We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What's that?”
Review of Canada Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Canada Hotel
Ranked #167 of 334 Hotels in Budapest
Krakow, Poland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“What's that?”
Reviewed 31 August 2012

We bought a 4-day stay in Budapest *** Canada. Unluckily, after the fact that we read the reviews of other guests of this hotel on the Booking. com website. Among the existing information about the hotel we found also that the hotel is located 1.3 km from the city center. Unfortunately, this message goes far and wide from the truth. Getting to the city takes about 25 minutes, with one change from bus No 23 to the tram No. 2. So far, a few times we were travelling by buying accommodation via groupon.pl and we were very positively surprised by the high quality of service. The room had no air conditioning, in a country where the daily temperatures is 44 degrees C high, and the hotel is categorized with ***. Information about the lack of air conditioning is available only in the reviews of other guests. Hotel website doesn’t have such an information. We arrived late in the evening, due to a late flight and we thought that we got the worst room possible. Lady at the reception told us in advance that we don’t have air conditioning and it will be noisy as our room is located on the street side (directly in front of the window a few times at night stopped the train, there was a train stop, in addition also the traffic was not the smallest) . Returning to the room, in the mail when I was making reservation I asked for a room with 1 double bed (king sized bed), where it was clearly written that I don’t want two beds combined in one double, even though it got just that, the twinn room converted to double one. The room had an extremely stench because of airless, during the night we slept under wet towels. There was no other option, because room atmosphere led to a 4-days insomnia. “Fan” which was in the room created wind like a butterfly wings ... The lamp was turning 4 of 5 bulbs out. Further .. I should write about the fridge / minibar .... it was empty ... pretty empty so I guess I mistakenly called it a minibar ..Our minibar not cooled despite the fact that there was the knob to regulate the degree of cooling! Going to the front desk, the receptionist informed me that our "minibar / fridge" shouldn’t cool, because it’s not a fridge, it’s minibar :D. Blonde-haired lady did nothing in this direction to fix the problem. Placed in a room which temperature was as in the oven, we could only dream about cool drinks. Internet connection was available only at the reception.
It’s high time for a bathroom .... This hotel*** was not equipped with soaps, sponges, small shampoo ... there was anything that we met in another guesthouses and hotels **. Near the sink and in the shower hang soap in containers, the consistency of which clearly indicated that there was also water inside. During 4 days: once our beds were not cleaned, once room was not cleaned at all, cleaning ladies didn’t take away the dirty towels from the bathroom floor (on the wall hung the information that you should throw towels on the floor, if you wish the clean ones).
It's time for a restaurant. Several times during our 4-day stay, we were afraid to cost some things, because ...... sometimes .... it just seemed uneatable. The choice was rather small, one types of ham, two kinds of cheese, scrambled eggs sometimes burnt, not covered. Milk to the coffee which was almost unvisible even after pouring half a cup, probably watered down or milk 0%. Tablecloths on the tables were dirty and you had to be careful where you place the food. In addition, rolls cut in half.
Staff ..... Lady in blond hair and glasses, despite that lie about minibar was very attentive, knowledgeable, knew the answer to all of our questions about getting around the city and its attractions.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank natalialabno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    9
    36
    29
    8
    9
See reviews for
15
31
10
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 June 2012

Firstly the positives, if all receptionists were like Stevie then the world would be a better place:-) Great service, keep up the good work.
Food was good, rooms were spotless and wifi connection was spot on.
Now a couple of negatives, a bit out of the town centre, we tried three taxi drivers before they worked out where it was....a bit noisey, not just with the traffic at the front but it is fairly close to the flight path of the main airport.
But overall this place is very good value, enjoy:-)

Room Tip: at the back of hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dustywheels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blackpool
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2012

This hotel was very clean and the staff were extremely helpful. I stayed here for four nights and had a great time in Budapest. The hotel is situated on the edge of Budapest, but the bus/tram into town doesn't take too long. The hotel does serve breakfast each morning and I had this on each of the days of my stay. The room was very modern and clean. Staff spoke excellent English and helped me to plan my journey back to the airport. Distance from the city centre is the only disadvantage, but if you are prepared to travel into town each morning then I would certainly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bluerosiep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brno, Czech Republic
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2012

the room and the bathroom was new and clean,the staff was very friendly.it was april but in the night the room was cold,due to the radiators doesn't work .they didn't serv breakfast,in the morning you could only buy coffee from the bar. Also the location of the hotel isn't good for turists,it is far from the city center and almost out of the city.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank manos785n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Budapest hotels

Bucharest
Level 6 Contributor
244 reviews
114 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 151 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2011

The hotel is situated at the city edge of Budapest. Great rooms, very clean and a nice breakfast. No lobby for a relaxation time. Well maintained a had it's own parking. If you want to take a good sleep and to hit the road again this hotel represents a very good value for money and location, and you also had the possibility to make a boat trip by night in Budapest.

Room Tip: Ask for a street view
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank maniac_the_evil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Romania
Level 4 Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2011

It has nice and clean rooms, but very small. The Tv has the most common european channels and some extra ones that are with fee. Very comfortable pillows :)The food at breakfast is ok, could be more varied. Stafff at reception efficient, they handled all very fast (we were a more large group). Overall, it is a nice hotel to stay in if you visit Budapest.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CristinaR0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Budapest hotels
1.8 mi away
Hotel Gloria
Hotel Gloria
#235 of 334 in Budapest
214 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hunguest Hotel Millennium
Hunguest Hotel Millennium
#198 of 334 in Budapest
278 reviews
2.0 mi away
Ibis Budapest Aero
Ibis Budapest Aero
#115 of 334 in Budapest
150 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Boulevard City Guesthouse Budapest
4.2 mi away
Aventura Boutique Hostel
Aventura Boutique Hostel
#98 of 334 in Budapest
192 reviews
6.5 mi away
Beatrix Hotel - Budapest
Beatrix Hotel - Budapest
#156 of 334 in Budapest
39 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Canada Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Canada Hotel

Property: Canada Hotel
Address: Soroksari ut 132, Budapest 1095, Hungary
Region: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #167 of 334 Hotels in Budapest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Canada Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 81
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Canada Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing