We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Local and authentic neighbourhood restaurant... amazing!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Foldes Jozsi's Restaurant

Foldes Jozsi's Restaurant
Ranked #603 of 3,044 Restaurants in Budapest
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$3 - US$12
Cuisines: European, Eastern European, Central European, Hungarian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Cheap Eats, Child-friendly, Kids
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Level Contributor
49 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Local and authentic neighbourhood restaurant... amazing!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2014

Fantastic local neighbourhood restaurant with local cuisine and a focus on good rustic dishes. Very good food at extremely acceptable prices with a fantastic host.
This was the best restaurant we visited on our extended weekend in Budapest.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank carstenvoigtlarsen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    38
    23
    5
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kent
Level Contributor
36 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Local and authentic food .”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 January 2014

Ate lunch here after a visit to Luckasz baths . Had an excelent veal dish and my wife had chicken stuffed with goose liver . Both were extremely tasty and filling meals . Squeezed in a portion of poppy seed cake with strawberry sauce which was beautiful . Although not always a fan of eating with locals ( I think they deserve to be left alone at times ) as we had just bathed with them we may as well eat with them .

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank cody666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sawyer, Michigan
Level Contributor
169 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“A real find”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2014

Foldes... ended up being among the top five favorite restaurants on our two week trip in Budapest and Austria. It's a simple, neighborhood/local restaurant, with a small menu in an 'of the tourist path' location. George, our waiter (the only one present that night) recognized early on that we were having trouble with the Hungarian language menu and found one that was also in English.
I had the Wild Boar (!) entre and it was fabulous. The dessert, a cheese curd and orzo filled strudel with an out of this world strawberry sauce, was truly memorable.
If you want to try eating somewhere really local you can't find a better place.
It's open for lunch, and dinner some days, but the regular hours were hard to figure out since we were there during the holidays.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Seasoned L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
118 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Excellent food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 October 2013

Fast service and the food is one of the best in town , for Hungarian food lovers is good local Hungarian food and the soups are excellent.They have menus starting at 1100 HUF upto 1400 HUF.Or you can choose other plates that you might want.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank viazaviaza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Israel
Level Contributor
33 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Good local food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2013

We stumbled into this place, being hungry and tired. The waiter was quick to recommend his favorites. The food was good, the portions were huge and the bill was comfortably low (about 5000HUF for two, including drinks).

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Gur L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Foldes Jozsi's Restaurant also viewed

Budapest, Central Hungary
Budapest, Central Hungary
 
Budapest, Central Hungary
 

Been to Foldes Jozsi's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing