We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Outstanding hotel in the centre of Budapest.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
IBEROSTAR Grand Hotel Budapest
Ranked #21 of 333 Hotels in Budapest
Certificate of Excellence
Brighton and Hove, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Outstanding hotel in the centre of Budapest.”
Reviewed 5 July 2014 via mobile

Just returned from a long weekend in Budapest. This hotel added to our whole experience ... It is an absolute gem in the middle of this fabulous city. From welcome
drink on arrival to late checkout on departure the hotel along with the facilities met our expectations. Rooms are modern and clean with a well stocked fresh coffee facility and mini bar. The ensuite is encased by a glass wall and has separate toilet/shower and gorgeous bath (if we were there an extra night would most def have taken a plunge!) plenty of good quality toiletries too, helpful as I did not need to pack my own so I could make space for that important extra pair of shoes! Both mornings we had long, lazy breakfasts overlooking a beautiful square, never felt pressure to leave even though we stayed a little longer than 'breakfast hours'. It is so close to all the main attractions, we walked everywhere. On the final day we visited the hotel spa at about 5pm ... Lovely thermal jacuzzi, sauna and steam room which we enjoyed to ourselves! Had to pay for an extra night to get late checkout which was slightly disappointing as most hotels offer it as a supplement if the room is available. We didn't eat in the restaurant but menu looked nice. This hotel has to be one of my favourites, decor, facilities and location are all 5*. Service was also good but would have liked a king bed in the room instead of two singles, common problem in Europe but I had specially requested this on booking and they do have king bed rooms in the same category as our room (superior double). Seemed like a lot of hassle for them to move us and my request was not dealt with promptly, in the end I had to let it go as I didn't want it to spoil our impressions of the hotel and got a bit bored of the back and forth conversations! This, I would say was the only fault. I really enjoyed our weekend here and I would definitely book again if we return to Budapest or look out for the iberostar group when booking other destinations.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Liza515
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,230 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    903
    249
    52
    17
    9
See reviews for
128
695
51
132
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (188)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Nutley, New Jersey
Level Contributor
83 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2014

Excellent location was walking distance to many restaurants, wine bars, shops and major attractions. Hotel lobby had a small reception area immediately inside front door with separate modern, clean and comfortable sitting area. Elevators require room key for access. Hotel lounge and restaurant and outdoor sitting are all easily accessible. Staff was attentive and friendly but at check-in, the front desk receptionist was difficult to understand.

Room had two comfortable twin beds (for king-sized comfort). The décor was very modern; not my style, but tastefully done. The air conditioning worked very well. Internet access was free but connection was poor and lost often.

ISSUE was with bathroom: the wall facing the bedroom was clear glass with only a partial (unmovable) curtain covering about one fourth of the glass wall. Within this cubed bathroom were two frosted glass doors, one containing the toilet the other, the shower. The shower itself was wonderful with hand-held and rain-forest options. As there was only one hook with the shower area (for a towel) you had to open the frosted door to obtain dry clothes. Even though the portion of the glass wall directly opposite contained a curtain blocking the head of the bed, you were totally exposed to anyone elsewhere in the room and through your reflection in the mirror. Unless traveling alone or in a very intimate relationship, this can be (and was for me) a very uncomfortable situation. The bathroom was clean and modern and had the toiletries replenished daily.

Lobby/outdoor bar/café was large, covered, patio-style seating area. Perfect place for end of day drinks (they also serve food). Large screen television at one end of area kept everyone up-to-date on World Cup games. Greg, our server both nights we visited, was absolutely wonderful! He described the different regional wines and let me taste my selection before purchasing. As the beer selection was limited (World Cup had begun and hotel underestimated the demand for beer) he explained the different regional Tokaj varieties available to my traveling partner who selected, and enjoyed, several glasses.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank TravelPlannerAnne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IberostarHoteles, Online Reputation Manager at IBEROSTAR Grand Hotel Budapest, responded to this review, 11 July 2014
Dear Anne,

Firstly we would like to thank you for choosing our IBEROSTAR Grand Hotel Budapest for your holidays in Hungary and for the time you spent to share your feelings on your stay; at IBEROSTAR we realize that there is always room for improvement and feedback is crucial in this process so we thank you for your review.

We sincerely regret reading your disappointment on the design of our Superior Suites and not being informed about the discomfort of the bathroom’s glass door as we would have been able to find an accommodation type that may have suited better your needs; for future occasions please do not hesitate to contact our reception desk for anything you may need to fully enjoy your stay at our hotel.

On the other hand, we are glad to read you appreciated the modern design of our hotel as well as our prime location affording an easy sightseeing of the wonderful city of Budapest.

Last but not least, we thank you for your kind words towards our staff, their kindness and helpfulness being one of our hotel's main strengths we will definitely congratulate them all on your behalf for their contribution to your wellbeing whilst staying among us.

Once again, thank you for making us your choice hotel when visiting the area, we hope that you had a comfortable journey back home and look forward to serving you again at IBEROSTAR in a not too distant future.

Warmest Regards,
Online Reputation Manager
IBEROSTAR Grand Hotel Budapest
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
British Columbia
Level Contributor
89 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2014

After a long flight from Canada it was so nice to have a nice modern classy room to stay in. It was a lovely clean room facing out over the square by the fountain. We stayed two night. Lobby was very nice also. Staff were very helpful. I would definitely stay there again if I come to Budapest and would highly recommend it. We didn't do breakfast but made coffee that was supplied in the room and had fruit and yogurt as we were adjusting to the time change so didn't want go get up early. Everything was in walking distance. We were going on the river Cruise in two days so excellent location for that.

Room Tip: Nice to have a room facing the square .
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BritishColumbiaKathy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jiuzhaigou County, China
Level Contributor
30 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2014

Modern hotel and quiet rooms. Staff helpful. Room was upgraded to a one overlooking the square. The gym is small and only has 2-3 machines and the area is very hot. Otherwise happy with the stay. The breakfast buffet is expensive for Budapest so suggest you eat out. Plenty of restaurants up and down the road.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Iberostar.com

Helpful?
Thank A H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Copenhagen, Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2014

Everything in this hotel is brand new, done in a pleasing design. The location is really perfect and the views of the adjacent park are stunning. The service was friendly and efficient and the room was spotless.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Iberostar.com

Helpful?
Thank ShirleyVS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waterloo
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2014

Great location, excellent staff, and a striking decor. Its easy to walk nearly anywhere in central Budapest and the terrace bar is a great place from which to people watch. Would happily stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Iberostar.com

Helpful?
Thank dmpWaterloo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IberostarHoteles, Online Reputation Manager at IBEROSTAR Grand Hotel Budapest, responded to this review, 3 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Firstly we would like to thank you for this 5 star review you shared following your recent visit to our IBEROSTAR Grand Hotel Budapest and are delighted to read that we were able to match your expectations.

Thank you for pointing out our ideal location and the professionalism of our staff, we will not fail to share your kind review as it is always a great source of motivation for them to hear that our guests appreciated their services and attention to detail.

Last but not least, we are delighted to read that you liked our luxury décor and appreciated the comfort of our terrace bar.

Thank you again for your visit and the time you took out of your day to share this praising review on your stay; we hope that you had a comfortable journey back home and would be enchanted to welcome you back at your earliest convenience.

Warmest Regards,
Online Reputation Manager
IBEROSTAR Grand Hotel Budapest
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Mateo, California
1 review
Reviewed 1 July 2014

Great location, bright and modern decor in the middle of historical Budapest, and an extraordinarily pleasant, helpful and efficient front desk staff. Special thanks to Adam, who helped us upon early arrival. If our travels brings us to Budapest again, we will definitely book our stay at the Iberostar. Many thanks from California/Hawaii.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Iberostar.com

Helpful?
Thank Noe-dvk L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IberostarHoteles, Online Reputation Manager at IBEROSTAR Grand Hotel Budapest, responded to this review, 3 July 2014
Dear Guest,

There is no better reward for us to read the full satisfaction of our guests when staying at our IBEROSTAR Grand Hotel Budapest; thank you for making us your choice hotel when visiting the area and for the time you took out of your day to share this praising review.

Moreover we would like to express our sincerest gratitude for your lovely words towards our reception staff, we will not fail to share your review with Adam, as we know this will mean a great deal to him.

Thank you again for your visit and the courtesy of your time; it would be great pleasure to welcome you back at your earliest convenience.

Kindest Regards,
Online Reputation Manager
IBEROSTAR Grand Hotel Budapest
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Budapest hotels
District V / Inner City
Prestige Hotel Budapest
Prestige Hotel Budapest
#6 of 333 in Budapest
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,197 reviews
District V / Inner City
Kempinski Hotel Corvinus Budapest
District V / Inner City
InterContinental Budapest
InterContinental Budapest
#25 of 333 in Budapest
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,248 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
District V / Inner City
Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge
District V / Inner City
The Ritz-Carlton, Budapest
The Ritz-Carlton, Budapest
#10 of 333 in Budapest
4.5 of 5 bubbles 265 reviews
District V / Inner City
Buddha-Bar Hotel Budapest Klotild Palace
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to IBEROSTAR Grand Hotel Budapest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about IBEROSTAR Grand Hotel Budapest

Property: IBEROSTAR Grand Hotel Budapest
Address: Oktober 6. utca 26. | at Szabadság tér, Budapest 1051, Hungary
Phone Number:
Region: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest > District V / Inner City , Belváros-Lipótváros
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 333 Hotels in Budapest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — IBEROSTAR Grand Hotel Budapest 5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The IBEROSTAR Grand Hotel Budapest leaves a mark on all of its guests. No matter whether you’re visiting for work, looking to explore the capital or enjoying a romantic getaway, this 5-star hotel in the centre of Budapest always leaves guests speechless. And there are many reasons why. From the gourmet cuisine of its restaurants to the details in its decor from designer Philippe Starck. Would you like to find out more? Tailor-made relaxation. Butterfly shaped or with neck support? Organic or microfiber? You can choose which pillow you’d like to sleep on, as well as the fragrance that you wish to wake up to in the morning. And all this in the enticing atmosphere of a luxury suite or room with city views. Sure to please even the most discerning tastes. If you are only used to the best, prepare yourself for tasting the menus at this luxury hotel. Here in our restaurant, alongside haute cuisine you will find the essence of Mediterranean cooking and the most traditional Hungarian dishes. In the heart of Budapest. Staying in one of the best hotels in the centre of Budapest means having everything to hand. From the city’s shopping area to its most famous monuments. Liberty Square is directly below the hotel, and you can walk to both the parliament and the Danube river! A haven of peace in the city. In the city centre yet in complete tranquillity. Enjoy the silence of our sound-proofed rooms or the calming ambiance of the Lobby Bar, where you can relax and savour a whisky, gin and tonic or any other drink you like. A luxury stay. Don’t worry about a thing! Need to get to the airport? Easy, we have a luxury transfer. Want to use a fitness centre? There’s one in the hotel. For any other exclusive service, all you have to do is make use of our doorman service. Relax, relax, relax... Close your eyes. Free yourself from stress with an essential oils massage, relieve your mind in the sauna or enjoy the soothing bubbles of the whirlpool bath. Here, all you have to think about is discovering the blissful effects of this 5-star hotel’s own Spa Sensations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Iberostar, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Hotel.de, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your IBEROSTAR Grand Hotel Budapest reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing