We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Interesting hotel in great location.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
IBEROSTAR Grand Hotel Budapest
Ranked #20 of 334 Hotels in Budapest
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 June 2013

We booked rooms in this hotel to start out European trip. The price seemed good for the quality and location and turned out to be very good once we arrived. The hotel is almost Daliesque in its interior design and furniture. Everything was spotless and comfortable and we had a great stay. We only tried the breakfast one morning and were not impressed. We did not eat dinner at the hotel. The location could not have bee better. It is within walking distance of most of the sights and things to do. We would not hesitate to stay again in the future.

Room Tip: Did not appear to be a place for children. Avoid the Atrium rooms, as they have no windows.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jim M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,308)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

687 - 693 of 1,309 reviews

Reviewed 2 June 2013

A fun boutique style hotel with "fun, funky, chique" decor. We were in room 409 which was, according to the front desk, the very first room built out to show the owner how it might look. It is the only room like it, according to the front desk. Not sure what that means as I peeked into another room on 4th floor while was being cleaned - and other than being 2 full or double beds rather than a single King bed it look similar. This room had a huge soaking tub, a wonderful shower with Rain-style AND hand-held (the hand-held when locked in place acts like a normal shower head), and a toilet and a bidet. The only slightly weird thing is that the tub/sink area is glassed in with clear glass so there is zero privacy in that area visually, and little sound barrier. The toilet area and shower have frosted glass so you have a bit of privacy there. There is a desk with one chair, and a bench at the bottom of the bed with 2 cushioned spots that can be seats. Really nice looking coffee machine with single serve Lavazza coffee. We didn't use it as we had breakfast included with our room and ate downstairs each morning and had coffee there. The room had ample drawer and closet space for the 2 of us. Also there is an electronic safe and a small refrigerator, and robes in the closet. The room, like the floor, is done in Red accents with gray, brown and white as neutrals. There is a sheer curtain and an electronically operated blackout curtain - very nice. The view from our room included the lovely water feature at the entrance to Liberty Square - an interactive public fountain where the water comes up through the sidewalk in a rectangle. The fun part is that as you approach it the water stops wherever you approach it so you can enter the rectangle. You can then watch the water turn back on behind you. When you are ready to leave - just approach it at any point and that segment of water turns off. We had a blast watching people (from our room and from bench outside) discover and interact with the fountain, and kids were loving it! Liberty Square has lots of places to sit and enjoy the quiet. It includes a dog park and the dogs are super well-behaved. European dogs must know how to behave better than American dogs! Most were off leash but stayed near their owners except when playing on the grass with other dogs. It was so peaceful and fun to watch. There are kid areas with slides etc - also fun to watch. And at the far end a wonderful statue of Ronald Reagan - a hero of the fall of Communism here. The American Embassy is on Liberty Square as well at the far end to the right as approaching from this hotel. This location made it easy to investigate both the Pest and the Buda sides of the river. A short walk to the Chain Bridge and you can walk over to Castle Hill. The staff were first rate. My only advice is eat dinner elsewhere. They gave us a 10% off coupon for a meal and we used it for dinner. It was ok but just ok. All the other meals we ate in Buda and Pest were better. Breakfast was fabulous- you order your hot food and it's made when you want it - keeping it super fresh. The cold buffet was excellent, as were the espresso drinks we had.

Room Tip: higher floors and closer to Liberty Square probably best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CindyW_Texas_USA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2013

We travelled in March 2013 to spend my birhtday in Budapest and chose Iberostar Grand Hotel as the reviews here were good and the locations seem to fit our plans.
The hotel is situated at the Liberty Square and you have everything at walking distance - both on the Buda and the Pest side.

The staff were very friendly and helpful and we spend often time chatting to some of them about our experiences and getting tips about sights to see.

The room was excellent!! Beautifully decorated with a four-poster bed and several seats and a large plasma tv. There were also some complimentary goodies waiting on the table. The bathroom, shouwer and toilet were immaculately clean and nicely decorated.

And as I had mentioned that it was my birthday trip, there was on my birthday a bottle of cava in ice waiting for us as we came back from our day trip. That was very thoughtful of the staff and we appreciated it a lot.

We would definitely return to Iberostar Grand Hotel if we decided to return to Budapest.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank marmaar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2013

You really won't go wrong if you choose this gem of a boutique hotel. It is superbly run with a truly well led, well organised team of highly motivated friendly and efficient young staff. This is an exceptional hotel. The setting is very quiet, a no-through road, by an interesting park, yet only a block or so from the river (and the laughing policeman!). Very convenient. Excellent local facilities - a street of superior restaurants and wine bars. The rooms are wonderfully sound -proofed and comfortably appointed with everything you could wish for from a sumptuous tub to a cavernous shower. Sofas, comfortable large beds, flat screen TVs, high speed wifi and MP3s - in ALL of the rooms (some don't have a bath - but not many!). Light and bright with eclectic furnishings. Certainly one of the best hotels in one of the best locations in Budapest. No pool, but a good jacuzzi and sauna. I didn't miss that as I seldom use the pool. Pretty much every extra you could wish for (from toothbrushes to high quality shampoos) were provided. Breakfast (especially when provided by room service trolley!) was comprehensive. The food in the hotel is of very high quality although might I ask for a bit more Hungarian? Truly that's a tiny point (expecially as it's situated in a road full of Hungarian restaurants, strudle restaurants, wine bars and international restaurants!). Book it and see - I will be again.

Room Tip: All I saw are superb .
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank c l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2013 via mobile

Me and my girlfriend stayed at this wonderful hotel for 2 nights, and our only regret is that we didn't stay longer!
From the moment we arrived we were made to feel very welcome with the friendly and helpful staff on the reception.

The hotel is ideally situated close to all the main attractions, yet is nice and quiet in the evenings. It's only a 5-10 minute walk to Chain Bridge, and is surrounded by lovely bars and restaurants.

The actual hotel is immaculate, very modern and certainly has the wow factor! The rooms are well equipped with a coffee machine, flat screen TV and an iPod docking station.

We will certainly be returning to this perfect hotel and beautiful city!

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Anthony S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2013

This chic modern new hotel offers elegance and comfort. The decor is ultra-modern which contrasts with its classical surroundings. The rooms are huge, with every amenity you can imagine. The breakfast buffet was excellent, the location can't be beat and the staff was helpful and friendly.

Room Tip: We stayed in a deluxe double room that bordered the park. It was fun during daylight to watch peopl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Laura R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2013

We spent few days in Budapest and we could enjoy of an excellent accommodation.
Hotel interiors are really particular, I would say that it seems a fairytale hotel.
Overall, the hotel is clean, the rooms are finely furnished and the breakfast buffet is rich of choices. Hotel staff was always kind, polite and efficient and the hotel location is really great. It is in the middle of town centre but in quite location.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ADBDR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Budapest hotels
District V / Inner City
Aria Hotel Budapest by Library Hotel Collection
District V / Inner City
Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge
District V / Inner City
Kempinski Hotel Corvinus Budapest
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
District V / Inner City
InterContinental Budapest
InterContinental Budapest
#27 of 334 in Budapest
3,443 reviews
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Boscolo Budapest, Autograph Collection
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Corinthia Hotel Budapest
Corinthia Hotel Budapest
#15 of 334 in Budapest
7,297 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to IBEROSTAR Grand Hotel Budapest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about IBEROSTAR Grand Hotel Budapest

Address: Oktober 6. utca 26. | at Szabadság tér, Budapest 1051, Hungary
Phone Number:
Region: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest > District V / Inner City , Belváros-Lipótváros
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 334 Hotels in Budapest
Price Range: £111 - £225 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — IBEROSTAR Grand Hotel Budapest 5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Romance in Budapest can be experienced in many interesting ways. One of the most exclusive ways to experience it is by staying at the IBEROSTAR Grand Hotel Budapest, a luxury hotel that offers superior, elegant, and different accommodation. Located next to Liberty Square, the hotel offers a host of details that a luxury traveller will appreciate, including gourmet cuisine, the grandeur of resting in a suite with views of the city, the passions that a SPA Sensations treatment offers, the decoration of the hotel’s details that have been designed by the famed Philippe Starck, and the hosting of sophisticated events. The 50 Grand rooms at this Budapest hotel are the perfect spot for those wishing to explore Budapest, knowing that they can continue experiencing the city inside and outside the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Iberostar, Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your IBEROSTAR Grand Hotel Budapest reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing