We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely Food, Wonderful View” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Paris Budapest Bar and Restaurant

Paris Budapest Bar and Restaurant
Ranked #48 of 3,048 Restaurants in Budapest
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$43 - US$72
Cuisines: French, European, Central European, Hungarian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene, Romantic, Groups, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Business meetings, View, Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Brunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighbourhood: District V / Inner City
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Lovely Food, Wonderful View”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 November 2013

We ate here on Saturday night and were really pleased with our choice of restaurant.

Having made a booking earlier in the week we were shown to a window table with a fabulous view of the chain bridge and across the Danube to the castle. We were immediately offered a glass of champagne. Not our thing so we declined but could easily have been caught unawares as they are there so quickly.

We ordered a main course each. I had a chicken dish which was really nice, whilst my husband had a fillet steak. This was cooked exactly as he asked for it to be and he gave it a serious thumbs up. We shared a cheese plate to follow. There was a good selection of cheeses to choose from, and again, this was very good.

The only slight gripe we had was that I selected and ordered the wine, but the waiter automatically presented the bottle to my husband. Good lad that he is, he told the waiter to deal with me!

All in all, we had a great meal at a rasonale price for the standard of restaurant. Would recommendit,

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank FionaD1958
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ParisBudapest, Manager at Paris Budapest Bar and Restaurant, responded to this review, 4 December 2013
Dear FionaD1958,
Thank you very much for your positive comment on the Paris Budapest Restaurant.
We are happy that you enjoyed your meal and hopefully the wine was to your liking also. As you can see on the example of the steak your husband had, our staff is sensitive to details and it is my hope that you can forgive this one little mistake with the wine presentation. We would love to see you again and try to provide an even better experience for you the next time you are in Hungary.
Best regards,
Aniko Ecseri
Assistant Restaurant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

881 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    590
    201
    61
    18
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Buffalo, NY
Level Contributor
276 reviews
141 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
“NIce restaurant, convenient location inside Sofitel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 November 2013

This restaurant has very good food (most French) and service. We wanted a light dinner and took a couple of starters. Everything was very good. they have a nice wine list with French and Hungarian selections. Also they were very able to provide me with gluten free selections.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank niagarariverfatman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ParisBudapest, Manager at Paris Budapest Bar and Restaurant, responded to this review, 4 December 2013
Dear Niagarariverfatman,
Thank you very much for the nice comment on our Restaurant. We are always eager to satisfy our guests' special needs, particularly if it is about a special diet they need to keep, allergies, etc. We are happy that you found the light meal you were looking for and hopefully we can welcome you back on your next trip to Hungary.
Best regards,
Aniko Ecseri
Assistant Restaurant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“What a view !!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 November 2013

Do not hesitate to book your table !!! a nice place with a really nice menu offer with correct price and what to say about the Hungarian wine :)
Cool atmosphere , professionnal service and the view on the casttle
That s make a unique evening!!!

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Wendy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ParisBudapest, Manager at Paris Budapest Bar and Restaurant, responded to this review, 4 December 2013
Dear Wendy W,
Thank you very much for your really positive review on our Restaurant and its staff. We feel flattered that you enjoyed the tasted wines this much, as the ones in France are also of very high quality and fame. It is our hope that we can welcome you back one day -maybe in the near future-and help you collect some more nice and worthy memories.
Best regards,
Aniko Ecseri
Assistant Restaurant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A most memorable dining experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 November 2013

We were celebrating our wedding anniversary on a recent trip to Budapest and we had a wonderful dining experience at the Paris Budapest. The service was knowledgeable and personal. The Maitre D'Hotel made dinner recommendations (a pork dish-Hungarian) and it was absolutely wonderful. His wine recommendation was also perfect for the occasion. The view of the Danube from the window table is worth the visit by itself. We then were surprised with a fireworks dessert for our anniversary. A most memorable experience. Bon appetite!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank ricardo791
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ParisBudapest, Manager at Paris Budapest Bar and Restaurant, responded to this review, 4 December 2013
Dear Ricardo791,
Thank you very much for choosing Paris Budapest Restaurant for celebrating that special occasion!

We are most happy when our guests feel welcome and appreciated .At Sofitel, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer; therefore your well-being is very important to us. We really hope that the next time you are visiting Budapest (maybe one of your next anniversaries?), you will return to us.
Best regards,
Aniko Ecseri
Assistant Restaurant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dunboyne, Ireland
Level Contributor
147 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 241 helpful votes
“Yes.Excellent service; good food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 October 2013

The head waiter gave us a second look when we entered the place on a nice sunny day .We were business casual dressed no tie and suite...the place really did not look SO posh.Anyhow,as first timers in Budapest we asked for the GOULASH traditional Hungarian Dish ,and a green salad.This was served in a short time with some bread , butter.The taste was good although it was more soup than meat and potato's.While waiting for the bill we were given free elegant petifores. This restaurant as all others I visited provides bottled water when you ask for plain water.This of course has quite a substantial charge.This place being a Hotel restaurant is not cheap .The place is nice,just almost on the water front.You can see the kitchen as it is in the middle of the restaurant.The service is fantastic .As for the head waiter:Do not judge a person by his appearance. I do not wear my Armani suit when on a weekend holidays!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Arik P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ParisBudapest, Manager at Paris Budapest Bar and Restaurant, responded to this review, 4 December 2013
Dear Arik11,

First of all I would like to thank you for having chosen the Paris Budapest Restaurant for your dinner and I am very happy that you overall enjoyed our menu and the dishes ordered.
I was surprised to read that you had a little moment when you did'n feel welcome and I can reassure you that we do not judge our guests by their outfit -we serve tourists throughout the year and we do not have a dresscode so all outfits are all right.
At Sofitel, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer; therefore your well-being and your current feedback is very important to us. So please allow me to thank you once again for having shared in detail your experience with us.
I sincerely hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back in our restaurant very soon!
Best regards,
Aniko Ecseri
Assistant Restaurant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Paris Budapest Bar and Restaurant also viewed

Budapest, Central Hungary
Budapest, Central Hungary
 
Budapest, Central Hungary
Budapest, Central Hungary
 

Been to Paris Budapest Bar and Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing