We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cheese lovers go on!”
Review of Chess Restaurant

Chess Restaurant
Ranked #147 of 3,160 Restaurants in Budapest
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$11 - US$27
Cuisines: French, Hungarian, Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Neighbourhood: District VII / Jewish Quarter
Description: Italian –French-Hungarian Bistro cuisineTradition & Evolution Our Executive Chef, Levente Kovacs thinks this way about our cuisine:“The youthful and modern bistro cuisine is my world, it can renew day by day, it combines the gastronomic ‘lifestyle’ of different places in the world, even on one plate, in a way that, I don't use hundreds of spices with each other, but I’m trying to create exciting contrasts. I do a kind of kitchen minimal-design because simple can be great also. It causes difficulties sometimes for me to not to put all my ideas into one dish. I’m trying to use the raw materials as they were given to me by nature itself, changing only as much as I need. And then we get to a point, where simple is not so simple anymore. Ease and great tasting harmony in life, in the kitchen and on the plate.Simple is hard. Enjoy!”What else can we say? The Chess Restaurant is an intimate place in black and white, absolutely a place to get together frequently, where You can try new dishes day by day with it’s always renewing kitchen creativity, served simply and clearly.The Chess Restaurant opened, it’s Your move now!
1 review
“Cheese lovers go on!”
Reviewed 4 June 2014 via mobile

Wery nice place and excellent friendly staff, good location esy find!definitely go back again!!!!!!!!! :)

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Róbert Barna G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

837 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    520
    194
    78
    35
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
146 reviews
116 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“A "fine" evening”
Reviewed 27 May 2014

We have tried their Traditional Hungarian menù. It was well cooked and served with 2 exceptions:

- the dessert was terrible.. I cannot even explain what I ate
- DON'T try the champagne with lavander

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank NadineMilano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver
Level Contributor
124 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“It's time to make your move!”
Reviewed 10 May 2014 via mobile

Wow. Our visit to Chess restaurant was wonderful. Crisp linens and impeccable service greeted us, followed by complimentary sparkling wine and canapés. Our main course was flawless and the bill didn't send us scrambling for more Forints. If you're strolling down Erzsébet körút while in Budapest, do yourself a favor and take a short detour down Dob utca and dine at Chess. You will tell your friends all about it!

Helpful?
2 Thank Sixweeks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Island of Malta, Malta
Level Contributor
43 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Great Restaurant”
Reviewed 8 May 2014

This is a great restaurant.

We each had a set menu. The starters and dessert were to die for. Wine recommendation from our server was also very good.

The main course (beef) was good but not great. It was the quality of the meat really and not the taste, hence the reason for rating this restaurant a 4* instead of 5* especially in view of the rather steep price paid.

Service was excellent. Staff polite and attentive.

Still would return. Recommended.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Jo Jo F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Budapest
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Excellent food and service. Very nice.”
Reviewed 26 April 2014 via mobile

Today evening we eat dinner at Chess Restaurant.the food was excellent the service as well. This restaurant is joint with a hotel here is where you can eat breakfast as well.we would like to congratulate the staff.keep going like this.

Helpful?
1 Thank SzilardO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Chess Restaurant also viewed

Budapest, Central Hungary
Budapest, Central Hungary
 
Budapest, Central Hungary
Budapest, Central Hungary
 
Budapest, Central Hungary
Budapest, Central Hungary
 

Been to Chess Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing