We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would return to Budapest thanks to Grandio!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Grandio Party Hostel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 June 2014

Grandio is probs one of the best hostels that I've stayed in! The staff are great fun, approachable and trustworthy, they will help you out with tickets for the Baths, Beer Bikes etc, along with great nights out such as pub crawls and Boat parties!

We met friends staying at Retox, the sister hostel, but I would defos return to Grandio if I had the choice. The bar is great, even the food is a good hangover cure - and not too expensive!
Great location, most bars on the pub crawls were minutes away. Budapest is a great city, but the experience was made better because of this hostel!

Defos a party place, very grungy which I love, it's such a cool place! Wouldn't recommend if you're not in to staying up and drinking all night, however!

We enjoyed our 3 day stay so much that we plan on returning this summer! I've never felt so depressed to be back home. If you're stuck between choosing hostels in Budapest, Grandio is defos the best one!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lindsay B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (539)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

384 - 390 of 539 reviews

Reviewed 27 June 2014 via mobile

Great staff who were really fun but also very professional and trustworthy which made us very comfortable, we stayed for 3 nights but would have happily stayed longer it we could! Cheap bar and fab nights out every night, we stayed Monday Tuesday Wednesday night and did a open mic, kareoke night, and bar crawl, all fab. The hostel is really welcoming and involves everyone in the nights out - gutted to leave! Definitely be back again. Also, if you do need a good sleep it is possible! We stayed in a 4 bed private with ensuite so we could have the best of both worlds and get a good sleep after a late night :)

Stayed: June 2014
Thank Fran B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2014

DO NOT STAY HERE!!! We stayed at this place to have a good time but the staff wouldn't let us!! Told us to be quiet after a little sing song. They never bothered with us unless they were taking our money. I know its a hostel but the toilets were a disgrace. You needed breathing apparatus to enter!! On our first day we got kicked out just before we were meant to leave for a pre booked event. As it goes they done us a massive favour as we managed to get into the full moon hostel which was far superior. Clean and tidy and the staff were great. No bother at all. Would highly recommend.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Glamorgano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2014

If you want a party in Budapest this is the place to be, staff were awesome so helpful with both pointing you in the direction of great things to do as well as making sure you have a ball at night.

A UK stag party rocked up on our second last night and were extremely gross, preying on the girls in the bar and wrecking the joint. The staff gave them three warnings and kicked them out, top form!

Highly recommend attending especially Thurs,Fri and Sat nights (Boat Cruise and Sparty were awesome).

You can sleep when you're dead.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tarleton D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2014

Thats a real party hostel. Be ready to drink as much as you can and have a party 24 hours a day !! There is everything you need - perfect location , amazing staff and cool bar in the garden. I can`t wait to be back partying there again!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Emiliya M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2014

We had an amazing time at grandio. The staff were extremely welcoming helpful from when we first arrived until we left. We particularly appreciated the effort they made for us to organise activities during the day. We loved the atmosphere and had three really fun nights. Would highly recommended!

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sarah255093
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2014

Fantastic service and location. The hostel staff is simply amazing, and lovely. The beds were all comfy and the dorms were large and everything was fine. Location fantastic, close to everything. I liked it very much.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Arest M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Budapest hotels
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Maverick City Lodge
Maverick City Lodge
#7 of 672 in Budapest
940 reviews
District V / Inner City
Maverick Hostel
Maverick Hostel
#6 of 672 in Budapest
748 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
District VII / Jewish Quarter
The Hive Party Hostel
The Hive Party Hostel
#29 of 672 in Budapest
233 reviews
District V / Inner City
Pal's Hostel & Apartments
Pal's Hostel & Apartments
#9 of 672 in Budapest
277 reviews
Avenue Hostel
#32 of 672 in Budapest
257 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grandio Party Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grandio Party Hostel

Address: Nagy Diofa Utca 8, Budapest, Hungary
Region: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest > District VII / Jewish Quarter , Erzsébetváros
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 672 Speciality Lodging in Budapest
Price Range: £11 - £45 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You can sleep when you're dead so DON'T expect to get any here. Grandio, one of the only true party places on this earth that welcomes alcoholics, lost souls and arty people with talent but no direction and audiences, the living breathing creature that is constantly evolving, the place with a crazy cult following. On site bar, or beer sold by our staff, or the beer vending machine, or strawpedoes for breakfast.....these are all ways in which we fuel our thirsty and party hard guests (and staff). When the bar is shut, we move to the late room, the den of noise and naughtiness, with a sex bed and hammock depending on how adventurous you are. Every night our staff take you out on different activities in the city. These range from Backpackers fancy dress parties, to pub crawls, to live music nights, to karaoke nights, which take you to our personal favourite (plus some of the cheapest) bars in the city. If you feel like doing something a little different, never fear, as our staff have their finger on the pulse of the city's nightlife and are able to recommend differently nightly activities depending on your tastes. We have a live music venue in the basement, which has different acts on every night providing for all different tastes in music. Every Sunday they let us use it to showcase the talent we play host to with our own open-mic night in which we use our own instruments which include a plethora of guitars, drum kit, piano, violin, piano accordions, plus more as well as our very own sound technician! The staff have all been hand picked, which might seem a bit wild when they are walking around dressed up in dressing gowns with a beer in one hand, but this is the Grandio uniform, wear whatever makes you feel comfortable, or we got from the euro store that day. If you think you can challenge us, we'll probably rise to it, if not, we'll respect you for trying! The place itself is as wild as our staff and guests, decorated by street artists from around the world it houses a games room with table football and ping pong, the bar, a secret restaurant, which we could tell you about, but we'd have to kill you, a mix of rooms, some en-suite, with varying numbers of beds, and if you're lucky, a loo with a view. If you're not too hung over during the day we can organise daytime activities for you. The staff at Grandio are able to organise tours of the city plus other daytime activities such as paint balling or laser-tag. So the arty amongst you might appreciate the fact that all of our rooms, the outside and insides of everything are decorated by the best street artists of Budapest, and have been added to by global artists who liked what they saw and wanted to add to it. We have a band, called The Grandio Journals, which changes members every week when we practice in the open mic night, and we welcome all talent to perform here. As well as that, we are in a great location, especially if you like drinking as we are in the heart of the bar district, the only rules we have are about respect to our guests and neighbours, and other than that we want you to have a wild time, because we will be first! Please note, like the name says, this IS a party hostel, we go out every night, some people drink in the day time, there is a bar, sometimes sex, and a lot of fun. If you don't like these things, please try a calmer hostel, like Carpe Noctem Vitae. Please note: Regrettably, due to previous experience, we can no longer accept bookings for people over 40. If you have booked and are outside this age, please contact us and we will help find you alternative accommodation. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing