We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Find in Budapest”
Review of Butterfly Home B&B

Best prices for your stay
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Butterfly Home B&B
Ranked #4 of 191 Budapest B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Forest Hills, New York
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great Find in Budapest”
Reviewed 7 December 2013

We had a lovely time here - the room was large and comfortable, and Andras was a great host. When we had to leave very early on our last day to catch a flight, he provided a wonderful breakfast in our room - a very thoughtful thing to do. The location is extremely convenient, and there are many lovely restaurants and cafes quite close by. We highly recommend this as a choice when visiting Budapest!!

John and Ira

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

509 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    439
    60
    5
    0
    5
See reviews for
64
265
41
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York, USA
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 December 2013 via mobile

upon the warmest of greetings by our host Andras, who speaks English perfectly as well as french, we found an immediate "home" away from home. my friend and I were given the most spacious of rooms and were served a delightful breakfast of breads, artisanal cheeses, and and assortment if other various goodies as well as warm conversation. Andreas provided us with tips as to where to go and where to eat, each time being spot on! the cuisine was amazing!! this b&b is well situated in the center, close to the metro and tram as well as various other sites ( but on a quiet side street) and is run solely by Andras and his wife Timea, who is meticulous about how the rooms look and that they are well cleaned..we loved staying there and would totally come back and stay there again:-)

Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington, District of Columbia, United States
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 December 2013

We had a great experience at the Butterfly Home. Everything about our stay was top-notch: communications before our arrival, crystal clear directions from the train station, a spacious and comfortable room, and wonderful hospitality from Andras and his wife. Every suggestion and recommendation that we got proved to be spot-on. Great tips on restaurants, great seats for the Opera, and pleasant conversations around the breakfast room in the mornings.
The location could not be better as a daily launch point, just a couple of short blocks to tram and metro lines. The room we had was very large with nice high ceilings. If I could give Andras and his Butterfly Home a rating of 6 I would do so.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 November 2013

We were so happy and satisfy to stay in this beautiful B&B. Andras is a very good host. He make sure we are comfortable during our stay and always know what his guests want. He is a very accommodating host . He gave us lots of tips and suggestions for Budapest.
The room is very spacious and clean.

We'd love to go back to Budapest and we'd definitely stay here!

Thank you Andras! I think the best way to express my gratitude is to promote your lovely B&B to my friends and relatives who wish to travel to Hungary in future.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rio de Janeiro, Rio de Janeiro, Brazil
Level 6 Contributor
122 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 November 2013

Located next to Géllert Hill in the Pest side of the city. Rooms are clean and have a high ceiling. Breakfast has no hot food but plety of pastry and other treats and the coffe is good (all types). András, the manager, and Timea his wife are more than friendly. András will help you in whatever you need, including tips of places, local food, drink and all. A B&B high above the average. And price is fair.

Room Tip: There are few rooms at the building, all of them are good enough.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 November 2013

Very nice location. Close to almost everything. But the best part is the owner, Andras and his mom. They speak very good English and they always made sure that you'll enjoy your stay in Hungary. Nothing beats an owner making your morning coffee and your toast. The rooms are huge and spotless. I will surely come back to this place. Thanks a lot Andras- Amando

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
colorado
Level 6 Contributor
203 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2013

We were extremely happy with our stay in the Butterfly Home! The room was large, comfortable, and spotlessly clean. The location was quiet, on a pedestrian side-street, but only a short distance from the transit, the river, and main restaurant areas. Andras speaks perfect English, and was very helpful with suggestions and tips for Budapest. Breakfast was excellent, complete with Andras's made-to-order coffees. The building only has a few floors, with a wide, easy staircase, but there are no lifts, so be aware of that if mobility is a concern. Andras arranged for a door-to-door taxi service to the airport that was quite reasonably priced. We'd love to go back to Budapest and we'd definitely stay here!

Room Tip: Room 22 is enormous!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Budapest hotels
District V / Inner City
Bohem Art Hotel
Bohem Art Hotel
#13 of 334 in Budapest
2,405 reviews
District V / Inner City
Estilo Fashion Hotel
Estilo Fashion Hotel
#47 of 334 in Budapest
1,121 reviews
District V / Inner City
Aria Hotel Budapest
Aria Hotel Budapest
#1 of 334 in Budapest
972 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
District V / Inner City
Budapest Marriott Hotel
Budapest Marriott Hotel
#32 of 334 in Budapest
2,924 reviews
District V / Inner City
Hotel Zenit Budapest Palace
Hotel Palazzo Zichy
#4 of 334 in Budapest
4,736 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Additional Information about Butterfly Home B&B

Property: Butterfly Home B&B
Address: Kepiro utca 3, Budapest 1053, Hungary
Region: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest > District V / Inner City , Belváros-Lipótváros
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 191 B&Bs / Inns in Budapest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3 star — Butterfly Home B&B 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in a grand building in the heart of the city, right by the Danube, a stone's throw away from the famous pedestrian walking street Váci utca. Within walking distance, you can visit Hungarian National Museum, the popular Gellert Bath, the Great Synagogue and Budapest's new SoHo - the Jewish District, Raday Street, Liberty Bridge, Grand Market Hall, or take a romantic stroll along the Danube. Experience Hungarian hospitality in the numerous bars and restaurants of the neighborhood. Almost all of our rooms offer picturesque views of the Danube, Liberty Bridge, Gellért Hill, Fővám Square and Grand Market Hall. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK) and Evoline ltd so you can book your Butterfly Home B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing