We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“4 star quality at 3 star prices”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Bo18 Hotel Superior
Ranked #21 of 333 Hotels in Budapest
Certificate of Excellence
England
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“4 star quality at 3 star prices”
Reviewed 13 April 2012

We stayed for 4 nights at the BO18 Hotel Superior in District VIII of Budapest during Easter 2012. The hotel offers 4 star quality and service, despite it's 3 star rating, and was excellent value for money. We arrived late on Easter Sunday to find a welcome drink and a small easter egg on our pillows - it was these small, but very welcome and appreciated, touches that made the hotel a pleasure.

Hotel staff were very helpful and offered assistance with transportation - including booking a taxi for us at short notice so that we could get to Parliament for the early morning tour which was confirmed last minute.

The free (and fast) wifi helped clinch the decision to stay here and didn't disappoint: it's essential for travellers to be able to surf the Internet for travel advice and maps, as well as to keep in touch with home for emergencies - so this was a great offering from the hotel.

Breakfast was fantastic - plenty of choice in the buffet including cooked and cold options, and champagne for the more adventurous. Coffee was plentiful and delicious and I'm picky about that so it's saying something!

The room was clean and very spacious, with a well stocked minibar and tea/coffee facilities. Bathroom was excellent - again, spacious and very clean, shower was connected to bath taps but had excellent pressure. We were located at the front of the hotel and whilst the street was generally quiet it could get noisy late at night with revellers coming back home from drinking in the city centre but we had the window open for some fresh air. The only disappointment with the accommodation was with the comfort of the beds: the mattresses were quite hard and the pillows were thin, so it was difficult getting a comfortable night's sleep.

The area of the hotel (District VIII) does take some getting used to - it's relatively run down and there are lots of deserted buildings. This was off-putting at first but we gradually felt more confident walking back to the hotel later at night. There are major redevelopment works going on (nb. the building works did not cause any disturbance), including the newly opened Corvin Mall only a few yards down the road - which was very handy. I'm sure the situation will improve over time. Other reviewers indicated it was safe, and we certainly weren't bothered by anyone, so don't let this put you off either. The hotel is slightly out of town but then most of the hotels in Budapest aren't central, including much more expensive places. Use the metro system to get to the city centre by taking a metro from Corvin-Negyed (by the Corvin Mall) to Deak Ter. You only need the Short Section Metro ticket as it's only 3 stops: ticket prices were less than £1 per person one way.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank coldmachineUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,292 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    856
    393
    33
    8
    2
See reviews for
203
638
65
42
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (107)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2012

We stopped at the Bo18 Superior March 18th -23rd 2012.
Budapest is stunning, and our stay was further enhanced by staying at this little Gem of a hotel.
It was spotlessly clean in all areas of the Hotel [Thank you to the cleaners for an excellent job].
Breakfast was excellent and plenty to choose from [Im a fussy vegetarian so it has to be really good to impress me!].
It was well placed for the Metro and trams but you didn’t really need them, the hotel is a 10/15 min walk from the river and centre and a 10 minute walk from the fantastic Budapest Jazz club on Muzeum street.
All the staff were friendly and attentive but we wanted to say a special thanks to’ Gabor’ he is a great Ambassador for Hungary and Budapest and we learnt more about the history than we had from any of our guide books.
You are only as good as your customer service, he is a real asset to this hotel.
Great value for money and would not hesitate to go back!
Jacqui & Mike
Coventry

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank MIKE W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dronfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2012

Picked out this hotel after reading good reviews, we had seen no bad reports so were expecting something pretty good. Our expectations, though high, were exceeded on every level. The place was immaculate, certainly one of the best kept hotels we have ever stayed in. The included champagne breakfast was substantial and very varied. Although reviews had mentioned the area of the hotel in less than favourable terms, at no time did we feel that this was any more than an area that, in a few years, we will probably not be able to afford! Certainly it felt safe to walk around at any time. Greatest praise though has to be for the personnel of the hotel. From first walking through the door they were the most welcoming, helpful and professional bunch of people it has ever been my pleasure to encounter in any hotel, an absolute delight and a credit to their establishment. I would absolutely recommend the BO18 to anyone and wish them every success in the future.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank dronjohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stalos, Greece
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2012

Booked for one night but extended it by one more night.This hotel has a very central position. It was easy to find using the metro, and central enough to walk to most sights in the city. The hotel was brand new, only opened in May, and was bright, comfortable, well designed and spotlessly clean. It's position on a side road meant that it was very quiet, providing a good night's sleep.
The staff were very friendly and helpful, from the welcoming glass of wine when I checked in, to advice on an excellent local restaurant and assistance with finding a theatre show. Also excellent buffet breakfast - even champagne on offer! Breakfast room was modern and lightly.
Personally i found the Bo18 hotel a very interesting hotel offering unbeatable value.So definitively it will continue to rise on the tripadvisor !

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Giorgios R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bonn, Germany
Level Contributor
21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 February 2012

I stayed at the Bo18 hotel one night during the last weekend. In the given price category, I could not have made a better decision!

The hotel is easily accessible some 5 walking minutes from the M3 metro station Corvin-negyed, nearby a shopping mall called Corvin. We didn't have any problem finding it. We arrived in the morning so the room was not ready for us yet. The receptionist has offered us a coffee and a drink and stored our luggage for us while we went out to explore freezing Budapest. When we came back in the afternoon to get our room, there was comlimentary hot tea available for the guests in the hotel lobby. It was a nice surprise, especially in that kind of freezing weather, and the hotel management gained extra points for this.

The room (4th floor) was spacious enough, very clean and had everything we could possibly need. There was not much of a view, but we wouldn't expect it anyway in this part of the city. We liked the design of the room - minimalistic, creme brown colours.

Breakfast was good - hot and cold buffet. The choice could've been wider, but for the price we paid it was more than sufficient. We did not have much interaction with the staff, but both receptionists we met and the waiter were very attentive and helpful.

I definitely recommend this hotel and the next time in Budapest, I already know where to stay!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank JanMika
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 February 2012

Stayed here over the new year.
Hotel was all it needed to be. Breakfast was lovely something for everyone. Rooms were clean and a good size. The staff were very helpful in booking tickets and recommending places to eat. Good indoor shopping mall just up the road. Used metro and trams with a 3 day public transport ticket. Also the first two days used the hop on and hop off red buses, great way to get the history and the feel of the place. New years eve watched from the bridge fireworks go off all around us.
Oh and a lovely touch was the hot tea waiting by the hotel door after a good day out, you need to try it.
Lovely break

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jackie E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 January 2012

The hotel is located a bit far away from the touristy areas of Budapest. But we love walking and could explore the entire city on foot. We arrived a bit early and our room was not ready. However, the friendly staff stored our luggage. They gave us a city map with pretty useful tips regarding places to see and eat at. The hotel is located next to a mall and that is really helpful for basics like a SIM for mobile phone. Rooms are modern, clean and comfortable with proper sized washrooms. There are 2 i-Pads in the lobby that guests can use for free. Breakfast is sufficient and offers good variety. Once we got a little late and the staff ensured that we got what we wanted even when the breakfast timings were over. Definitely recommended if you are looking for a clean, modern, value for money accommodation in Budapest.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank swapc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Budapest hotels
Fraser Residence Budapest
#18 of 333 in Budapest
1,140 reviews
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Bo33 Hotel Family & Suites
Bo33 Hotel Family & Suites
#14 of 333 in Budapest
624 reviews
District VII / Jewish Quarter
ROOMbach Hotel Budapest Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12 Revay Hotel
#32 of 333 in Budapest
295 reviews
District V / Inner City
Bohem Art Hotel
Bohem Art Hotel
#16 of 333 in Budapest
2,388 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bo18 Hotel Superior? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bo18 Hotel Superior

Property: Bo18 Hotel Superior
Address: Vajdahunyad utca 18., district VIII., Budapest 1082, Hungary
Phone Number:
Region: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 333 Hotels in Budapest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Bo18 Hotel Superior 3.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bo18 Hotel*** Superior, the newest 3 star category hotel in Budapest opened its doors in the first half of May 2011. It is located in the VIII district of Budapest, close to the recently opened Corvin passage and the Corvin shopping mall. The location of the hotel, which is easily accessible both by public transport and private car, is a security for a silent, undisturbed stay in the immediate neighbourhood of the bustling Budapest city center. Our hotel is waiting for the quests who wish to discover Budapest or arrive for a business stay with 45 rooms, three star premium services and with a buffet breakfast with champagne. Our friendly, elegant rooms, our inner garden and lobby bar established according to the latest design, our wellness corner and the outstanding niveau of our services are guarantees for an unforgettable Budapest relaxation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Travelbag, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Bo18 Hotel Superior reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing