’m glad that “you took the time to think hard to come up with even a minor criticism” :) We immediately checked all the kitchens knives and replaced the ones which aren’t cutting and added breadboards.

Thank you once again for your kind feedbacks, support and I do look forward to welcoming you back to the Fraser Residence Budapest in the near future. Don't hesitate to contact us directly or to visit our website to take advantage of our latest special offers.

Kind regards,

Alain Goetschel | General Manager
Fraser Residence Budapest

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2014

We booked two rooms at the Frasier Residence for one night (May 14, 2014) as we were to arrive one day early for a two week Viking Cruise that began in Budapest on May 15. However, our flight from Austin, TX to Budapest got canceled due to a fire at Chicago O'Hare and we could not get to Budapest until May 15 when we had to board the ship. Our reservation with Fraser was through booking.com and was prepaid and non cancelable. Mr. Alain Goetschel the general manager of the hotel, refunded our money when he learned about our flight being canceled. We were barely able to get another flight out the next day and were lucky to get to the ship before it sailed. It was very kind of Mr. Goetshcel to give us the refund and we really appreciate it. We will definitely stay at this hotel next time we're in Budapest.

We had just the opposite experience with the Novotel Bayeux, France near the end of our vacation where the hotel canceled our guaranteed reservation due to being overbooked and didn't find us alternative accommodations.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RFD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FRBudapestmanager, General Manager at Fraser Residence Budapest, responded to this reviewResponded 6 June 2014

Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you very much for sharing your kind appreciation on Tripadvisor.
Most importantly I’m truly happy that you could manage to catch up and could enjoy your cruise!
Despite your booking at the Fraser Residence Budapest was pre paid/ non refundable;
It was clearly a case of “force majeure” as we could learn it on all the news channels; therefore it was normal (in such cases) that we accepted to exceptionally refund your pre paid stay without any hesitation.

We hope that next time you will be planning a trip in Europe you’ll include Budapest; as it’s a fantastic/ must see city. I do look forward to welcoming you to the Fraser Residence Budapest as guest in the near future.

Warm regards,
Alain Goetschel | General Manager
Fraser Residence Budapest

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2014

After using trip advisor we decided to stay at Fraser Residence Apartments in Budapest. We were not disappointed. The rooms are just like the photos so no problems with that. Breakfast was great every morning and the variety did suit us. The fact that the General Manager - (Alain) of the hotel is in most morning to check on guests and things adds to the brilliant service! The location is great - mall around the corner literally and a Lidl Supermarket around the other corner adds to the convenience. The metro station is about 3 blocks down. We had a superb time and problems we encountered were fixed quickly and resolved to my satisfaction. The Reception staff are most helpful and all could speak good English and assist with questions we had. The rooms are cleaned daily, the WI FI is good (a must for hubby). It was a great stay and we highly recommend this property. We would like to go back next year and we will stay here again without even looking anywhere else. We stayed here for 7 nights.

Room Tip: Don't get a room facing the road...... rather opt for back room facing the garden.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LouisaSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FRBudapestmanager, General Manager at Fraser Residence Budapest, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2014

Dear Valued Guest,Thank you so much for this praising feedback regarding your recent stay at our Hotel as well as your recommendation! I was extremely happy to read that you felt extremely well in our Hotel and that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay with us.

Also please allow me to thank you for your recognition of our staff, highlighting our Reception staff for their efforts in making you feel so pampered and special. We do consider ourselves fortunate to have such talented employees and it is truly because of them that we enjoy the fine reputation we have achieved, nonetheless, it is most meaningful hearing it from our guests.

The Farser Residence Budapest team and I are looking forward welcoming you back next year. Please contact us directly and we will make sure you have an even better TIME!!!

Sincerely,
Alain Goetschel
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2014

We booked a studio apartment for the two of us, the apartment was spacious, fully equipped kitchen, king size bed seating area and dining area, it was all spotless and cleaned daily, the bathroom had all you needed including hairdryer, and as much hot water as needed. We had free WiFi in the room with a really strong signal.
The thing that made it special for me was the breakfast, there was so much choice and, as I have coeliac disease, I had asked in advance if they had anything which was gluten free. They went out of their way to provide me with a wonderful array of gluten free options, I couldn't have asked for more and I was not made to feel a nuisance.
The staff were all very friendly and helpful. The hotel was close to the metro, there was a shopping plaza very close which had some lovely shops and a restaurants and a large supermarket. If we are lucky enough to travel to Budapest again we would definitely stay here again and I highly recommend it.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bron001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FRBudapestmanager, General Manager at Fraser Residence Budapest, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2014

Dear Valued Guest, I would like to thank you for the kind words you left on Tripadvisor. I am glad to read that we have such a cherished and high position in your heart.
I am pleased to hear that you felt the „Warm welcoming feeling and every luxury you require to make this a home from home”. This is really our ultimate goal; make everyone feel at home it does not matter if for only one night, three months or longer. Rest assured we will keep our service at high level and where possible improve them with the aim to produce an even more enjoyable experience

There is nothing more motivating for us than receiving feedback like yours. We constantly strive to exceed our guest’s expectations of service and it is always satisfying to hear that these efforts are noticed. I shall ensure that all of your kind comments and praises are passed on to all the staff.

Thank you for choosing us for your stay in Budapest and I hope to be able to see you back with a warm welcoming in the near future.

Warm regards,

Alain Goetschel | General Manager
Fraser Residence Budapest

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2014

We have just returned from Budapest where we stayed at the Fraser Residence. The apartments were fantastic - beautiful furnishings, BIG comfortable bed, fully equipped kitchen and very comfortable sitting room with large modern television, smart bathroom - and everything was spotlessly clean. The Breakfasts were lovely, no complaints at all, only small concern was that the dining room was quite small and tended to get overfull especially on one cool morning, when you couldn't sit outside.

Staff couldn't have been more helpful and friendly. They were always available for information on directions, metro stops etc, lovely people.

The Residences are ideally situated, a short walk to the Metro, two stops and you were there by the River. Also just another short walk away there is a huge modern shopping centre. We found on our last day one floor that had a huge hall where you had a choice of Indian, Chinese, Burgers and of course Hungarian Food - and so cheap.

Don't be put off by the 'derelict' building opposite - it is brilliant local pub! We spent most nights in there, drinks were so cheap - 2 pints of Hungarian Beer and 2 half pints for £4.50!!!

I read that if you were over 65 you could use your bus pass. Be warned though this worked wonderfully until we were stopped on the Metro and asked for our passports to confirm our age, we didn't carry them with us, they let us go, but be warned you can be stopped at stations at any time, so if you are willing to risk carrying your passports with you will be ok. No trouble on the local buses, they hardly glance at them. Try and get the hop on hop off bus booked, they have good deals, and they include 2 trips on the Danube, day time and evening, and we had a free one hour bike ride on St. Margaret's Island. Another tip always have plenty of small change for the toilets - varying from 50p to one pound equivalent in Hungarian money. Staff in the toilets can get quite agitated if you do not have the correct money.

All in all a lovely experience, lovely people, most young people speak good English and are very helpful.

Room Tip: There is a pretty garden, it would have been nice to have that view, but the front is quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sue619
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FRBudapestmanager, General Manager at Fraser Residence Budapest, responded to this reviewResponded 4 June 2014

Dear valued Guest,

We are thrilled to read that we could contribute to making a "perfect holiday" in Budapest at our hotel. Thank you very much for your compliment on our apartments „fantastic - beautiful furnishings and BIG comfortable beds”. Your words of appreciation are very well received.

I hope that during you next stay you’ll be able to enjoy the beautifully restored historical building you are referring to; across our property. This building that was the center stage of a novel “The Paul Street Boys” that was written by a very famous Hungarian-born dramatist and novelist “Ferenc Molnar’. I’m happy that you enjoyed the charm of their Pub and more than reasonable prices indeed :)

It’s true when we are running at full occupancy; that the breakfast room can be a little crampy on some rare occasions. To improve the comfort of our guests; we took the decision to enlarge the lounge very soon. Now that the warmer days have finally arrived; our guest can enjoy breakfast “al fresco” in our lovely, relaxing garden terrace.

We are very much looking forward to welcoming you back for many more memorable holidays in Budapest at the Fraser Residence. Please count on our helpful and friendly reception/ guest relation team to explore our beautiful capital further upon your future visits.

Yours sincerely,
Alain Goetschel | General Manager
Fraser Residence Budapest

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2014

We booked the Fraser apartment as we needed access to a washing machine during an extended trip. We liked the spaciousness of our one-bedroom apartment, with plenty storage space. It was clean and comfortable if a bit charmless. Being on the first floor at the front the street could be noisy at times. Bathroom was big and the bath was appreciated. The included breakfast was very good. The gentleman on the reception desk in the evening was most pleasant and informative. Most of all we liked the location, just round the corner from the Corvin Plaza shopping mall: there was entertainment and food and craft stalls all weekend, very lively. The large CBA supermarket in the mall basement was very convenient. Transport OK too, Metro 3 being pretty near. The apartment was very good value, too.

Room Tip: Try to avoid a room lower down at the front as it can be noisy at times!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fiona R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FRBudapestmanager, General Manager at Fraser Residence Budapest, responded to this reviewResponded 3 June 2014

Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you for your positive feedback about Fraser Residence Budapest posted on Tripadvisor.com. It’s always pleasure to read; that you not only appreciated the flexibility, advantages of apartment living with the services of a 4 star hotel; but particularly enjoyed the comfort of our “very spacious” Suite (offering in average twice the size of a standard hotel room.), the big bathroom as well as our location.

I do look forward to welcoming you back to the Fraser Residence Budapest in the near future. Don't hesitate to contact us directly so that we can try our utmost (according to our availability) to allocate a high floor or garden view room.

Warm regards,
Alain Goetschel | General Manager
Fraser Residence Budapest

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Budapest hotels
Bo18 Hotel Superior
#21 of 336 in Budapest
1,390 reviews
Hotel Palazzo Zichy
#4 of 336 in Budapest
5,044 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
District V / Inner City
The Three Corners Hotel Art
The Three Corners Hotel Art
#48 of 336 in Budapest
788 reviews
District V / Inner City
Bohem Art Hotel
Bohem Art Hotel
#15 of 336 in Budapest
2,577 reviews
Terézváros
Opera Garden Hotel & Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fraser Residence Budapest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fraser Residence Budapest

Address: 31 Nagytemplom utca, Budapest 1082, Hungary
Phone Number:
Region: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Budapest
#5 Family Hotel in Budapest
#13 Romantic Hotel in Budapest
#19 Luxury Hotel in Budapest
Price Range: £44 - £130 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Fraser Residence Budapest 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Fraser Residence Budapest is centrally located on the Pest-side of the city, just off the Corvin Promenade, close to many bars, restaurants and shops. For short or long-term stays "Enjoy the flexibility of luxury apartment living with the services, advantages of a 4* superior hotel," including state-of-the-art technology and friendly, multilingual staff at your service 24/7. Both business and leisure guests will appreciate following facilities and services: - Free high-speed wireless internet - 24/7 reception and concierge. - Breakfast lounge serving continental buffet breakfast - Daily housekeeping service - Fast maintenance service - Welcome tray with tea and coffee - Welcome hamper for stays of 30 nights or more - Secure underground car park (subject to availability)* - Airport transfer* - Laundry and dry-cleaning services* - Order-in restaurant facility - menus available at reception* - Access to nearby fitness centre with swimming pool, saunas, Jacuzzis and day care for children* - Business facilities and services - Two air-conditioned meeting rooms in the penthouse, seating 15- 20 guests theatre-style or in a U-shape • both meeting rooms have large windows for natural daylight and can be darkened completely for presentations • Flipcharts, projectors, screens and other meeting equipment available • Roof terrace or indoor space available for coffee breaks or parties • Catering by arrangement - Business centre * Applicable charges. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Fraser Residence Budapest reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fraser Residence Budapest Hotel Budapest

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing