We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing stay in an amazing city!”
Review of City Gardens

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
City Gardens
Ranked #87 of 638 Speciality Lodging in Budapest
Certificate of Excellence
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Amazing stay in an amazing city!”
Reviewed 7 June 2014

The apartment we had was amazing and the service we experienced was top notch! The staff were so friendly and made the whole stay so enjoyable. They recommended things to see and do and were so accomodating.

I'd go back in a heartbeat if I was ever in Budapest!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MatthewWhite_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

323 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    142
    126
    35
    8
    12
See reviews for
97
85
15
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sibiu, Romania
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2014

He had a lovely stay in Budapest. The city is very beautiful and this hotel helped us very much because his location. In 10 minutes you can be anywhere you want (Vaci Utca, Parliament, St.Stefan Basilica, Chain Bridge, etc.). The staff is very friendly and they know very well to speak in english. They helped us with maps and guides for the city. The room was very clean and big and the internet connection was perfect. The price for the parking is 15 euros/day ( a little bit expensive in my opinion), the fitness center is very crouded but at the pool was ok. For the acces to spa, Pool and Fitness you must to deposit 5 euros/person or 1000 huf for the card. When you will check out, you will have the money back. When I checked out I got a fridge magnet with the hotel. Nice...

At the ground floor, close to the reception is a bistro-cafe. Well, the smell of the food can be very annoying. All my clothes smelled horrible.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elena V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2014

Stayed here recently for 2 days. Location was great for accessing the trams, metro etc. Staff were really friendly and helpful. The apartment was clean and spacious. I also really enjoyed the facilities here including the swimming pool, sauna steam room etc. I would happily stay here again

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dazza1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ljubljana, Slovenia
1 review
Reviewed 3 May 2014

We stayed 3 days in Budapest. It was our first family visit, for sure not the last. Accomodation was perfect. Location is in the centre of the city, only few minutes walk to main points (some monuments, tram, bus, metro...). Apartment is clean, well equipped and enough space, to feel relaxed. Staff is excellent, kind and prepared to help you with all kind of information. They deserve big like and "thank you". :)

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EdvardKadic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2014

I spent 3 days here recently, I was allowed a free upgrade to a larger room as there were no more one bedroom rooms left.

The wifi was fast and easy to log on to, and there was also a nice swimming pool, hot tub and sauna to avail of, none of which were too crowded.

The staff were best of all, Jodi and Ella both supplied me with a wealth of useful information about everything to do with Budapest (was a total n00b on arrival).

I would like to return to Budapest this summer, and I'll definitely be choosing this place again when I do.

Room Tip: Perhaps the further away from ground level the better, there are some bars nearby, but no loud music...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rhys F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kortrijk, Belgium
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 March 2014

I stayed here for one week, to follow a course at the BME university. Everyday we had to go the university, although it's not very close, you are their in less than half an hour. The hotel is very close to the tram and metro station, so you can go everywhere very fast. The room was very nice, and proper. The room was cleaned each 2 days, and the cleaning was done very nice, also kind cleaning ladies. And the wellness+fitness (included in the staying) are very relaxing, that's a big plus for the hotel.
The reception is also very friendly and helpful. They can help you immediately with all kind of things, especially Ella who is a pretty lady and is always ready to help you!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kvanlede
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bratislava, Slovakia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 28 February 2014

Very well located, with lovely rooms/studios. Perfect for all my needs. The free bottle of wine was an excellent touch. One negative thing I must say, is that I couldn’t use the pool as I wasn’t aware I would have to bring my own flip flops, I thought they would be provided. Maybe you should think about advising guests about this before they arrive.

Having said all that, I must say that the best thing about my experience was your receptionist, Ella. She is so kind, and super helpful, she showed me all the important things to see on the map. Everything with a smile. Even when I had was very very late for my check out, she handled the situation professionally and with grace.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kevin L L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Budapest hotels
Bliss Hotel And Wellness
#116 of 333 in Budapest
4.0 of 5 bubbles 330 reviews
Medosz Hotel
#77 of 333 in Budapest
4.0 of 5 bubbles 492 reviews
Terézváros
Star Inn Hotel Budapest Centrum, by Comfort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Queen's Court Hotel & Residence
Terézváros
Lord Residence
Lord Residence
#15 of 638 in Budapest
4.5 of 5 bubbles 400 reviews
Terézváros
Opera Residence
Opera Residence
#37 of 638 in Budapest
4.0 of 5 bubbles 279 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to City Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about City Gardens

Property: City Gardens
Address: O street 43-49., Budapest 1066, Hungary
Region: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest > Terézváros
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #87 of 638 Speciality Lodging in Budapest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — City Gardens 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Only 5 minutes' walk from the Hungarian State Opera House, City Gardens offers fully furnished apartments. A wellness center with indoor pool and a fitness center are available on site. Free Wi-Fi is available in the public areas.City Gardens’s apartments feature modern décor, and are equipped with DVD players and TV. Well-equipped kitchen corners with bar-style tables are also available.The apartments have a 24-hour front desk and offer private parking on site for a fee. In the building, there is also a restaurant.The UNESCO-protected Andrássy Avenue is about 400 metres away. Ferihegy Airport is about half an hour from the apartments and City Gardens provides a transfer service.Oktogon Metro Station is a 5-minute walk away. This station offers easy access to Budapest’s main tourist attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your City Gardens reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing