We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Mrs_Tyagi
Antwerp, Belgium

Great Location But Disappointing and Overpriced Hotel

2.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 11 Sept 2019
The rooms were disappointing. There was a strong smell of smoke (or horrible room refreshener) which made it hard to be in the room. The mattress had springs coming out which made it incredibly difficult to sleep. It stated that the hotel had ironing and tea and coffee facilities but there was no kettle or ironing board to be found. In fact, the hotel had only ONE kettle which I had to ask to borrow. For a so called 4 star hotel I found this very odd.

Furthermore, every time you entered the room and put the key card in the slot to activate the electricity, the tv went on. So if anyone left the room in the morning and returned, the other person would wake up. I had booked this hotel six months before our arrival and requested a quiet room with a double bed for our anniversary. Upon arrival I received a room with twin beds close to the elevator. Whatever excuses they had about not having any space and not being able to move us for our ENTIRE stay (5 days) I could not accept. They had six months to accommodate our requests. The receptionist offered to put something around the mattress for the next night so it turns the beds into one 'double bed' but that never happened. The breakfast was okay at best.

The staff were friendly and the location was superb. We enjoyed the city but we did not enjoy our hotel stay and would definitely not return. This hotel was way overpriced for what it offered.
Date of stay: September 2019
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
£169
  • Expedia.com
    £167
  • Agoda.com
    £121
  • Hotels.com
    £167
0.2 miles from La Prima Fashion Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
£233
  • Hotels.com
    £287
  • Vio.com
    £169
  • Expedia.com
    £239
0.6 miles from La Prima Fashion Hotel
Free Wifi
Room service
£231
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    £232
  • Vio.com
    £152
  • Hotels.com
    £231
0.5 miles from La Prima Fashion Hotel
Free Wifi
Restaurant
£180
  • Expedia.com
    £156
  • Vio.com
    £135
  • Hotels.com
    £180
1.0 miles from La Prima Fashion Hotel
Free Wifi
Bar/Lounge
£159
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
    £186
  • Vio.com
    £140
  • Priceline
    £178
0.7 miles from La Prima Fashion Hotel
Free Wifi
Pool
£211
  • Expedia.com
    £219
  • Vio.com
    £178
  • Hotels.com
    £218
0.4 miles from La Prima Fashion Hotel
Free Wifi
£180
  • Expedia.com
    £190
  • Agoda.com
    £151
  • Hotels.com
    £189
1.1 miles from La Prima Fashion Hotel
Free Wifi
Restaurant
£248
  • Expedia.com
    £248
  • Vio.com
    £223
  • Hotels.com
    £248
0.9 miles from La Prima Fashion Hotel
Free Wifi
Pool
Exterior view
£198
  • Novotel
    £198
  • Expedia.com
    £197
  • Hotels.com
    £197
1.2 miles from La Prima Fashion Hotel
Free Wifi
Restaurant
£515
  • Expedia.com
    £517
  • InterContinental
    £351
  • Hotels.com
    £515
0.3 miles from La Prima Fashion Hotel
Pool
Restaurant
View more hotels in Budapest
Reviews (2,025)
Filter reviews
2,025 results
Traveller rating
949
816
203
36
21
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
949
816
203
36
21
Show reviews that mention
All reviews great location the river the main shopping street elizabeth bridge coffee machine breakfast room recommend this hotel reception staff within walking distance the hotel is clean christmas market cold meats excellent hotel stayed here for nights reception area on foot city
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
117 - 122 of 2,025 reviews
Reviewed 1 September 2019

The walls in the room were stained, there was pink mold in the shower, the mattress was filthy and hadn’t been cleaned in forever by the look of the stains, dust and amount of hair from other guests on it. (Photos included) The bathroom sink barely drained and felt unhygienic. Towels were so thin and rough I mistook them for being the floor towel most hotels give you to step on when you get out of the shower. Everything was generally worn out, and did not at all give the impression of a 4 star hotel. We did not even bother to complain as I don’t see how the staff could have fixed any of the issues besides deep cleaning their mattresses. On a positive note, we searched the mattress thoroughly for bed bugs, and didn’t see signs of any...

The staff was ok, and the breakfast wasn’t as bad as other guests have described. They did have a decent selection although in a cramped windowless room in the basement. Location wise it is good as well, but none of this is enough to make me give anything but a 1 star review or return to this hotel. I stay in Budapest a lot, and there are too many great hotels in this price range to waste money here.

Date of stay: August 2019
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank SandraSteffe
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Nemes_Robert, Hotel Director at La Prima Fashion Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 September 2019

Dear SandraSteffe,

I would like to say thank you for writing down your thoughts and impressions about La Prima Fashion Hotel in detail, we can learn a lot from your words.
It is really important to know our guest’s thoughts, and opinions. I regert that some areas of our hotel did not meet you expectations. I appreciate though that you highlighted the deficiencies that you came accross. From these constructive feedbacks we learn about the issues that need to focused on and taken care of. I can assure you that I have consulted with the area managers and urged for trainings to be implemented in order to improve the guests’ satisfaction. I am happy that overall you were satisfied with our staff and location, which is indeed outstanding.
It would be an honour if you gave us one more chance to prove our professionalism and that La Prima Fashion Hotel is still a good place to stay when visiting Budapest.

Yours faithfully,
Róbert Nemes
Hotel Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2019

Perfect location! Right on Vaci street. Very convenient to just walk out to all the main attractions in Budapest.
The staff were very friendly, breakfast was a nice touch.
They have family rooms (meaning, adjoining rooms, with a separating door), which was perfect for a family with 2 kids.

Date of stay: August 2019
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Roni R
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Nemes_Robert, Hotel Director at La Prima Fashion Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 September 2019

Dear Roni R,

Thank you very much for staying in La Prima Fashion Hotel and sharing your thoughts with us and other travelers here, on Tripadvisor.
I am glad to learn from your kind review that you had enjoyed your stay. It is great that you recognized so many aspects of our hotel, and especially that you pointed out your satisfaction with the friendly staff and with the perfect location of our hotel. I also value that you highlighted our breakfast buffet too.
It would be our greatest pleasure to have you back, please do not hesitate to contact us directly, should your travel plans bring you back to the area.

Best regards,
Róbert Nemes
Hotel Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2019 via mobile

A very warm welcome on arrival. The transfer from airport organised through hotel was good time saver.

The room, very well equipped with coffee machine, tv, good decor.

The breakfast is really good, scrambled egg so nice with sausage, cold meats and cheese, yoghurts, pastries, cereals incl cornflakes. Fruit juices, fruit. Had a great breakfast to set you up fir the day.

Bed really comfy - pleasantly surprised. Staff very courteous and room made nice daily.

Location perfect for sightseeing - very central - walking distance to many restaurants.

Highly recommend.

Date of stay: August 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
3  Thank chrismV4714YT
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 24 August 2019 via mobile

Excellent location! Basic room is small, but we managed to upgrade the room and that was absolutely worth every single penny. Not luxorius but good breakfast and froendly service. I absolutely could come back to this nice place. I warmly recommend this place.

Date of stay: August 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank 577hannaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 12 August 2019

Very good location, just meters away from Vaci utca, the main pedestrian street of Budapest., and a minute's walk from the promenade along the Danube.

The room itself was spacious enough, very clean, and facing an inner courtyard, so it was very quiet. The only complaint is about the shower cubicle, which is so small that you constantly hit the sides while taking a shower.

Everyone at the reception was helpful and efficient, breakfast is good and varied enough, although the (basement) dining room could fo with some face lifting.

All in all a very good choice when looking for a 4 star hotel at a reasonable price.

Room tip: Room 401 seems larger than other rooms on the floor due to it's location at the end of the corridor. Perhaps all x01 rooms are the same.
Date of stay: July 2019
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 1Class
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Nemes_Robert, Hotel Director at La Prima Fashion Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2019

Dear 1Class,

Thank you very much for staying with us at La Prima Fashion Hotel and for your time to write a review about our hotel on the TripAdvisor website.
Thank you for taking the time to share the review and feedback with everyone. I am delighted to read that you were impressed by our great location, I hope you could easily discover our lovely city. Also, it is amazing that you found our staff helpful and efficient, they always do their very best. Moreover, thank you for highlighting our clean and spacious rooms as well as the great breakfast too.
I hope you will be in touch again shortly for the next trip back Budapest, our team is looking forward to helping you.

Kind Regards,
Róbert Nemes
Hotel Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews