We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hostel #home feeling #best ever” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Carpe Noctem Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Carpe Noctem Hostel
Certificate of Excellence
Budapest, Hungary
1 review
“Hostel #home feeling #best ever”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2013

A long time ago...

It was early in the morning - grey sky - and I decided to go on the road on with a sign written on it: Budapest! Two days later... I reached it. It was late in the night.. and I was really tired. Heading for a internet cafe looking for a hostel. And I saw this sign and name "Carpe Noctem"....and my brain remembered this one guy (I met in Riga) who told me about this place. So I thought... go for it - sleep! 40 minutes later and a crazy walk through the city I came there.. 5 minutes later on the stairs I finally reached the "top floor" and the entry to a new incredible awesome episode of my life.
Carpe Noctem is just the place you enter and feel home - even if you enter it after a trip like mine. You easily get together with all the people in this little family hang out on the couch during the day and hang out in the best pubs, clubs, on a boat or where ever in the night.
I dont wanna tell to many stories because my introduction was already to long...and there are just to much so I just end with this: "Carpe Noctem means fun, crazy nights and awesome people - just an amazing time!"

Thank you guys for everything!

Room Tip: Every bed is good even the couch! Go for it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Clemens B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

421 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    386
    23
    5
    5
    2
See reviews for
3
10
210
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Antonio de Areco, Argentina
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 March 2013

hello my friends from Budapest! we love your hostel it's such a nice place. We will for sure recommand it to our friends from argentina/chile. next time we will also saty in our place, I hope we will come back there soon! love you x

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maria F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bourne Lincolnshire
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 March 2013

I arrived at Carpe Noctum quite early after an overnight train, and as my bed wasnt ready yet I sat in the lounge area and watched as random crazy characters emerged, pushing through the effects of the previous night. My first impression then was of a bunch of mates hanging out together, and importantly I couldn´t tell who was staff and who wasn´t; there´s no reception area, I just walked straight in and hung out on the couch. Everyone was so relaxed together, and with only 2 dorm rooms I didn´t feel like I was in a hostel at all, brilliant!
Being un-organised and un-knowing of the city has never mattered so little. Right from check-in the staff told me everywhere to go, from restaurants to caving, and even put my name down for the caving so all I had to do was turn up. They really are happy to help.
Then of course the organised nights out blew my expectations of any night out I´ve been on. Where else would I be able to party on a night cruise up the river, go to a techno rave in the thermal baths, and witness a 150 drink Jager-train, all in about 4 days! The fact that the four party hostels will often go to the same venues means that you feel like part of a huge family, and knit even closer to the people in your own hostel. The companionship in these hostels is amazing. Being a part of these hostels also means discounts on drinks, free entry to bars (and the bars in Budapest are unique), and the opportunity to go out in a dress and do an open mic night without feeling like a muppet.
The hostels are cleaned daily, as are the staff, so the facilities are always comfortable and clean.
Fantastic location, within a few minutes of clubs, food, the river, and walking tours - and right by nyguati station and the metro; everything´s reachable from carpe.
Budapest is a beautiful city, but the people I´ve met at Carpe have made this trip for me; if there is any hostel you want to stay at in Budapest, go to Carpe, make some friends and a bag full of crazy memories. A truly unique place.

Room Tip: Every rooms a gooden.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rory B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2013

To start off, I'm usually paranoid of hostels, so I tend to avoid them. But I was travelling with a friend who had stayed here before and loved it, and now its easy to see why. From the moment you walk in, you feel right at home. The staff are genuinely nice and very helpful. There are nightly events organized to keep the fun rolling. The other guests are easy to get along with, the hostel isn't noisy and the beds are comfortable. The hostel is centrally located, very tidy and above all very safe. Would highly recommend staying here if your going to Budapest...

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank F0la
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 March 2013

I decided to stay in carpe for 5 days after hearing bout it through a friend who worked there last summer. After watching the videos and reading reviews I extended my stay to 10 days before I'd even got there. On arrival I was greeted by a smiley bunch of the nicest people you'll ever meet. They showed me everything and told me all about Budapest and what I should do there. All the guests were hanging out in the living room with the staff when i arrived, which said a lot to me immediately. Mt first night there saw the carpe staff take all the guests to an awesome underground bar called morrisons for half price cocktails and karaoke. I tweeted that night that I didn't want to leave. I'd only been there 12 hours. From then on my 10 days went like this: fancy dress, pancake eating challenges in the morning or the whole hostel, roast dinners, Bacardi breezer breakfasts, champagne and partying on a boat, tea in a treehouse, pillow fights with staff, ordering Thai food and watching movies, 200 bomb jäger trains, all you can drink, burritos and half price frozen margaritas, tram rides at 4am, rave inside a cave... The list goes on. If you're going to book not any of the four party hostels in pesht. Book into carpe. Especially if you're travelling solo. It's still got it all going on but it's also the cleanest, most friendly and most hospitable hostel I've ever been to. After ten days I am already saving to move back and work there in summer. Carpe, you're the best!!

Room Tip: Any room you choose will be the best fun you've ever had, all the rooms are close to the kitchen...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gina M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2013

I've been to carpe 3 times solo and once with a friend in the past year. I can't stay away. It is not hard at all to meet people here and the staff are amazing and extremely helpful. The hostel is clean and safe, the beds are comfortable and most importantly staying there is SO much fun. The staff take you out every night and it's always a blast. If you want to have fun in Budapest, definitely book here. I plan to return as soon as I have the time!!

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Vejames
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 February 2013

I stayed at Carpe with my boyfriend so I don't believe it's just for solo travellers unless you want privacy and romance etc etc. We were purely there to have a good time as I had that impression from reading the reviews. The staff are amazing, they were super helpful with information on all the tourist attractions to do during the day... at night it was even better, they take you along to some of the maddest bars in Budapest which by the end of the night, you won't remember half of them anyway so take photos. I really recommend this joint to all. Even if you just want to hang out there during the day while you recover from your hangover, it's still cool to just chill and socialise with the crew + guests. Really safe, clean, convenient... all of the above. No negatives apart from the several flights of stairs you have to walk up to get there which is only my fault as I am unfit and lazy. Love this place. Peace.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank homaslice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Budapest hotels
District V / Inner City
Aria Hotel Budapest by Library Hotel Collection
Andrássy út
Hotel Moments Budapest
Hotel Moments Budapest
#2 of 342 in Budapest
5.0 of 5 bubbles 816 reviews
District V / Inner City
Hotel Parlament
Hotel Parlament
#6 of 342 in Budapest
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,074 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Palazzo Zichy
#4 of 342 in Budapest
5.0 of 5 bubbles 4,549 reviews
District V / Inner City
Four Seasons Hotel Gresham Palace
District V / Inner City
Prestige Hotel Budapest
Prestige Hotel Budapest
#7 of 342 in Budapest
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carpe Noctem Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carpe Noctem Hostel

Property: Carpe Noctem Hostel
Address: Szobi utca 5/3/8A, Budapest 1067, Hungary
Region: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 651 Speciality Lodging in Budapest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you are a group of more than 4, please stop reading here and choose a different hostel; we are mostly for single or solo travelers - we recommend our sister hostels Grandio Party Hostel, Retox Party Hostel or Carpe Noctem Vitae! We don't accept groups of any kind (see conditions below). If you are a sociable or solo traveler and want to meet other people in a welcoming, friendly, and voted the most fun hostel in the world (2009) environment, please read on: Atmosphere: Do you want to...- Be a SINGLE TRAVELER or SOCIABLE BACKPACKER meeting other similarly like minded people in a friendly, lively and social atmosphere?- Go out EVERY NIGHT on PUB CRAWLS, karaoke nights, cheap drink nights, live music nights?- Be taken out by staff to cool UNDERGROUND PLACES unseen on the common traveler's route?- Be given a WARM WELCOME and a detailed introduction of the city with all the hot spots for PUBS, BARS, RESTAURANTS, CLUBS and SIGHT SEEING?- Be INTRODUCED TO OTHER GUESTS so you can instantly make friends for your travels...if not life?- Feel like you are STAYING AT A MATE'S HOUSE, chilling on bean bags and drinking free tea and coffee until beer o'clock?- Feel like you are staying in a SOCIAL place not just a bed in a room?- SAVE MONEY by taking staff recommendations for cheap places, and using the specially negotiated food and drink deals for you?- Be given all the HELP, ADVICE AND ASSISTANCE for your entire stay in Budapest and beyond if needs be?- Stay in a place that doesn't believe in hidden charges and wants to give you as much for FREE as possible?- Have LIVE-IN native English/Australian English speaking staff who have all moved to Budapest because they came and fell in love with it and are passionate to show you why? Carpe Noctem ('seize the night', for those who rightly gave up Latin just after it died) is the perfect hangout and base for single travelers and young, sociable people who want to be part of an interactive and lively hostel experience as well as maximising the city in the day time and seizing the night when the sight seeing has ended. Facilities: We are Aussies and Brits who having traveled widely and decided we wanted certain things...* Free tea and coffee, not just when you arrive, all the time (and none of this European yellow label stuff, we get PG Tips imported from UK)* Free padlock hire* Free use of lockers* Free use of electronic staff safe* Free towel hire* Free bed linen (who charges for that anyway???)* Free internet use and free wifi* Orthopaedic mattresses* Air conditioning* Electronic entry system... (no more charges for lost keys!)* Free use of skype headsets* Smoking area* Laundry service available* 24 hour check in* Very relaxed check out times (you can check out any time you like but you can never leave!)* Free use of guidebooks and book exchange available* Free use of kitchen for you to cook...or for us to cook for you!* No curfew (it's called Carpe Noctem..... so seize the night!). Location: Walking distance from: House of Terror, Oktogon, Szechenyi Thermal Baths, City Park, Andrassy Avenue, St Istvan's Basilica, Freedom Square, The Danube & Parliament - all within 10-15 minutes. For lazy travelers....public transport is in our immediate location: the blue metro (for direct metros from nepliget coach station), and yellow metro are only a few streets away; the trolley bus and tram are 1 street away and the night bus route is at the bottom of the road. We even have a direct train from the airport 2 streets away! We are just off the main road which has pubs, cafes, bars, restaurants, 24 hour shops and clubs on it so there is no need to stray far for whatever you need, yet we are located on a quiet cobbled side street so you don't have to listen to the noise from traffic. Building: We are located in a 19th-century heritage listed building. We have a very cosy and intimate set up which means it is impossible not to meet people and make instant friends. Our apartment on the top floor is newly renovated and we have added our personal touches; hand made bean bags which means you can chill wherever you want around the house, a large corner sofa to watch films on, tables to eat on or play drinking games, depending on your mood, murals of the sights of the city across most walls so you can decide what to see that day (if our 30 minute run through of everything hasn't been enough info for you!). We have a fully equipped kitchen for you to use, apart from the times when we are cooking up roast dinners, gypsy gulyas (goulash), breakfast of champions, or whatever else we think the hostel needs to prepare it for a good night out or to deal with a hangover! We are located on the top floor, and due to the status of the building we have no lift...so if you are lazy, you may be better off going to a ground floor hostel! Conditions: We are ideally suited to single travelers, or groups of two or three who wish to meet people so if you just want an isolated stay with just a bed in a room, groups who don't wish to mingle or couples who want alone time only, we are probably not for you. Regrettably and due to previous experience we can no longer accept groups of any kind (more than 4 people), nor can we take bookings for guests over the age of 40. Nor can we accept bookings for people taller than Craig. We reserve the right the refuse any bookings that fall outside this criteria. On a final note, we are from England and Australia and often miss certain things from home....if you want to bring us something from home to put a smile on our faces or potentially knock a euro or two off your stay, please email us!!!!! Carpe Noctem awards: 2010- Best hostel in Hungary, 2009- Best hostel in Hungary, 2009- Most fun hostel in the world, 2009- 5th Best hostel in the world, 2009- Best hostel in Eastern Europe. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Carpe Noctem Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing