We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a lot more than average”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
IBEROSTAR Grand Hotel Budapest
Ranked #21 of 334 Hotels in Budapest
Certificate of Excellence
San Francisco, California
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“a lot more than average”
Reviewed 11 March 2014

this is a convenient experience, great and convenient location, personal and attentive service, great to walk the city, good food, one of the best cities in the world, this is a good experience! I would stay here again and I would recommend this hotel to friends and family!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank carli2sway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IberostarHoteles, Online Reputation Manager at IBEROSTAR Grand Hotel Budapest, responded to this review, 13 March 2014
Dear Guest,

We greatly appreciate you taking your time to share a review on your saty at our IBEROSTAR Grand Hotel Budapest and for your words of praise, we are glad to hear that this was a “convenient experience”.

Moreover we thank you for pointing out the great location of our hotel, with all Budapest’ points of interest within easy reach as well as the professional and personalized service and the quality of our restaurant’s succulent dishes; unbeatable locations, excellent service and high quality gastronomy being the prime pillars of our company we are thrilled we were successful and ticked all the boxes.

Once more, thank you for making us your choice hotel when visiting the stunning city of Budapest and for your kind recommendation to your friends and family; we hope that you had a safe and comfortable journey back home and to have the pleasure of welcoming you back in the near future.

Sincere Regards,
Online Reputation Manager
IBEROSTAR Grand Hotel Budapest
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,278 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    937
    256
    58
    18
    9
See reviews for
136
724
52
135
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (195)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2014

We stayed at this hotel for one night. We were very pleasantly surprised. It was in a good location and easy walking to the Chain Bridge, Parliament and shopping. The hotel rooms were nice, modern and looked newly remodeled. The bathroom had a separate walk-in shower but no bath tub. The tub wasn't an issue for us but something to consider if that is a priority. And as an Expedia VIP member, we also got a free room upgrade.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elsa3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IberostarHoteles, Online Reputation Manager at IBEROSTAR Grand Hotel Budapest, responded to this review, 12 March 2014
Dear Elsa,

Firstly we would like to thank you for choosing our IBEROSTAR Grand Hotel Budapest for your overnight stay in the magical city of Budapest as well as for the time you spent to share your feedback on your personal experience among us; we are delighted to hear that you were “pleasantly surprised”.

Moreover, we took good note of your comment on the bathroom of your Double Executive accommodation and would like to point out that this particular type of room has a shower however our other room types do have both shower and bath tub, for future occasions please do not hesitate to have a look at our webpage to select the accommodation type that best meets your holiday needs and wishes.

On the other hand we are glad to hear your satisfaction with the luxury and comfort of your room as well as with our prime location, a few steps away from the wide array of points of interest that Budapest has to offer.

Once more, thank you for making us your choice hotel when visiting Budapest; we remain at your entire disposal for any request you might have regarding coming vacations and encourage you to contact our call center to help you choose your next IBEROSTAR holiday within a wide range of beautiful destinations worldwide.

Sincere Regards,
Online Reputation Manager
IBEROSTAR Grand Hotel Budapest
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2014

I had the pleasure of visiting the Iberostar Grand at the end of November 2014 with my husband, who had planned a surpriise trip away for my 30th birthday.

I honestly cannot fault this hotel. On arrival, as it was my birthday, we received a free room upgrade to an executive room. Check in was seamless as we were asked to wait in the lobby and given a warm towel and a glass of fizz. The room itself had a modern decor and was very spacious and clean. The bathroom was fantastic with separate toilet and shower, the later of which was unbelievable! The shower was a huge rainfall shower head with great water pressure, something I missed for a good few days after returning home. Breakfast was good and had a variety of choices but we didn't sample the restaurant for any toher food.

The hotel staff were amazing, giving advice on attractions, restaurants and getting around generally. Nothing was too much trouble for them. I also received a bottle of fizz and a piece of cake on my birthday, which was a lovely treat. On checking out, we were also able to leave our luggage at the hotel until our flight time.

The location of the hotel was perfect for us. Away from the immediate hussle and bussle but only a short walk before you hit the main shopping area and with great restaurants two minutes away. Try TG Italiano, just a short walk up the street towards the main shopping area for fantastic food, great wine and a warm atmosphere. It was also minutes away from the bridge so gave easy access to the other side of the city for sight seeing. Whilst here, in addition to meandering around, we also had a trip to the Szechenyi baths and did a moonlit cruise down the Danube, both of which I would recommend.

I'd happily return to this fantastic hotel and would certainly recommend it.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mandymoo83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IberostarHoteles, Online Reputation Manager at IBEROSTAR Grand Hotel Budapest, responded to this review, 12 March 2014
Dear Guest,

Firstly we would like to thank you for the time you spent to share your holiday experience at our IBEROSTAR Grand Hotel Budapest; we are delighted that you enjoyed staying with us on this special occasion.

Further, we are grateful for your highlight on the professionalism and great attitude of our staff; their genuine helpfulness and impeccable knowledge of the area are undoubtedly one of our main assets and we thank you for valuing their services so highly.

Moreover, we are very pleased to read your satisfaction with the comfort and elegant contemporary décor of the room we accommodated you in.

Last but not least, we thank you for pointing out our perfect location, facing the stunning Liberty Square and within an easy walking distance to the many sites of interest.

Thank you again for the courtesy of your time and very kind recommendation to Tripadvisor’s readers; we would be delighted to have you visiting us again at your earliest convenience.

Friendly Regards,
Online Reputation Manager
IBEROSTAR Grand Hotel Budapest
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Budapest, Hungary
Level 6 Contributor
156 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 March 2014

Stayed just one night. It is great hotel , just 150 Euro per night its over my price. the room was clean , fresh. the bath was big , super clean with all you can ask from a bath room. big bed, flat tv, free WiFi all over. the spa, breakfast in the room and the Spanish dinner was just the extra touch of this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chaim B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IberostarHoteles, Online Reputation Manager at IBEROSTAR Grand Hotel Budapest, responded to this review, 10 March 2014
Dear Guest,

Firstly we would like to express our sincere gratitude for choosing our IBEROSTAR Grand Hotel Budapest for your overnight stay in Budapest and for the time you spent to share your feedback on your short experience among us.

We are grateful for your highlight on the comfort and cleanliness of our luxury accommodations as well as on the hotel’s amenities and quality of our gastronomy, since we want to provide comfortable accommodations in unbeatable locations giving the possibility to savor a wide array of culinary delights, it is very rewarding to read that we were successful in our intent.

Thank you again for your visit and lovely review; it would be a great pleasure to welcome you again at your earliest convenience.

Sincere Regards,
Online Reputation Manager
IBEROSTAR Grand Hotel Budapest
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 March 2014

I stayed here for a business trip earlier this week. The staff was friendly and helpful, but not invasive. The room was clean, large, comfortable, the shower was fantastic, and they had excellent wifi. I would definitely recommend this for anyone visiting the city.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Iberostar

Helpful?
Thank Danielle R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IberostarHoteles, Online Reputation Manager at IBEROSTAR Grand Hotel Budapest, responded to this review, 10 March 2014
Dear Danielle,

First and foremost we would like to thank you for sharing your feedback on your experience at our IBEROSTAR Grand Hotel Budapest and for your kind recommendation to Tripadvisor’s readers; we are thrilled you enjoyed staying at our hotel.

Moreover we are grateful for your positive mention towards the comfort and cleanliness of our accommodations since they are designed to make our guests stay as pleasant as possible.

We also would like to thank you for mentioning the genuine kindness and professionalism of our staff; it is always a great source of motivation to hear that our guests appreciated their services and attention to detail.

Thank you again for your visit and the courtesy of your time; we hope that you had a comfortable journey back home and to have the pleasure of welcoming you back in our IBEROSTAR hotels and resorts in the most beautiful destinations worldwide in the near future.

Sincere Regards,
Online Reputation Manager
IBEROSTAR Grand Hotel Budapest
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bedford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 March 2014

Stayed 3 nights as a short break at this hotel. Beautifully clean - we upgraded to a superior room which was so worth an extra 10 euros per night -wonderful view across the square. Rooms have a tendency to be a little warm at night! All the staff were extremely helpful, and a special mention must go to Adam who was around a lot when we were there, and only to happy to help with a recommendation for good restaurants for dinner. All in all a wonderful stay at a lovely hotel, and I'd definitely go back to the same hotel if we return to Budapest again.

Room Tip: 4th floor we had room 401 lovely views across the square
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank spursgirl73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IberostarHoteles, Online Reputation Manager at IBEROSTAR Grand Hotel Budapest, responded to this review, 10 March 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your lovely review regarding your recent visit to our IBEROSTAR Grand Hotel Budapest; we are very proud to read that you had a “wonderful stay” among us.

Furthermore, we thank you for pointing out the cleanliness of our accommodations and public areas, as well as the genuine kindness and helpfulness of our staff.

Last but not least we are grateful for your highlight on our unbeatable location, right in the center of Budapest and with a wide array of points of interest within easy reach.

Thank you once more for making us your choice hotel when visiting the area, we look forward to serving you again at your earliest convenience.

Kindest Regards,
Online Reputation Manager
IBEROSTAR Grand Hotel Budapest
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fairfax, Virginia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 March 2014

This hotel is modern, with nice staff and in an excellent location. I really enjoyed my 3 nights there while working in Budapest. My room was gorgeous with a bath that was more like a spa, and with a beautiful view of the plaza. The price is affordable as well. Will be going back!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KariLore1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IberostarHoteles, Online Reputation Manager at IBEROSTAR Grand Hotel Budapest, responded to this review, 6 March 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for the time you took out of your day to review your stay at our IBEROSTAR Grand Hotel Budapest; we are very pleased to read your satisfaction on your overall experience.

Moreover, we thank you for pointing out the beauty and comfort of our hotel and accommodations, since they are designed to make our guests stay as pleasant as possible.

We also thank you for your highlight on our location, in the heart of Pest and within a walking distance to the business center and wide array of touristic sites.

Thank you again for making us your choice hotel when travelling to Budapest for business; it will be a real pleasure to welcome you back please do not hesitate contact us beforehand to organize every detail of your stay.

Kindest Regards,
Online Reputation Manager
IBEROSTAR Grand Hotel Budapest
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Budapest hotels
District V / Inner City
Prestige Hotel Budapest
Prestige Hotel Budapest
#7 of 334 in Budapest
1,306 reviews
District V / Inner City
Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge
District V / Inner City
Kempinski Hotel Corvinus Budapest
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
District V / Inner City
The Ritz-Carlton, Budapest
The Ritz-Carlton, Budapest
#20 of 334 in Budapest
339 reviews
District V / Inner City
InterContinental Budapest
InterContinental Budapest
#26 of 334 in Budapest
3,381 reviews
District V / Inner City
Buddha-Bar Hotel Budapest Klotild Palace
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to IBEROSTAR Grand Hotel Budapest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about IBEROSTAR Grand Hotel Budapest

Property: IBEROSTAR Grand Hotel Budapest
Address: Oktober 6. utca 26. | at Szabadság tér, Budapest 1051, Hungary
Phone Number:
Region: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest > District V / Inner City , Belváros-Lipótváros
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 334 Hotels in Budapest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — IBEROSTAR Grand Hotel Budapest 5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Romance in Budapest can be experienced in many interesting ways. One of the most exclusive ways to experience it is by staying at the IBEROSTAR Grand Hotel Budapest, a luxury hotel that offers superior, elegant, and different accommodation. Located next to Liberty Square, the hotel offers a host of details that a luxury traveller will appreciate, including gourmet cuisine, the grandeur of resting in a suite with views of the city, the passions that a SPA Sensations treatment offers, the decoration of the hotel’s details that have been designed by the famed Philippe Starck, and the hosting of sophisticated events. The 50 Grand rooms at this Budapest hotel are the perfect spot for those wishing to explore Budapest, knowing that they can continue experiencing the city inside and outside the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Iberostar, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your IBEROSTAR Grand Hotel Budapest reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing