We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“BACK AGAIN AND STILL IN LOVE WITH THE PLACE.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Carpe Noctem Hostel
Certificate of Excellence
Nottingham, England, United Kingdom
1 review
“BACK AGAIN AND STILL IN LOVE WITH THE PLACE.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2013

I was so looking forward to coming back to this incredible hostel , after taking a fantastic trip here last September , I was not disappointed as again I had the best time. It was great being back in Budapest and amongst the best hostel I have ever experienced !!! Meeting again the most loveliest and welcoming staff ,some I had met before and was great to see them again, we were taken on the best nights out, had the best fun in the bath rave and just generally had a brilliant and enjoyable time! I know for sure I will be back at this hostel in no time !! I couldn't imagine going to Budapest and not staying at Carpe Noctem !!!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ellie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

430 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    395
    23
    5
    5
    2
See reviews for
3
10
214
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tubingen, Germany
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2013

I was supposed to stay at Carpe Noctem for 3 nights, I ended up staying for 6. I could stay longer if I didnt have to get home. The staff was great, the facilities perfect, and other travelers were amazing. Everyday there was something to do helped organized with the hostel, and every night they had something unreal planned i.e. thermal bath rave. I cant wait to come back here in year, hopefully sooner! Perfect hostel for solo travelers [and groups]

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jep27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2013 via mobile

Words cannot describe how much I loved staying at Carpe, I've never been in a hostel that has a more welcoming and fun environment. The location is perfect! its to everything you need (train, sights, hangover food), the staff will help you with anything and suggest heaps of great stuff to do and see. The staff and guests will become your new family and I can promise you'll never want to leave. It's my second time here and I wouldn't even consider staying anywhere else. Love you Carpe!

Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Meg V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berkeley, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2013

Carpe Noctem was one of the best hostels I've ever stayed at! If you go to Budapest you need to stay there. The staff are incredible and totally make the difference. They are super friendly, love to meet people, love to party with you, and do everything they can to help you from loaning you a swim suit for the bath houses to cooking dinner for the group. When I first arrived I could not tell who was staff and who was visiting. I immediately felt at home and by the first evening I was lounging around and chatting like I would at my friends house. So comfortable and relaxing. On top of this, the whole hostel (staff included) goes out and partys together every night. Its great. Theres no partying in the hostel so its clean and quiet but its still designed to have an awesome time.
One downfall: The hostel is located a short block from the train station but not very close to any metro stops and a fairly long walk from the main attractions. The awesomeness of everything else definitely makes up for this. Some of your best bonding experiences can be late nights wandering the streets of Pest back to the hostel.

Room Tip: Make sure you choose the Original and not the Vite version of Carpe Noctem...they are two different...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ColumbiatheTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2013 via mobile

Could not have asked for a better experience in Budapest. Not only is the location spot on, but it's the staff that make you never want to leave!! It feels like you're in a house share with all of your best friends. They're extremely helpful, keep the place up to scratch, great at giving advice on awesome things to do during your stay, take you out every night and willing to make your trip as amazing as possible. I'm already planning my second trip back. Absolutely loved it!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Abby U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, England, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2013

The hostel is in a great location and is within walking distance to everything you will want to see in Budapest. The employees are all great people who are willing to help you with any of your concerns. I wish I could have stayed for 3 weeks instead of 3 nights. Definitely recommend this hostel to anyone looking for a great place to stay run by great people.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ben T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Copenhagen, Denmark
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2013

Carpe Noctem is without a doubt the best hostel I have ever stayed at. Once you walk in the door you feel at home as you are greeted by everyone. It is great for both individual and group travelers and you will quickly make friends with everyone staying there! There are events each day and night, which make the experience that much better. I felt like I had a true Hungarian experience and the staff take you to local spots and bars (can't get much better than ruins bars). I came to this hostel in April and loved it so much I came back in May. There was no doubt in my mind that I had to stay at Noctem again, and it did not disappoint. I love the staff and am so jealous of anyone that gets to stay there :) I'll be back!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shannon P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Budapest hotels
District V / Inner City
Aria Hotel Budapest by Library Hotel Collection
Andrássy út
Hotel Moments Budapest
Hotel Moments Budapest
#2 of 342 in Budapest
5.0 of 5 bubbles 876 reviews
District V / Inner City
Four Seasons Hotel Gresham Palace
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
District V / Inner City
Hotel Parlament
Hotel Parlament
#6 of 342 in Budapest
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,107 reviews
Hotel Palazzo Zichy
#4 of 342 in Budapest
5.0 of 5 bubbles 4,590 reviews
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Maverick City Lodge
Maverick City Lodge
#5 of 655 in Budapest
4.5 of 5 bubbles 826 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carpe Noctem Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carpe Noctem Hostel

Property: Carpe Noctem Hostel
Address: Szobi utca 5/3/8A, Budapest 1067, Hungary
Region: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 655 Speciality Lodging in Budapest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you are a group of more than 4, please stop reading here and choose a different hostel; we are mostly for single or solo travelers - we recommend our sister hostels Grandio Party Hostel, Retox Party Hostel or Carpe Noctem Vitae! We don't accept groups of any kind (see conditions below). If you are a sociable or solo traveler and want to meet other people in a welcoming, friendly, and voted the most fun hostel in the world (2009) environment, please read on: Atmosphere: Do you want to...- Be a SINGLE TRAVELER or SOCIABLE BACKPACKER meeting other similarly like minded people in a friendly, lively and social atmosphere?- Go out EVERY NIGHT on PUB CRAWLS, karaoke nights, cheap drink nights, live music nights?- Be taken out by staff to cool UNDERGROUND PLACES unseen on the common traveler's route?- Be given a WARM WELCOME and a detailed introduction of the city with all the hot spots for PUBS, BARS, RESTAURANTS, CLUBS and SIGHT SEEING?- Be INTRODUCED TO OTHER GUESTS so you can instantly make friends for your travels...if not life?- Feel like you are STAYING AT A MATE'S HOUSE, chilling on bean bags and drinking free tea and coffee until beer o'clock?- Feel like you are staying in a SOCIAL place not just a bed in a room?- SAVE MONEY by taking staff recommendations for cheap places, and using the specially negotiated food and drink deals for you?- Be given all the HELP, ADVICE AND ASSISTANCE for your entire stay in Budapest and beyond if needs be?- Stay in a place that doesn't believe in hidden charges and wants to give you as much for FREE as possible?- Have LIVE-IN native English/Australian English speaking staff who have all moved to Budapest because they came and fell in love with it and are passionate to show you why? Carpe Noctem ('seize the night', for those who rightly gave up Latin just after it died) is the perfect hangout and base for single travelers and young, sociable people who want to be part of an interactive and lively hostel experience as well as maximising the city in the day time and seizing the night when the sight seeing has ended. Facilities: We are Aussies and Brits who having traveled widely and decided we wanted certain things...* Free tea and coffee, not just when you arrive, all the time (and none of this European yellow label stuff, we get PG Tips imported from UK)* Free padlock hire* Free use of lockers* Free use of electronic staff safe* Free towel hire* Free bed linen (who charges for that anyway???)* Free internet use and free wifi* Orthopaedic mattresses* Air conditioning* Electronic entry system... (no more charges for lost keys!)* Free use of skype headsets* Smoking area* Laundry service available* 24 hour check in* Very relaxed check out times (you can check out any time you like but you can never leave!)* Free use of guidebooks and book exchange available* Free use of kitchen for you to cook...or for us to cook for you!* No curfew (it's called Carpe Noctem..... so seize the night!). Location: Walking distance from: House of Terror, Oktogon, Szechenyi Thermal Baths, City Park, Andrassy Avenue, St Istvan's Basilica, Freedom Square, The Danube & Parliament - all within 10-15 minutes. For lazy travelers....public transport is in our immediate location: the blue metro (for direct metros from nepliget coach station), and yellow metro are only a few streets away; the trolley bus and tram are 1 street away and the night bus route is at the bottom of the road. We even have a direct train from the airport 2 streets away! We are just off the main road which has pubs, cafes, bars, restaurants, 24 hour shops and clubs on it so there is no need to stray far for whatever you need, yet we are located on a quiet cobbled side street so you don't have to listen to the noise from traffic. Building: We are located in a 19th-century heritage listed building. We have a very cosy and intimate set up which means it is impossible not to meet people and make instant friends. Our apartment on the top floor is newly renovated and we have added our personal touches; hand made bean bags which means you can chill wherever you want around the house, a large corner sofa to watch films on, tables to eat on or play drinking games, depending on your mood, murals of the sights of the city across most walls so you can decide what to see that day (if our 30 minute run through of everything hasn't been enough info for you!). We have a fully equipped kitchen for you to use, apart from the times when we are cooking up roast dinners, gypsy gulyas (goulash), breakfast of champions, or whatever else we think the hostel needs to prepare it for a good night out or to deal with a hangover! We are located on the top floor, and due to the status of the building we have no lift...so if you are lazy, you may be better off going to a ground floor hostel! Conditions: We are ideally suited to single travelers, or groups of two or three who wish to meet people so if you just want an isolated stay with just a bed in a room, groups who don't wish to mingle or couples who want alone time only, we are probably not for you. Regrettably and due to previous experience we can no longer accept groups of any kind (more than 4 people), nor can we take bookings for guests over the age of 40. Nor can we accept bookings for people taller than Craig. We reserve the right the refuse any bookings that fall outside this criteria. On a final note, we are from England and Australia and often miss certain things from home....if you want to bring us something from home to put a smile on our faces or potentially knock a euro or two off your stay, please email us!!!!! Carpe Noctem awards: 2010- Best hostel in Hungary, 2009- Best hostel in Hungary, 2009- Most fun hostel in the world, 2009- 5th Best hostel in the world, 2009- Best hostel in Eastern Europe. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Carpe Noctem Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing