We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic hotel in a great location”

Best prices for your stay
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
IBEROSTAR Grand Hotel Budapest
Ranked #23 of 334 Hotels in Budapest
Certificate of Excellence
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Fantastic hotel in a great location”
Reviewed 15 April 2014

Just come back from a 3 night stay with friends. The hotel was amazing and in such a fantastic location - very close to lots of restaurants and bars and to chain bridge and the Danube river. We didn't have to catch a taxi anywhere as everything was within walking distance.

From the moment we arrived at the hotel, we were treated very well - lovely sparkling wine on arrival and very prompt and exceptional service by Reception. Reception recommended a restaurant for us nearby and it didn't disappoint. The staff were amazing. I've stayed in lots of 5 star hotels and the service here was by far the best.

We had 2 rooms, one of which was an executive double which was well worth the money but all the rooms are decorated well - very stylish and comfortable.

The spa was lovely too.

My one main gripe is that the lifts were very slow and it took them a while to register which floor you wanted to go to but apart from that this hotel cannot be faulted.

I only arrived back yesterday and already my husband and I are looking at returning in August.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

1,260 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    923
    253
    57
    18
    9
See reviews for
134
711
52
134
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (193)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2014

Wow what a hotel! From the moment we arrived the staff at the hotel could not have done more to make our stay more memorable! Upon entering our room we were met with champagne on ice and a beautiful fruit platter, this was in response to me mentioning when booking that it was our wedding anniversary - we were so impressed and really touched that they had remembered and it was such a great way to start our weekend.

We stayed in a deluxe room which was absolutely amazing! Definitely one of the best hotel rooms we have stayed in! The decor was very stylish and the room was huge! I would highly recommend booking a deluxe room if your budget allows

We didnt eat breakfast in the hotel so Im not able to comment on that aspect!

The location was perfect, right in the center and easy to get everywhere with some really lovely restaurants and bars nearby

Overall we had the best weekend and it was largely due to the wonderful hotel and staff at Iberostar. I would highly recommend staying here when in Budapest

Room Tip: We stayed on the third floor and had a room overlooking the park - it was beautiful
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IberostarHoteles, Online Reputation Manager at IBEROSTAR Grand Hotel Budapest, responded to this review, 29 April 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for leaving these wonderful comments on your recent holiday experience at our IBEROSTAR Grand Hotel Budapest; We are delighted that you enjoyed staying with us on this special occasion and to hear we were able to make your stay a memorable one from the moment your arrived until the moment you departed.

Moreover we are sincerely grateful for your lovely description of our accommodations; they are designed to create a luxury experience and make our guests’ stay as pleasant as possible, we are very glad to read that you found it “amazing”.

Your enthusiasm for our staff is very much appreciated and will be a great source of motivation; we will certainly not fail to convey your very kind compliments to all of them.

Last but not least, we thank you for pointing out our location, which is a perfect starting point to sightsee the many cultural sites within easy walking distance that the wonderful city of Budapest has to offer.

Once again, thank you for making us your choice hotel for the celebration of your wedding anniversary in Budapest and for your very kind recommendation to TripAdvisor’s readers.

Kindest Regards,

Online Reputation Manager
IBEROSTAR Grand Hotel Budapest
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chevy Chase, Maryland
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2014 via mobile

Staff - all gracious, and hospitable
Room - bed downy like , ceilings high, colors warm, room spacious, sleek and modern, bath room huge modern with a shower thar rains like a water fall, large windows overlooking a park surrounded by beautiful buildings
Location - optimal

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IberostarHoteles, Online Reputation Manager at IBEROSTAR Grand Hotel Budapest, responded to this review, 16 April 2014
Dear Guest,

Firstly we would like to thank you for the time you took out of your day to share such a praising review on your experience at our IBEROSTAR Grand Hotel Budapest; It is always a great reward for us to hear that our guests keep nice memories of their stay at our hotel.

Moreover, we loved reading your description of the room we accommodated you in, with design furniture, a comfortable king size bed and all the amenities to make your stay a memorable one.

We also appreciate your kind words towards our staff, their kindness and helpfulness being one of our hotel's main strengths we will definitely congratulate them all on your behalf for their contribution to your wellbeing whilst staying among us.

Once again, thank you for your visit and the courtesy of your time; we hope that you had a pleasant journey back home and to have the pleasure of welcoming you again in our IBEROSTAR hotels in the near future.

Kindest Regards,
Online Reputation Manager
IBEROSTAR Grand Hotel Budapest
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 11 April 2014

Absolutely lovely hotel. The room was beautiful, the bathroom was massive, the duvet was one of the softest I have slept in!! The area is very quiet and there's no noise at night. The jacuzzi was good although not all the other spa features were turned on despite us calling down to check.

It's in an excellent location, pretty much everything is within walking distance, and it's near a metro which is easy to navigate to get to slightly further away places like the zoo and the baths. There's also plenty of places to eat nearby, some just a minutes walk away by the Basilica, or about ten minutes down to Vaci Street where's there's lots going on.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2014

This hotel is the perfect location for exploring Budapest. It is very close to major attractions such as the Hungarian parliament building, St Stephens Basilica, Buda Castle and the river; everything is just a short walk away. Close by there are many value for money places to eat.

This hotel and the caring and helpful staff ensure you have a first class holiday. There is a small spa in the hotel basement too. I can't think of anything to improve this hotel.

We had a great time and would come back to this hotel again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that does not look onto the inner atrium; there are some rooms that have a view. Our...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IberostarHoteles, Online Reputation Manager at IBEROSTAR Grand Hotel Budapest, responded to this review, 3 April 2014
Dear Guest,

We greatly appreciate the time and effort you spent to share your feedback with TripAdvisor's readers on your recent holiday experience at our IBEROSTAR Grand Hotel Budapest; our main goal being to achieve maximum customer satisfaction we are enchanted to read that we have been successful on this occasion.

Furthermore we are glad to read that you felt well looked after by our staff and that you appreciated our central location to visit the many points of interest that Budapest has to offer.

It is wonderful to hear that you had a great time and would be delighted to accommodate you again on your next visit to the stunning city of Budapest.

Sincere Regards,
Online Reputation Manager
IBEROSTAR Grand Hotel Budapest
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spring, Texas
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 31 March 2014

Great hotel, excellent service, spacious rooms, great food and is very well located. This was my first time visiting Budapest and I had a great expirince. The concierge recomended me a personal tour guide that took my mother and I to a city tour where we expirience daily routine and historical sites that peolple from hungry visit. The next day we went in a Danube bend river tour it was an amazing expirience.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IberostarHoteles, Online Reputation Manager at IBEROSTAR Grand Hotel Budapest, responded to this review, 2 April 2014
Dear Karla,

We first would like to thank you for choosing our IBEROSTAR Grand Hotel Budapest for your first visit to Hungary and for sharing such lovely comments on your overall holiday experience among us; it is always very rewarding to read that our guests keep nice memories of their stay at our hotel.

Moreover, we are glad to read that you appreciated the comfort of your accommodation, the quality of our gastronomy and our prime location with easy walking distance to the key sites.

We also would like to thank you for your wonderful comments on service which of course have been shared with the entire team. It is always a great source of motivation for our staff to hear that our guests appreciated their services and attention to detail.

Once more, thank you for making us your choice hotel when visiting Budapest and for your praising comments on your stay; we hope that you had a safe and comfortable journey back home and to have the pleasure of welcoming you back in our hotels and resorts in the most beautiful destinations worldwide in the near future.

Warmest Regards,
Online Reputation Manager
IBEROSTAR Grand Hotel Budapest
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Preston, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2014

We have just returned from a 3 night stay at this hotel and can honestly say we were delighted with our choice and well looked after by the staff. Upon arrival we were each presented with a complimentary welcome drink whilst sorting out the check-in. Reception staff were friendly and helpful throughout our stay and made us feel very valued as guests.

Our room was large and well equipped with a comfortable bed and great views over Liberty Square. Bathroom was very contemporary with good quality fittings and glass walls. We really liked the style.

Breakfast was a great experience too. Plenty of choices on offer and delivered by friendly and efficient waiting staff.

We were in Budapest to see the sights and the location of the hotel made the Iberostar Grand Hotel an excellent base for us. Quiet and far enough away from the bars and restaurants that you could get a great nights sleep but still very close to many of the sights and eating and drinking establishments that the city has on offer.

When next in Budapest we would not hesitate to return to stay at this hotel and would highly recommend it to fellow travellers.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IberostarHoteles, Online Reputation Manager at IBEROSTAR Grand Hotel Budapest, responded to this review, 2 April 2014
Dear Guest,

We are thrilled you enjoyed staying with us at the IBEROSTAR Grand Hotel Budapest and are sincerely grateful for the time you spent to share your satisfaction here on Tripadvisor and to recommend our hotel to fellow travelers.

Moreover, we thank you for pointing out the beauty of our hotel and are glad to hear that you liked our contemporary décor and the comfort of our accommodations with lovely views over Liberty Square.

The passion for gastronomy being one of the prime pillars of our company, we greatly appreciate your praising comments on our restaurant where our professional Chefs strive to surprise our guests with a wide breakfast buffet including hot and cold, sweet and salty options in order to cater for all diet requirements and please all palates, it is very rewarding to read that we were able to conquer yours.

We also want to express our utmost gratitude for your amazing words towards our staff and for pointing out their great attitude, genuine helpfulness and commitment to ensure that our guests fully enjoy their stay at our hotel; this is definitely our main asset and we will certainly not fail to congratulate them on your behalf for their contribution to your wellbeing throughout your stay among us.

Last but not least, we are grateful for your highlight on our location, in a quiet area but within an easy stroll to the many points of interest of the lively city of Budapest.

Thank you once more for making us your choice hotel and for the courtesy of your time; it would be a great pleasure to welcome you again at your earliest convenience and please do not hesitate to contact us beforehand to organize every detail of your stay.

Sincere Regards,
Online Reputation Manager
IBEROSTAR Grand Hotel Budapest
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Budapest hotels
District V / Inner City
Prestige Hotel Budapest
Prestige Hotel Budapest
#6 of 334 in Budapest
1,273 reviews
District V / Inner City
Kempinski Hotel Corvinus Budapest
District V / Inner City
InterContinental Budapest
InterContinental Budapest
#27 of 334 in Budapest
3,354 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
District V / Inner City
Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge
District V / Inner City
The Ritz-Carlton, Budapest
The Ritz-Carlton, Budapest
#17 of 334 in Budapest
320 reviews
District V / Inner City
Buddha-Bar Hotel Budapest Klotild Palace
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Additional Information about IBEROSTAR Grand Hotel Budapest

Property: IBEROSTAR Grand Hotel Budapest
Address: Oktober 6. utca 26. | at Szabadság tér, Budapest 1051, Hungary
Phone Number:
Region: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest > District V / Inner City , Belváros-Lipótváros
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 334 Hotels in Budapest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — IBEROSTAR Grand Hotel Budapest 5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The IBEROSTAR Grand Hotel Budapest leaves a mark on all of its guests. No matter whether you’re visiting for work, looking to explore the capital or enjoying a romantic getaway, this 5-star hotel in the centre of Budapest always leaves guests speechless. And there are many reasons why. From the gourmet cuisine of its restaurants to the details in its decor from designer Philippe Starck. Would you like to find out more? Tailor-made relaxation. Butterfly shaped or with neck support? Organic or microfiber? You can choose which pillow you’d like to sleep on, as well as the fragrance that you wish to wake up to in the morning. And all this in the enticing atmosphere of a luxury suite or room with city views. Sure to please even the most discerning tastes. If you are only used to the best, prepare yourself for tasting the menus at this luxury hotel. Here in our restaurant, alongside haute cuisine you will find the essence of Mediterranean cooking and the most traditional Hungarian dishes. In the heart of Budapest. Staying in one of the best hotels in the centre of Budapest means having everything to hand. From the city’s shopping area to its most famous monuments. Liberty Square is directly below the hotel, and you can walk to both the parliament and the Danube river! A haven of peace in the city. In the city centre yet in complete tranquillity. Enjoy the silence of our sound-proofed rooms or the calming ambiance of the Lobby Bar, where you can relax and savour a whisky, gin and tonic or any other drink you like. A luxury stay. Don’t worry about a thing! Need to get to the airport? Easy, we have a luxury transfer. Want to use a fitness centre? There’s one in the hotel. For any other exclusive service, all you have to do is make use of our doorman service. Relax, relax, relax... Close your eyes. Free yourself from stress with an essential oils massage, relieve your mind in the sauna or enjoy the soothing bubbles of the whirlpool bath. Here, all you have to think about is discovering the blissful effects of this 5-star hotel’s own Spa Sensations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Hotels.com, Iberostar, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Priceline, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your IBEROSTAR Grand Hotel Budapest reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing