We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A must if staying in the Castle District”
Review of Osbudavar Pizzeria

Osbudavar Pizzeria
Ranked #75 of 3,161 Restaurants in Budapest
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$3 - US$11
Cuisines: Hungarian, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Neighbourhood: District I / Buda
Description: Charming small restaurant at the castle district with modest prices. Hungarian and International dishes, Gulash soup and some other traditional Hungarian meals + PIZZA and Pasta. Free WIFI, terrace at nice weather at a quiet street 150m away from the the St. Mathias Church at the Orszaghaz u. 10.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“A must if staying in the Castle District”
Reviewed 19 April 2014

We pre -booked table at this restaurant as only 5/6 tables. Booked online via website before we travelled to Budapest. Reply email to confirm booking. The restaurant is on the next street from the Hilton Hotel Castle District. It is very small. The waitress was very welcoming and spoke a number of languages (including English) We were celebrating our wedding anniversary and after our meal we were presented with a cake from the staff. A lovely thought. The meal was nice and the price was fantastic. A must place to eat

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank cassin27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

488 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    280
    164
    30
    10
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
36 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Fantastic find on Castle Hill”
Reviewed 15 April 2014

The Osbudavar Pizzeria is a lovely, little restaurant in the Castle Hill area. Most of the guidebooks say there are no good places to eat in the area but they are wrong (or snobs). Even the concierge at the Hilton didn't know about this place. The food was very good, the prices fair, and the service exceptional. And don't let the name of the restaurant deter you as they serve much more than pizza. All of the usual Hungarian dishes are available. The room has only six tables inside, so come early.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ScottKarenMichael
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Little gem!”
Reviewed 20 March 2014

Wonderful little pizzeria just round the corner from the Hilton. Only half a dozen tables inside, but really worth a visit. Friendly staff and wonderful food at extremely reasonable prices. Try the goulash soup served in a bread loaf - fantastic!

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank FlipflopsYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northampton, England
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Small but perfectly formed”
Reviewed 17 March 2014

We ate here on our first night in Budapest. We were staying at the Hilton and found this little gem just round the corner. The staff were very friendly, the food was amazing and very good value for money. We enjoyed it so much we returned on our last night and were just as happy with it. Would highly recommend this restaurant to anyone visiting the castle district of Budapest.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank KatieKoo72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Porto, Portugal
Level Contributor
113 reviews
80 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Nice place”
Reviewed 12 March 2014 via mobile

Great value, great home made food, very friendly. Only 14 seated places. Lovely soup in bread , pizza and wienerschnitzel

Helpful?
2 Thank hiocall
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.

Travellers who viewed Osbudavar Pizzeria also viewed

Budapest, Central Hungary
Budapest, Central Hungary
 
Budapest, Central Hungary
Budapest, Central Hungary
 

Been to Osbudavar Pizzeria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing