We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great, Affordable Stay in Budapest” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Butterfly Home B&B

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Butterfly Home B&B
Ranked #5 of 187 Budapest B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great, Affordable Stay in Budapest”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2014

Butterfly Home was the perfect place to stay after 4 serious days of sightseeing in Budapest. The B&B was clean and the room was large, especially for the price. Andras, the owner, speaks perfect English and was very welcoming and accommodating to me during my stay, which was extra helpful since I was a solo traveler and appreciated his tips and recommendations. He also was great company to have during breakfast for any type of conversation. 4 stars for the location because it wasn't right in the city center, but the location of the B&B - at a major square of Budapest - is very convenient, as you have subway, bus, and tram options within a couple minutes walk. I would stay here again and plan to recommend this place to friends who might travel to Budapest in the future.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank J513123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

504 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    436
    58
    5
    0
    5
See reviews for
63
264
39
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2014

Our stay at the Butterfly Homes was a great experience. From the moment we arrive until we left, we felt like at home. Our room was huge, double the size of any 3 or 4 star rooms in Europe, sparkling clean and well furbished. The bed was so comfortable it was hard to get up in the morning. András gave us great tips about visiting Budapest. He took care of organizing the opera night and the visit to the bath, both a must-do in Budapest. If I had one small complaint, it would be the size of the breakfast room. However, when András is there every morning to prepare a wonderful cappucino, you tend to forget about this little detail... Be sure of one thing: you will not find better value anywhere else in Europe!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Suzanne L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Genoa, Italy
Level Contributor
63 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2014

Very kind and serious staff. The apartment was very large, clean and confortable, for groups of friends or 1-2 families. Close to every nice touristic attraction. A very nice experience to be repeated.Congrats!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Daber D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brookline, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 February 2014

Butterfly Home B & B, (Innkeepers: András and Timea Szuhay), was the perfect choice for our trip to Budapest in October/November 2013 -- 4 of us in two rooms for 9 nights. The excellent location near Kalvan Ter / Central Market let us either walk everywhere or easily catch transportation (buses / subway) to wherever we wanted to go. András responded promptly to our initial booking request as well as to our subsequent pre-trip questions; this helped us plan well. We liked our spacious, well-appointed rooms; the breakfast was good, and the coffee great – one of the hosts would prepare coffee to order, whether regular coffees, cappuccinos, espressos, or lattes. Our only wish was that breakfast started a little earlier (8:30 am was the regular time), but András offered to prepare something in advance if we needed to start our day earlier.

We valued András’ knowledge of the city; he was quite helpful in confirming our choices of what to see and do, and suggesting things we had not identified from our guidebooks. He provided helpful tips about when to visit particular destinations (e.g., Parliament), special restaurants, getting tickets to events, and the value of getting transportation passes. As non-Hungarian speakers, we benefited from his fluent English. All of this made for a very relaxed and rich visit to this beautiful city. We were there to celebrate a special birthday, and the trip was everything we could have hoped for.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MDTBoston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rosmalen, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
68 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 January 2014

András and Timea are top client oriented innkeepers of this little gem in Budapest.
Centrally located in a quiet neighbourhood, in the direct vicinity of restaurants, sight seeing sites, public transports and shops; it'all there within walking distance.
State of the art decorated and very well kept rooms, with all amenities. The fact that there is not a 24/7 reception (which is the only reason that it doesn't have the formal status of hotel but that of a B&B), is completely irrelevant: András and Timea take care that they are there when needed for any kind of support, suggestions and advice you can think of or will require.
Their service is above the level of that of a 4 stars hotel, and very personal and dedicated. Their following up on remaining small requests and requirements is swift and flawless. Perfect buffet breakfast. And the rates are super competitive.
Never ever had such a top quality/price ratio!
So, to say it in two words: perfect hostmanship with a capital 'H.

Room Tip: Go to Butterfly Home, and you will not choose otherwise in te future.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Daan E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Novo Mesto, Slovenia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 January 2014

Have spent weekend in Budapest, staying in Butterfly Home. It is really in heart of city and Butterfly Home stays in your heart. What make it special? Hospitality, kindness, service, location and much more.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vilma P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 January 2014 via mobile

This b&b is near the center of Budapest. Close to Butterfly there are metro and tram. We have a big room and spotless. Andreas, the owner, help us for tour and reservations of the restaurants. Perfect!

Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank DonDiego72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Budapest hotels
Hotel Palazzo Zichy
#4 of 342 in Budapest
5.0 of 5 bubbles 4,543 reviews
District V / Inner City
Bohem Art Hotel
Bohem Art Hotel
#13 of 342 in Budapest
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,312 reviews
District V / Inner City
Aria Hotel Budapest by Library Hotel Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
District V / Inner City
Prestige Hotel Budapest
Prestige Hotel Budapest
#7 of 342 in Budapest
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,097 reviews
Andrássy út
Hotel Moments Budapest
Hotel Moments Budapest
#2 of 342 in Budapest
5.0 of 5 bubbles 811 reviews
District V / Inner City
InterContinental Budapest
InterContinental Budapest
#21 of 342 in Budapest
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,171 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Butterfly Home B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Butterfly Home B&B

Property: Butterfly Home B&B
Address: Kepiro utca 3, Budapest 1053, Hungary
Region: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest > District V / Inner City , Belváros-Lipótváros
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 187 B&Bs / Inns in Budapest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3 star — Butterfly Home B&B 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in a grand building in the heart of the city, right by the Danube, a stone's throw away from the famous pedestrian walking street Váci utca. Within walking distance, you can visit Hungarian National Museum, the popular Gellert Bath, the Great Synagogue and Budapest's new SoHo - the Jewish District, Raday Street, Liberty Bridge, Grand Market Hall, or take a romantic stroll along the Danube. Experience Hungarian hospitality in the numerous bars and restaurants of the neighborhood. Almost all of our rooms offer picturesque views of the Danube, Liberty Bridge, Gellért Hill, Fővám Square and Grand Market Hall. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Butterfly Home B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing