We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best hotel in Budapest”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
IBEROSTAR Grand Hotel Budapest
Ranked #23 of 342 Hotels in Budapest
Certificate of Excellence
Budapest
1 review
“Best hotel in Budapest”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2014

If you want a less touristy area that's in a prime downtown location, make sure you check this out. Stylish, modern with a very friendly staff and quality throughout. We travel frequently to Budapest and have enjoyed staying at the Gresham Palace as well as the Intercontinental, but now prefer this location and absolutely love the hotel and its staff.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Iberostar.com

Helpful?
Thank Nora K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,212 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    888
    246
    52
    17
    9
See reviews for
123
688
51
131
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (186)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dundas, Canada
Level Contributor
23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2014 via mobile

We usually stay in 5 star hotels and this is listed as one but there were a few issues that left this hotel a little short of the rating for us. First, though, the hotel itself is perfectly located for walking and sightseeing many major attractions and for excellent restaurants. Our first floor, corner room was huge (apt. size!), superbly appointed with bathroom supplies and coffee maker (cream in the fridge would have been appreciated). We would have traded the room, though, for one higher up and facing the park for a view of the city. Our friends had such a room for the same price and had we known, we would have requested the same. The front lobby staff were outstanding in their friendliness, efficiency and helpfulness. Their English was excellent. The problems were with the dining room services and staff. We are glad we did not book the breakfast included. The location of the restaurant patio is ideal: situated on the corner overlooking the park. It is private enough with lovely flower planters surrounding the tables. The service, however, was poor. It was uncoordinated and the servers lacked sufficient proficiency in English to be helpful and to fully understand our basic requests (cream for coffee, orange juice). The one morning we decided to indulge the price of $36 for the buffet breakfast, the buffet was sparse and lacking in many things: bowls for the serve yourself cereal, spoons for the granola-like toppings (nuts, seeds, dried fruit), a lack of variety of fruit (there was only cantaloupe offered) and only 3 kinds of breads/pastries. There was not even one service staff to ask for anything. And this was at 9 am. We were so disappointed that we finally spoke to the front desk about our experience. We were charged for just one breakfast instead of two although we only had 2 coffees, 2 small croissants, and some cantaloupe between the two of us. I believe we should have been charged nothing and offered an apology.




Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
3 Thank DDKDundas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
La Jolla, California
Level Contributor
219 reviews
127 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 282 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2014

I booked this hotel using hotels.com and got a great rate and after reading the reviews on TA booked the hotel. The taxi driver from the airport said it was a nice hotel in a great location (make sure you go to the booth at the airport to get a taxi as they are regulated the drivers speak great English and he shared some history of the city on the ride). I had got HUF at the ATM inside the airport and the ride was 6,000 HUF and i gave him 7,000 - very reasonable.

The hotel is at the end of the street and very easy to get the luggage into the hotel. My reservation was in order. In Hungary they do not take your credit card when you check in - what a nice touch! They provided a welcome drink - choice of juice, water or sparkling wine. The elevators (and stairs) require your room key to access the higher level floors - what a nice security touch. i was in room 403 - lovely view overlooking the park and the windows open! Love fresh air when I am travelling. Soon after I got to my room it started to rain - smell of clean air.

I think this must something common in Budapest as it happened at my next hotel. I had a king bed room, and the king bed is essentially two twin beds put together - interesting. Large bath in the bathroom and separate doors to the great shower - large rainhead shower, and different door to the toilet and bidet. Shampoo but no separate hair conditioner. And the hairdryer was great - very fast! It is also where the two plug socket for the cellphone plug is located. Nice box of amenities for qtips and cotton balls.

Coffee machine was a nice touch as was the bottle of water in the room.

TV allowed me to subtitle a few channels in English, but note maybe only 4 English channels (not that I came to Budapest to watch TV).

Bed was comfortable but be aware there is a "red" light above the bed and took me a while to work out how to not have this on. Much red in the decor which was fine with me as added to the overall style.

Blackout curtain controls are on the wall going to the bathroom.

The hotel provided WiFi at no extra charge - wish more hotels did this, Kudos to the hotel.

Stairwell to walk between the room and reception is very clean and wide.

I needed to leave my luggage before heading off to my next destination and this was no problem for the staff.

Overall a great stay and would stay again.

Room Tip: Room 403 overlooked the park and the fountain - great room
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank AussieNarelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2014 via mobile

A very friendly,convenient and modern hotel,situated very close to the city center in a picturesque alley.The rooms are modern,clean and enjoyable.The stuff is very helpful and friendly,, very good bargain in Budapest. We will return.

Helpful?
Thank יניב ט
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2014

You make your own judgement. Strange place and decoration - an acquired tatste. Breakfast is poor value and service not great. Wifi needs improvement. Good location though. Good location though.
_____________________________________________________________________

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Iberostar

Helpful?
2 Thank JM142
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IberostarHoteles, Online Reputation Manager at IBEROSTAR Grand Hotel Budapest, responded to this review, 17 July 2014
Dear guest,

Although we sincerely regret reading that your stay at our IBEROSTAR Grand Hotel Budapest did not live up to your expectations, we are grateful for the time you took out of your day to share a review on your overall experience so we can take your vision into consideration to enhance our future visitor’s stay among us.

We lament your disappointment for the hotel´s decoration, but this is something very personal. The IBEROSTAR Grand Budapest hotel is a boutique hotel intended for get-aways and luxury travel, with a prime location across from Liberty Square on the Pest side of the city, as you could appreciate. All our guests consider that is the perfect start to discover the city.

We are also sorry to hear that you did not enjoy our breakfast and that the service in the restaurant wasn´t satisfactory. However we would like to point out that we only use products of prime quality, our hotel being a gastronomic reference in Budapest; we invite you for future occasions to contact our staff for any suggestion or disappointment so as to be able to intervene immediately and offer you an alternative solution for you to fully enjoy your meals among us.

Please be assured that we took your comments into consideration and that they will help us to improve our services. We really thank you for your time and sincerely hope that IBEROSTAR will remain an option for your next holidays in the near future.

Kindest Regards,

Online Reputation Manager
IBEROSTAR Grand Hotel Budapest
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Council Bluffs, Iowa
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2014

My family of 5 stayed @ the Iberostar- what a great Hotel - Very nice large rooms- Showers were fantastic after a long day of sight seeing. Bar and dinning room quality of food and service was Grand. Very Clean rooms. We meet and spoke to the manager several times- very excisable! Very close to other great restaurants and next to park so it was quiet! Front desk helped with sight seeing and transportation. If I was going back - this is were I would stay!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Scott D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IberostarHoteles, Online Reputation Manager at IBEROSTAR Grand Hotel Budapest, responded to this review, 9 July 2014
Dear Scott,

There is nothing we love more than reading that our guests felt well cared after and thoroughly enjoyed every aspect of their stay at our IBEROSTAR Grand Hotel Budapest; we are very grateful for the time you took out of your day to share your satisfaction with the travel community of Tripadvisor.

Thank you for pointing out the comfort and cleanliness of our accommodations and for your praising comments on service and gastronomy; we will not fail to congratulate our staff and Chefs for their contribution to your family’s wellbeing whilst staying among us.

Moreover we are grateful for your highlight on our central location, which makes our hotel the ideal starting point to be able to sightseeing the beautiful city of Budapest with all points of interest within easy reach.

Thank you again for your visit and the courtesy of your time; we would be delighted to accommodate you and your family on your next visit to Hungary.

Kindest Regards,
Online Reputation Manager
IBEROSTAR Grand Hotel Budapest
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Budapest, Hungary
Level Contributor
206 reviews
125 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2014

This may be THE best location of any hotel in Budapest....right 'on' the nicest square in the city, walking distance from most of the key sites, restaurants, bars, metro, the Danube, etc.. Hotel was remodeled recently, tastefully done to an old building, rooms and common areas are to a high standard.

Their restaurant serves probably the best Tapas in Budapest and has an outstanding outdoor dining area, good service and excellent wines from Spain and Hungary. Definitely recommend for dinner or lunch.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MAB430
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Budapest hotels
District V / Inner City
Prestige Hotel Budapest
Prestige Hotel Budapest
#7 of 342 in Budapest
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,147 reviews
District V / Inner City
Kempinski Hotel Corvinus Budapest
District V / Inner City
InterContinental Budapest
InterContinental Budapest
#24 of 342 in Budapest
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,215 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
District V / Inner City
Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge
District V / Inner City
The Ritz-Carlton, Budapest
The Ritz-Carlton, Budapest
#10 of 342 in Budapest
4.5 of 5 bubbles 241 reviews
District V / Inner City
Buddha-Bar Hotel Budapest Klotild Palace
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to IBEROSTAR Grand Hotel Budapest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about IBEROSTAR Grand Hotel Budapest

Property: IBEROSTAR Grand Hotel Budapest
Address: Oktober 6. utca 26. | at Szabadság tér, Budapest 1051, Hungary
Phone Number:
Region: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest > District V / Inner City , Belváros-Lipótváros
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 342 Hotels in Budapest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — IBEROSTAR Grand Hotel Budapest 5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
El IBEROSTAR Grand Hotel Budapest deja huella a todos los viajeros que lo visitan. No importa si viene por trabajo, queriendo conocer la capital o en busca de una escapada romántica, este hotel de 5 estrellas en el centro de Budapest le va a dejar sin palabras. Las razones son muchas. Desde la gastronomía gourmet de sus restaurantes hasta los detalles del diseñador Philippe Starck en su decoración. ¿Le apetece descubrir más? Descanso a su medida. ¿Con forma de mariposa o cervical? ¿Ecológica o de microfibra? Usted mismo puede elegir sobre qué almohada quiere descansar, pero también el aroma con el que quiere despertar cada mañana. Y todo ello en el ambiente seductor de una habitación o suite de lujo con vistas a la ciudad. Apto para paladares exigentes. Si solo está acostumbrado a lo mejor, prepárese para probar las recetas de este hotel de lujo. Aquí encuentra la esencia de la cocina mediterránea, los platos más tradicionales de Hungría y la alta cocina de nuestro restaurante. En el corazón de Budapest. Alojarse en uno de los mejores hoteles del centro de Budapest significa tenerlo todo a mano. Desde la zona comercial de la ciudad hasta sus monumentos más turísticos. La Plaza de la Libertad está justo debajo del hotel y ¡puede ir andando al Parlamento y al río Danubio. Un remanso de paz en la ciudad. En pleno centro pero con toda la tranquilidad. Disfrute del silencio en habitaciones insonorizadas o del ambiente calmado del Lobby Bar, en el que puede saborear con calma un whisky, un gin-tonic o la bebida que prefiera. Estancia de lujo. ¡No se preocupe por nada! ¿Necesita ir al aeropuerto? Sin problema, hay transfer de lujo. ¿Quiere entrenar en el gimnasio? Lo tiene en el mismo hotel. Y si necesita cualquier tipo de atención exclusiva más, solo tiene que hacer uso del servicio de conserjería. Relax, relax y más relax. Cierre los ojos. Libérese del estrés con un masaje de aceites esenciales, aísle su mente en la sauna o sienta el cosquilleo de las burbujas en la bañera de hidromasaje. Ahora su única preocupación es descubrir las sensaciones que le produce el SPA Sensations de este hotel de 5 estrellas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Expedia, Hotels.com, Iberostar, TravelUp, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your IBEROSTAR Grand Hotel Budapest reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing