We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Informative and Engaging”

Hospital in the Rock Nuclear Bunker Museum
Book In Advance
More Info
US$21.06*
and up
Budapest Card
Ranked #14 of 440 things to do in Budapest
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Hospital in the Rock Nuclear Bunker Museum is a thrilling, unique and moving place. Visitors can learn about the WWII and the 1956 revolution as well as the Cold War in relation to this former TOP SECRET nuclear bunker. It had an important role during the war and it was classified until 2002 and opened as a museum in 2008. The place ensures a real time warp into the past. Mobiles are not working inside. Do not expect a regular museum. One hour long tour departs every hour in English. Guide books are available in several languages. Unforgettable experience underneath the Castle Hill. The entrance is only about 5 minutes walk from the famous Matthias-Church of Buda Castle.
Budapest, Hungary, Europe
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Informative and Engaging”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2014 via mobile

Hour long tours in Hungarian and English every hour make this WW2 and Cold War Hospital/Bunker an incredible journey into the past.

Helpful?
Thank bwilsker
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review

3,126 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,924
    930
    204
    51
    17
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Cool for older kids”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2014

This was a cool find in Buda. The history was very interesting and touring through a hospital built in a cave system was cool. It was a good experience for the whole family.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank smootx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Interesting Tour”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2014

We followed the signs to locate this museum, which is a bit out of the way, but were glad we did.
Following a brief movie, we joined a small group led by an English speaking guide who was very enthused and personable. Due to the chilly temperature in the underground setting, everyone is urged to wear a green loden coat/ cape , available from a rack at the entryway. Everyone winds through the tunnels and pathways which include rooms for surgery and medical equipment, as well as a nuclear bunker. The guide was very informative in describing the hospital's work and offered background on wartime Budapest. This was a good change of pace after viewing many castle interiors!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank TravelLady32951
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
115 reviews
42 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Must see, fascinating with a great tour guide.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2014 via mobile

We went at 6pm for the English tour and there were 6 people in our group.

It was absolutely fascinating, so glad we went. It is a war hospital under the ground and you can see a nuclear bunker. Has been restored very well, you cannot walk around freely but our guide Fruszi was informative and it was a worthwhile tour.

Really recommend you go, entrance is 3600 HUF each (£9) or discounted if you have any ID to prove you are medical or armed forces personnel.

Helpful?
Thank njd26_99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Really interesting”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2014

Interesting place to visit in the Castle district - it was highly recommended by our walking tour guide so we popped along afterwards. We hadn't realised that tours left on the hour, and having arrived at 6.10pm we thought we might have to wait another 50 mins but we were told we have only missed the introductory video that we could catch up on at the end so that was great. We didn't have any of the problems that other reviewers have mentioned about tour sizes - we were 6 on an English speaking tour and had lots of space! I would say the tour guide hurried us a bit but there was a lot to see and he was extremely knowledgable!

A piece of history that is worth visiting. Wasn't sure about the sale of actual items from Hospital and Czech gas masks in the shop.

http://www.sziklakorhaz.eu/en

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank lemontree2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Hospital in the Rock Nuclear Bunker Museum also viewed

 
Budapest, Central Hungary
Budapest, Central Hungary
 

Been to Hospital in the Rock Nuclear Bunker Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing