We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“My second visit to Budapest” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Butterfly Home B&B

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Butterfly Home B&B
Ranked #5 of 188 Budapest B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Alberobello, Italy
Level Contributor
71 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“My second visit to Budapest”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 September 2013

I'll set the benchmark for this review by saying that I do have high standards and on my last visit to Budapest stayed at the 5* Buddha Bar Hotel, that was very good, but only got a 4* rating. On this visit I wanted to try the other end of the accommodation spectrum and sample one of the many B&B's.

The location of Butterfly House is excellent, not only is it in the centre and within easy walking distance of most attractions, it is also very close to the tram and metro stops. The location is also tucked away from the main tourist streets close to the university and has some interesting pedestrian areas close by with good value restaurants & bars.

The accommodation is spacious, very clean and comfortable with up to date ensuites. There is no lift, so if you have difficulty using the stairs this one is not for you.

Breakfast is what I would call local continental. It has been well described in previous posts. What I particularly liked was lots of local and home made products like the egg bread, jams and pancakes.

Hospitality - this is where the Butterfly House excels. The hosts, Andreas and his wife go out of their way to meet your every need, whether it be recommendations of where to eat, booking cut price tickets, getting taxis etc., nothing is too much trouble.

Value - given the location and the quality of the service their prices represent good value.

What I would change (these are meant to be constructive suggestions as Andreas & co have only recently taken over)- The WC deoderisers are way too strong for a small space and on entering the ensuites the smell gave them a 'cheap' feel and a bad first impression. Make sure that there is fresh bottled water in every room daily and as an American lady recommended, a box of tissues. These are all low cost add ons that do make a big difference.

What exceeded my expectations - When I asked about where to eat locally, I did not get the usual restaurant names and locations on the map. Andreas, stopped what he was doing and took me on a personal tour of the area. Also he does not live in, and I arrived on a late flight that was delayed, so arrived in the early hours. Not only was he there to greet me, but the greeting was warm & generous.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TheBattlePs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

505 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    436
    59
    5
    0
    5
See reviews for
63
265
39
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
113 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 September 2013

This is a family run hotel in walking distance from all the major sites in Budapest. The rooms are very clean and very spacious. The owner spoke very good English and was extremely helpful. The breakfast is a buffet breakfast made by the whole family (including a plum jam made by the grandmother) with fresh coffee or tea made on demand.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Suzanitatravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 September 2013

We stayed here for one night in September after 2 nights in Buda and would recommend highly. Our hosts were very friendly and helpful, the homemade pancakes for breakfast were delicious! The room was very clean and huge- this accommodation is the perfect place from which to explore a great city.

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank mrc1g09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 September 2013

our host, andraysh, was friendly, knowledgable and hospitable (we had an early start the day we left and andraysh and his wife came early and packed us some sandwiches and pastries for us to take on the road! they did this for another couple on a previous day - very accommodating!) we are foodies and expressed our interest in eating in authentic hungarian eateries that the locals would go to and he made some great suggestions in both buda and pest sides!

quality of space:
the overall space, from the common areas to the rooms, were clean and well maintained on a daily basis. the inside of the building had a victorian style feel without being too kitschy and the rooms had a more modern feel with big windows that let in great natural light and fresh air. we stayed in the standard room and it was very spacious - I believe it could sleep four as there was also a futon folded up into a couch. bathroom was big for European standards with a small tub but higher shower head - because we are tall people, we appreciated this!

quality of breakfast:
fresh bread and pastries, artisan cheese, fresh from the market and varied selection of cured meats, crepes (hungarian style), small servings of veggies (more for a palate cleanser and therefore, great addition!), varied selection of fruits, made to order espresso and cappuccino, and freshly squeezed orange juice - andraysh was saying that they will be doing local fruit and veggie juices/smoothies in the near future!

location:
the location of this bed & breakfast is very ideal. many points of interests are short walking distance - one end of the váci utca, raday utca, great market hall, liberty bridge (therefore, to gellért baths and cave church), path along the danube river, and the national museum . it is 10-15 minutes walk to the great synagogue and therefore, the start of the jewish quarter. this b&b is also near transit lines which will allow you to visit the rest of the city - kalvin ter metro station and tram stops are within corners of this b&b. it is tucked away enough within a residential area that you don't hear the traffic and the hustle and bustle of the main streets. we had long days of sightseeing and would often be home later in the evening but we still felt safe meandering and making our way back.

upon arrival to this b&b we were told that there was a management/ownership change just days before our arrival. one might be taken aback by this but andraysh and his wife did not make it seem as though there was a transition period. I still believe they lived up to the standards that the reviews shows here, if not more. andraysh and his family also own and run the b&b Bellevue and a few other apartments with great reviews so butterfly home b&b is clearly in good hands!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sese23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vicenza, Italy
Level Contributor
31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 September 2013

This was a great find. I can't say a single negative comment about this B&B. the price was great. The owner was more than helpful. It was our first time in Budapest so he gave us maps and info for all of the local attractions. The B&B was located on a quiet pedestrian street just around the corner from a metro stop so it was cry easy to find. It's within walking distance of the main tourist thoroughfare. Otherwise the metro is right there and easy to navigate. The rooms area larger than average and very nicely decorated. The breakfast in the morning was filling and had plenty of options. And cafe made to order! If we ever make it back to Budapest I would stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rachel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
39 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2013

Very nice owner, who helped us with everything :)))) Room was wonderful and breakfast tasty and calm. There is place only for 2 groups - each 4 persons. But we ate all two days alone))

Thanks for this place for perfect days!

Room Tip: We took the room for 3 person, it was very clean, comfortable and big room with 2 beds and 1 king-si...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Elena220488
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mobile, AL
Level Contributor
29 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2013

We stayed at the Butterfly Home for a few days in early August. It was a delightful stay. A very large room. Quiet. Clean. Decorated in good taste. The neighborhood is very quiet—no cars allowed on the street in front of the B&B. Lots of nice restaurants and pubs close by. Near to the center of the old part of Pest.
Tonci was very helpful in suggesting where to go and what to do in Budapest. He is a very personable host. Breakfast was continental with fresh bread, pastries, yogurt, etc. Tonci brewed each cup of coffee or cappuccino from fresh Italian roast beans.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jackisimo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Budapest hotels
Hotel Palazzo Zichy
#4 of 342 in Budapest
5.0 of 5 bubbles 4,547 reviews
District V / Inner City
Bohem Art Hotel
Bohem Art Hotel
#13 of 342 in Budapest
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,314 reviews
District V / Inner City
Aria Hotel Budapest by Library Hotel Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
District V / Inner City
Prestige Hotel Budapest
Prestige Hotel Budapest
#7 of 342 in Budapest
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,099 reviews
Andrássy út
Hotel Moments Budapest
Hotel Moments Budapest
#2 of 342 in Budapest
5.0 of 5 bubbles 814 reviews
District V / Inner City
InterContinental Budapest
InterContinental Budapest
#22 of 342 in Budapest
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,174 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Butterfly Home B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Butterfly Home B&B

Property: Butterfly Home B&B
Address: Kepiro utca 3, Budapest 1053, Hungary
Region: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest > District V / Inner City , Belváros-Lipótváros
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 188 B&Bs / Inns in Budapest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3 star — Butterfly Home B&B 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in a grand building in the heart of the city, right by the Danube, a stone's throw away from the famous pedestrian walking street Váci utca. Within walking distance, you can visit Hungarian National Museum, the popular Gellert Bath, the Great Synagogue and Budapest's new SoHo - the Jewish District, Raday Street, Liberty Bridge, Grand Market Hall, or take a romantic stroll along the Danube. Experience Hungarian hospitality in the numerous bars and restaurants of the neighborhood. Almost all of our rooms offer picturesque views of the Danube, Liberty Bridge, Gellért Hill, Fővám Square and Grand Market Hall. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Butterfly Home B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing