We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“3 unforgettable days in Budapest thanks to this fantastic hotel!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Iberostar Grand Hotel Budapest
Ranked #20 of 336 Hotels in Budapest
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 August 2012

3 unforgettable days in Budapest thanks to this fantastic hotel.
We liked all about it and we cannot recommend it enough!

And the high-lights:
- The building: beautiful and overlooking the Liberty Square, surrounded of old buildings, with park and fountain in the middle. We realized how quite the hotel location was after walking to the Danube River and founding out, besides the beautiful scenery, how noisy it was there.

- The interior: impressing, modern, and designer-like. To our stay it gave this lifestyle-dimension that we wouldn’t make part of our every day life but we fully enjoyed during this escape trip. The comfy bed, the big windows, the bathroom and the coffee facilities were our favourites.

- The breakfast: absolutely fabulous. Whatever was not on the buffet with fresh and quality cold cuts, fruits etc., was part of the menu card handed out separately. However, somebody used to start the day with something light would find it pricy most probably.

- Service staff was very friendly and attentive, our room was perfectly taken care of.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AadBloemen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,348)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

802 - 808 of 1,348 reviews

Reviewed 16 August 2012

Nice hotel, good location, excellent service. Unless you want to stay right next to the Danube, this is a no-brainer. I would totally recommend staying at this hotel to anyone looking for a nice relaxing stay in Budapest.

Pros: Super friendly staff, nice rooms, clean, bathtub was amazing. Turn down service was very nice. Staff went over and above to bring a tailor to the hotel who picked up some clothes I needed altering and returned them to the hotel. Unbelievable.

A few minor niggles: Total nitpick--reception desk area is a bit awkward as the guest chairs don't match the desk height making it awkward to fill out paperwork. A/C is a bit weak in the rooms, but this is really only a problem in July/Aug I'm guessing and a minor issue at that. Booking.com blew our room reservations so the hotel was confused as to the room type--not Iberostar's fault and the hotel was nice enough to send an email in advance so we could sort it out before arriving. It's a bit of a walk to the Metro or Tram from the Hotel--10 minutes or so. But only 7 minutes to the Basilica and Andrassy.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank C K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2012

As I said my Wife and I stayed here on our honeymoon during the first few weeks of our august.I cannot speak highly enough of the place.From the concierge meeting us at the the entrance of the hotel to our beautiful room.The staff had laid out rose petals on our bed and fresh fruit with chocolate and a bottle of champagne!!!! The hotel bar was a tad expensive but worth it, probably the best cocktails in the city.The location was also perfect,literally all the sights where within walking distance and the Danube only 5 minutes down the road.The basillica is only on your doorstep and the best restaurants are a few minutes walk.I cannot recommend this hotel enough and we are already planning on heading back for our first anniversary.

Keith & Lisa Quinn.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Dublin L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2012 via mobile

Said it all in the review, fantastic hotel I would definately stay again - great service, very clean, really friendly and helpful staff, great location best place to stay in Budapest and I have stayed in most of the top hotels - this is by far the best :-)

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AllisonLew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2012

Travelling every week on business, you quickly learn which hotels are good, and which are bad. Having stayed at hundreds over the years, I can honestly say this is the best hotel I have ever experienced. Everything was five star standard; service, decor, comfort, style and price. It surpassed all of my expectations and more.

Cannot reccomend it enough, and cannot wait for my next visit!

Stayed: July 2012, travelled on business
3  Thank NotRuthWatson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2012

From the minute we arrived at the hotel we were treated like royalty. We were greeted by Agnes an extremely efficient and welcoming receptionist. We were upgraded to a jnr suite which I must say was amazing!!! The SPA facilities were fabulous and we also had massages which were also first class. The staff was very friendly and attentive. Very central hotel just a few minutes walk from all popular attractions. An overall amazing experience in a truly beautiful city! We will definitely be going back.

Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Ryan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2012

We (mother and daughter traveling in Easter Europe)arrived in Budapest from Vienna by train which reached at 9pm (if doing this route it's best to reach earlier when it's light out). We took the metro from the train station to the stop near the hotel and walked a few blocks. It would have been easier if it were not dark and raining and 10pm, otherwise the walk is fairly straight forward and inexpensive!!

The hotel is lovely and very modern, the lobby looks a little like you're in the mad hatters tea party in Alice in Wonderland, we loved it. The staff was extremely helpful and pleasant. The room had one queen sized bed and a glass wall to the bathroom, this was a bit weird however the shower area and toilet had clouded glass walls. That being said as you are changing to get into or out of the shower anyone in the room can see you. Make sure you're ready for that!

We loved our stay there but if I were traveling with friends I may not choose to stay due to the glass walled bathroom situation. The location is central with lots of restaurants right outside and a park in front.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mother and daug... S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Budapest hotels
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Boscolo Budapest, Autograph Collection
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Corinthia Hotel Budapest
Corinthia Hotel Budapest
#17 of 336 in Budapest
7,549 reviews
District V / Inner City
InterContinental Budapest
InterContinental Budapest
#31 of 336 in Budapest
3,550 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
District V / Inner City
Kempinski Hotel Corvinus Budapest
District V / Inner City
Aria Hotel Budapest by Library Hotel Collection
District V / Inner City
Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Iberostar Grand Hotel Budapest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Iberostar Grand Hotel Budapest

Address: Oktober 6. utca 26. | at Szabadság tér, Budapest 1051, Hungary
Phone Number:
Region: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest > District V / Inner City , Belváros-Lipótváros
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 336 Hotels in Budapest
Price Range: £102 - £189 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Iberostar Grand Hotel Budapest 5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Romance in Budapest can be experienced in many interesting ways. One of the most exclusive ways to experience it is by staying at the IBEROSTAR Grand Hotel Budapest, a luxury hotel that offers superior, elegant, and different accommodation. Located next to Liberty Square, the hotel offers a host of details that a luxury traveller will appreciate, including gourmet cuisine, the grandeur of resting in a suite with views of the city, the passions that a SPA Sensations treatment offers, the decoration of the hotel's details that have been designed by the famed Philippe Starck, and the hosting of sophisticated events. The 50 Grand rooms at this Budapest hotel are the perfect spot for those wishing to explore Budapest, knowing that they can continue experiencing the city inside and outside the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Iberostar, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Iberostar Grand Hotel Budapest reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing